Connie L. - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Crossing to Safety
Crossing to Safety
Author: Wallace Stegner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 3/24/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I had never heard of this author and felt that I had discovered gold reading this very real and moving story of two couples and their friendship over many years. The writing is beautiful and strong and I found the story moving and deeply thought provoking.

I'm looking forward to reading more of Stegner's works.


Emily, Alone (Emily Maxwell, Bk 2)
Emily, Alone (Emily Maxwell, Bk 2)
Author: Stewart O'Nan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/15/2014


Emily Alone was very well written.


Ingratitude
Ingratitude
Author: Ying Chen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/24/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is a strange book, but I found it compelling.

Someone asked me what it was about and I answered that it was about a young woman who killed herself and shared her thouhts before and after she died, which is true.

But after I finished this book I realized that there was much more to it. I think it's about a child who never felt loved, who yearned to be herself, but had the strong impression that was not acceptable and there was no way to make it so. She longed for her parents' love and acceptance. She was profoundly lonely. She chose death to escape an existence that she found unbearable.

Ingratitude is dark, heavy, chilling - and it will haunt you if you stay until the end.

To say that this book is not for everyone is a gross understatement, but I'm pleased that I found it and read it.


Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster
Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster
Author: Jon Krakauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 401
Review Date: 8/11/2008


One of the best books I've ever read - exciting and thought-provoking, and extremely well-written.


Let's Take the Long Way Home: A Memoir of Friendship
Let's Take the Long Way Home: A Memoir of Friendship
Author: Gail Caldwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 1/3/2011


five-word review:

intense, personal, real, riveting, sorrowful


Man Walks Into a Room
Man Walks Into a Room
Author: Nicole Krauss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 1/3/2011
Helpful Score: 1


five-adjective review:

austere, remote, detached, apart, thought-provoking


The Polysyllabic Spree
The Polysyllabic Spree
Author: Nick Hornby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 9/20/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This book will interest avid readers who like clever, concise writing with wry, deprecating humor mixed in. Hornby writes about reading, about writing and about what he likes, and I will look for books that he described that will widen my horizons.


The Salon.com Reader's Guide to Contemporary Authors
The Salon.com Reader's Guide to Contemporary Authors
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/14/2010


I am enjoying reading this book, a little at a time. It is a great way to be introduced to authors and their works, and I have found many new leads I am anxious to explore.


To Love What Is: A Marriage Transformed
To Love What Is: A Marriage Transformed
Author: Alix Kates Shulman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/7/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I had just read the earlier memoir by Shulman and enjoyed it very much, so I wanted to follow up with this one, and I was curious about what had happened to Shulman's husband, because I knew he'd had an accident, with devastating consequences.
The book is extremely well written and I felt I was living her life along with her. It is a heavy book, and scary to those of us who are older, because it describes the challenges and struggles of caring for a partner and doesn't shy away from the realities of these daily hurdles. I found it engaging, thought-provoking and worth my time.


1 to 9 of 9