Joan P. (joangrace) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 75 - Page:
Against All Odds (Heroes of Quantico, Bk 1)
Against All Odds (Heroes of Quantico, Bk 1)
Author: Irene Hannon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 5/26/2013


I almost agree with Dee Henderson; Irene Hannon writes at least as well as Dee. I haven't ventured a lot into suspense authors other than Henderson and Blackstock, but I will look for all the romantic suspense that Irene Hannon writes...she's that good.


Almost Amish
Almost Amish
Author: Kathryn Cushman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 12/27/2012
Helpful Score: 1


A contemporary novel about contemporary families, this was not what I expected. I think I didn't read the cover information well. However, I thoroughly enjoyed the experience, as did the families involved in the summer adventure. The lessons learned about slowing down in order to use your gifts well were worth the price of admission and then some.


Antonia's Choice
Antonia's Choice
Author: Nancy Rue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 12/21/2012


Rue is an author who makes you think, possibly deeply, as her characters struggle to resolve life with faith. Antonia's Choice is no exception. It deals with real life situations and realistic characters while delivering a message of hope and redemption.


The Appomattox Saga Collection 1: Covenant of Love/Gate of His Enemies/Where Honor Dwells (The Appomattox Saga Series 1-3)
Review Date: 3/26/2014


Gilbert Morris at his best. Historical figures portrayed as Christians and still believable.


Arms of Deliverance (World War II Liberator, Bk 4)
Arms of Deliverance (World War II Liberator, Bk 4)
Author: Tricia Goyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/30/2011


Tricia Goyer, a newer Christian novelist, is now among my favorites of Thoene, Lewis, Pella, and Oke. The attention to historical detail is terrific while her stories are engrossing. I don't start her books with much else on my agenda...including sleep. One of the best series out there! Read it all!!


The Awakening
The Awakening
Author: Angela Hunt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 6/9/2012


This book was ok. I loved Angela Hunt for years and this is a different genre. Not close to her best.


A Bride in the Bargain
A Bride in the Bargain
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 12/30/2011


One of my favorites. A historically accurate and engrossing read. I love almost anything by Deeanne Gist, especially those in colonial America.


A Bride Most Begrudging
A Bride Most Begrudging
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 426
Review Date: 12/30/2011


As a math teacher I was VERY intrigued by the math "puzzles," but as an avid Christian fiction reader I was more impressed with the flow of the story with humor, intrigue, suspense, and yes, love. Don't worry, the math DOES NOT take away from the story for those less math literate.
A Terrific first novel by Deeanne Gist. Would read anything she writes!


Calico Canyon (Lassoed in Texas, Bk 2)
Calico Canyon (Lassoed in Texas, Bk 2)
Author: Mary Connealy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 12/29/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Connealy does it again with a heart rending tail laced with rip roaring fun. Sorry I missed Book 1...but maybe I'll pick it up in a swap! Recommend.


Christy
Christy
Author: Catherine Marshall
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/9/2012


One of my favorite books of all time. Long and VERY worth the read. I don't think the TV series did it justice at all.


Colorado Gold (Treasure Quest, Bk 1)
Colorado Gold (Treasure Quest, Bk 1)
Author: Marian Wells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/9/2012


Good book, but not up there with the greats of Christian fiction.


Coming Home (Baxter Family, Bk 6)
Coming Home (Baxter Family, Bk 6)
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 1/5/2013


Starts out sort of boring for long time readers of the series. Except for the new development with 3 of Erin's adopted children, everything seems a repeat...because it is.
But, hang on. Just before midbook a new crisis is on the horizon. It will keep you engaged to the last page.

Great for newcomers to the Baxter series, it will whet their appetite for what was before. The second half is a fitting conclusion for those who have read the series and seen the Baxter's hold together through trial and triumph.

Recommend only for newbies or those who have read all of the others...just my opinion.


The Confession
The Confession
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 230
Review Date: 6/12/2012


Another great book by Grisham. You don't see it coming...but it finally does!


Courting Trouble (Essie Spreckelmeyer, Bk 1)
Courting Trouble (Essie Spreckelmeyer, Bk 1)
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 215
Review Date: 12/30/2011


Love Deanne Gist's early American writing. Humor balances the love story and intrigue as her heroine's literally "stumble" into love and reveal much of early America in the process.


Dawn of a Thousand Nights (World War II Liberators, Bk 3)
Dawn of a Thousand Nights (World War II Liberators, Bk 3)
Author: Tricia Goyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/30/2011


Tricia Goyer, a newer Christian novelist, is now among my favorites of Thoene, Lewis, Pella, and Oke. The attention to historical detail is terrific while her stories are engrossing. I don't start her books with much else on my agenda...including sleep. One of the best series out there! Read it all!!


Deadlock
Deadlock
Author: James Scott Bell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 12/20/2012


Another good legal thriller by Bell. This one, you might want to know, involves "Christian" white supremacists. Not Bell's best book, but still a good read.


Deep in the Heart of Trouble (Essie Spreckelmeyer, Bk 2)
Deep in the Heart of Trouble (Essie Spreckelmeyer, Bk 2)
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 12/30/2011


Love Deanne Gist's early American writing. Humor balances the love story and intrigue as her heroine's literally "stumble" into love and reveal much of early America in the process.


Downfall (Intervention, Bk 3)
Downfall (Intervention, Bk 3)
Author: Terri Blackstock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 12/22/2012


A thriller with purpose. This is a great conclusion to the Intervention series focusing on the same characters. Read them in order for best understanding and effect.


Review Date: 5/29/2013


One of my favorite series of all time, this series clinched B.J. Hoff as a favorite author. Engrossed in the stories of the potato famine, migration, adjustment to a new land, I learned a lot of history too. What my history teachers failed to instill in me, a love of history, good historical fiction has planted and fertilized. This series is tops among many.


An Eye for an Eye (Heroes of Quantico, Bk 2)
An Eye for an Eye (Heroes of Quantico, Bk 2)
Author: Irene Hannon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 5/26/2013


Just as good as Book 1. Irene Hannon does it again with realistic dialogue and plot, this is a winner.


1 to 20 of 75 - Page: