Janice P. (jannymarie) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 70 - Page:
The 19th Wife
The 19th Wife
Author: David Ebershoff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 7/27/2010


Very interestingly done. Kept you wanting to read on.


All That You Are
All That You Are
Author: Stef Ann Holm
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 12/9/2009


This is my first time to read Stef Ann Holm and I found All That You Are to move very slowly. It was so busy describing everything, and I mean everything that it seemed to go on and on. Although alot of the descriptions were great sometimes it seemed as if they were just looking for words to fill up the pages. Not sure if I'd read her again, but I probably should just to give her a fair look.


The Angels of Morgan Hill
The Angels of Morgan Hill
Author: Donna VanLiere
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 4/14/2010


This was a great story. I am glad that I read it. You could feel the emotions of the characters. I wanted it to go on. It is a great reminder that there are many kinds of people in the world and among them are the Angels.


Barefoot
Barefoot
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 576
Review Date: 1/19/2010


I was not as impressed with this book as I expected to be. As the reviews I read indicated it was hard to put down. I did not find that to be the case. I felt it dragged on. I also was disappointed in the immoral decision that was made. Two wrongs don't make a right. I don't want to leave the impression that it was all bad. There were some very interesting explorations of maturity and growth as well as letting go and not having to be in control of everything.


Bingo Night at the Fire Hall: Rediscovering Life in an American Village
Review Date: 7/29/2015


Enjoyable ramblings of a womans life living on a mountain year round alone, after moving from city life to the cabin built by her mother where she spent the summers of her youth. And the clinging to and declining of the ways of life in times gone by.


Blood Orange
Blood Orange
Author: Drusilla Campbell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 6/9/2011


A Bitter Sweet Tale. Somewhat predictable at times as well as surprising. Interestingly twists and turns through several stages of life as seen through more than one's own set of eyes. How life shapes how we think and who we become and how we deal with healing our own self from lifes many choices and tradigities. In a word introspect.


Bring Me Home for Christmas (Virgin River, Bk 16)
Bring Me Home for Christmas (Virgin River, Bk 16)
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 167
Review Date: 12/7/2011


Another fun and heartfulling Virgin River Story.


A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1950
Review Date: 9/30/2011


Its very hard to rate this book saying I loved it, because it was so upsetting. But what an amazing boy he was.


The Christmas Pearl
The Christmas Pearl
Author: Dorothea Benton Frank
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 11/14/2010


A 93-year old women is watching her family grow into unpleasant people. She wishes for an Old Fashion Christmas reminiscent of her childhood. Her desire comes to life with the arrival of a temporary replacement when her housekeeper is unexpectedly called away for a family crisis.

If only we could really have miracles like this occur. Well maybe sometimes they do.


Christmas Roses
Christmas Roses
Author: Amanda Cabot
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 11/16/2015


Really enjoyed this book. A little romance, a little mystery, a little suspense, a lot of sweet.
Very fun read!


Cold Case, Hot Bodies (Harlequin Blaze)
Cold Case, Hot Bodies (Harlequin Blaze)
Author: Jule McBride
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 5/2/2011


First time I've read a Blaze. Wanted to see what they were all about. I was very surprised. The story was really intriquing. It was a battle over a piece of property that was haunted. By, The family that had possession, the historical sex museum, and a land developer all battling for the rightful ownership. Add the tenates association upset about the dance hall music that blares in the middle of the night. Add in the Hot Cop son on the cold case of the death of the mysterious rightful owner. Made for a fun read that kept me turning pages.


The Color of Light
The Color of Light
Author: Karen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 10/20/2011


In a word Bittersweet. A little predictable but still a very picturesque read.


Courting Miss Adelaide (Courting, Bk 1) (Love Inspired Historical, No 16)
Courting Miss Adelaide (Courting, Bk 1) (Love Inspired Historical, No 16)
Author: Janet Dean
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 11/30/2010


I was surprised by this story. And appreciated the reminder of the plight of the woman
who endured through time and the sufferage to bring us the right to vote. Although the story is fictional, it definately rings true on some level. As an unmarried woman tries to gain favor, to obtain custody of orphaned children, from a panel of men in charge of choosing the placement of them. Through unexpected twist and turns she is given half ownership in the local paper. When she writes a column encourageing woman to speak up it creates a mixture of postive and negative reaction. Although the outcome is predictable it was still and enjoyable read.


A Cup of Dust
A Cup of Dust
Author: Susie Finkbeiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/6/2017


Fantastic read, transported me right there into the dust. The book does contain religious aspects as they coincided with that historical time. It is much more literature than religion with a bit of mystery and suspense,though you can easily guess the mystery the building up to the factual and complete revelation keeps the pages turning.


Dark Harvest
Dark Harvest
Author: Karen Harper
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 11/10/2010


Ex-Policewoman goes undercover in Amish Community to find out who is responsible and stop the horrible hate crimes that are being committed. The twist and turns keep you turning the pages. The ending is an unexpected surprise.
Really enjoyable read.


Dark Road Home (Amish Maplecreek, Bk 1)
Dark Road Home (Amish Maplecreek, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Harper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 4/12/2010


Entertaining story. A little predictable but nicely twisted.


The Day the World Came to Town : 9/11 in Gander, Newfoundland
The Day the World Came to Town : 9/11 in Gander, Newfoundland
Author: Jim DeFede
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 1/31/2012
Helpful Score: 1


What an amazing world we live in sometimes. I wish every person in the entire world would read and catch the amazing spirit of the Newfoundland citizens. Their unending generosity and selfless ways of helping the passengers, crew and animals from the 38 planes that where forced to land in Gander on 9/11 was incrediable.


Death by Sudoku (Sudoku, Bk 1)
Death by Sudoku (Sudoku, Bk 1)
Author: Kaye Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 3/2/2011


I really like Sudoku puzzles. But this book was a little dry reading about strategies and solving them. The traveling and time frames seemed amiss. It bounced around a bit illogically. The charater building was lacking. The overall story was choppy. But it did improve enough as it went to make it finisable.


Deep Trouble (Wild West Weddings, Bk 2)
Deep Trouble (Wild West Weddings, Bk 2)
Author: Mary Connealy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 9/20/2012


A little mystery, suspense, ingenuity, falling in love all roll this into a fun story. The best part was the descriptions of the Grand Canyon. They where so well done that you felt like you could see it too!


The Dream Spinner (Magical Love Romance Series)
The Dream Spinner (Magical Love Romance Series)
Author: Gail Crease
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/17/2010


This was a quick fun read. A magical spinning wheel that is centuries old, creates a mystical change in the abilities of the person who is currently in ownership of it. There are two historine's in search of it. One with good intensions one with not so good plans for its use. Wrap in there a mystery, a little family conflict, a budding romance, and good friends, making it fun. Not a lot of depth, a little predictable, which of course leads to a quick read. But it really was fun.


1 to 20 of 70 - Page: