Scott Gross (scottgross) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
American Assassin (Mitch Rapp, Bk 1)
American Assassin (Mitch Rapp, Bk 1)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 7/5/2011


Wow! What can I say? It's about Mitch Rapp and how he got started working for the CIA. How many times is this guy gonna save the free world? I love the Vince Flynn books.


An American Spy (Milo Weaver, Bk 3)
An American Spy (Milo Weaver, Bk 3)
Author: Olen Steinhauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/31/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Yow! I just discovered Steinhauer's books. Excellent! Superb! A great protagonist, excellent plot and very entertaining. I'll be buying everything he writes from now on. As good as anything by LeCarre or Ludlum.
Where he got all the information about spy tradecraft, I'll never know but he sure seems to know his subject. A couple more of his books and I'll be able to apply for a job at the CIA.


Black Cherry Blues (Dave Robicheaux, Bk 3)
Black Cherry Blues (Dave Robicheaux, Bk 3)
Author: James Lee Burke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 10/31/2013


I love anything by Burke. Fantastic writer with great characters and dialog.


Black List (Scot Harvath, Bk 11)
Black List (Scot Harvath, Bk 11)
Author: Brad Thor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 10/31/2013
Helpful Score: 3


If you like Thor's books about Scott Harvath, you'll like this one. Spy novels in the vein of Vince Flynn and Ludlum.
I highly recommend any of the books in this series and probably suggest you read them in order of how they were written.


The Bone Collector (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 1)
The Bone Collector (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 1)
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 378
Review Date: 10/31/2013


Excellent book that covers the origin of Lincoln Rhyme and what led up to his being physically crippled. I now want to see the movie.


Buried Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 21)
Buried Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 21)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 10/31/2013


I enjoy any Sandford book, especially the Lucas Davenport ones. My wife likes them because they are set in the Twin Cities where she spent her childhood. Always entertaining with lots of excitement.


Carte Blanche (James Bond)
Carte Blanche (James Bond)
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 10/31/2013


Entertaining and kind of fun to read a James Bond book again. I'm also a big fan of Jeffery Deaver. Unfortunately, I think I'd rather read a new James Bond story still set back in the Sixties. For some reason it didn't seem right to be updated to current times.


Cold Vengeance (Pendergast, Bk 11)
Cold Vengeance (Pendergast, Bk 11)
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 10/31/2013


Very good book in the Pendergast series.


A Confederacy of Dunces
A Confederacy of Dunces
Author: John Kennedy Toole
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 10/31/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Hated this book. I could get through more than 30 or 40 pages before I gave up. Stupid characters doing stupid things. Not my kind of books even though I had read numerous good reviews on it.


The English Assassin (Gabriel Allon, Bk 2)
The English Assassin (Gabriel Allon, Bk 2)
Author: Daniel Silva
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 190
Review Date: 7/5/2011


This book impressed me enough to quickly order everything else Mr. Silva has written. It is written in the same vein as the Jason Bourne books and just as exciting and well written.


Frozen Heat (Nikki Heat, Bk 4)
Frozen Heat (Nikki Heat, Bk 4)
Author: Richard Castle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/31/2013


If you like the TV show 'Castle', you'll love this series of books. On the TV show, Castle is a writer of novels and works with the police to salve crimes. This series of books are supposed to be the novels the TV character writes.
They mirror the TV show and you'll recognize all the characters in the book although the names are different.
I suspect the 'Heat' books are written by one (or more) of the TV show's screenwriters.


Garden of Beasts : A Novel of Berlin 1936
Garden of Beasts : A Novel of Berlin 1936
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 10/31/2013


Very entertaining book about Germany prior to WWII and the 1936 Olympics. It's a crime novel but not like most others. From a historical perspective, it is very educational about Germany in that time period.


Gringos
Gringos
Author: Charles Portis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/31/2013


This was entertaining but didn't appeal to me as much as True Grit.


The Hunter (Wyatt Hunt, Bk 3)
The Hunter (Wyatt Hunt, Bk 3)
Author: John Lescroart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 10/31/2013


John Lescroart is one of the best crime fiction writers out there. This one doesn't focus around Dismas and Abe as much of his earlier books, but still revolves around his usual cast of characters. I especially like his books because they take place in San Francisco and I grew up just outside of the city. always fun to read about a situation in an area I am familiar with.


I Am Pilgrim (Pilgrim, Bk 1)
I Am Pilgrim (Pilgrim, Bk 1)
Author: Terry Hayes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/19/2015


I have read thousands of books and this rates in the Top 100, maybe even the Top 10. It is beautifully written with lots of tense moments, twists and turns and beautiful dialog. I can't wait until his next book comes out.
If you like thrillers, you are gonna love this book.


Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly
Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly
Author: Anthony Bourdain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 343
Review Date: 8/5/2009


I am an amateur chef and love to read about behinds the scenes in restaurant kitchens. This was a very good look at how the kitchen operate. Some of what he said was rather 'off putting' but it hasn't stopped my restaurant crawling.
It's been a while since I read it, but my memories of it are pretty positive.


The Martian (Mass Market MTI): A Novel
The Martian (Mass Market MTI): A Novel
Author: Andy Weir
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 2/17/2016


I saw the movie first and loved it but still enjoyed the book for all the additional details the movie had to leave out. I then watched the movie again and enjoyed it even more knowing all the background information.


The Nearest Exit (Milo Weaver, Bk 2)
The Nearest Exit (Milo Weaver, Bk 2)
Author: Olen Steinhauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 10/31/2013


I enjoyed this as much as his previous book. Milo is a great character and I can't wait to read the next book in the series. Think of Jason Bourne but with more spy tradecraft.


Need You Now
Need You Now
Author: James Grippando
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/31/2013


I love Grippando's books..always entertaining. This one, as the title indicates, is loosely based around the song "Need You Now". If you like Grippando, you'll like this one.


Robert B. Parker's Lullaby (Spenser, Bk 41)
Robert B. Parker's Lullaby (Spenser, Bk 41)
Author: Ace Atkins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/31/2013
Helpful Score: 2


I was very impressed with this book. If I didn't know that Parker passed away recently, I'd swear it was written by him. Atkins brings the same characters, the same humor, the same suspense as did Parker.
I hope he writes some more because I'll never get tired of reading Spenser books.


1 to 20 of 25 - Page: