Robert B. (SGTBob) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 155 - Page:
100 People Who Are Screwing Up America : (and Al Franken Is #37)
100 People Who Are Screwing Up America : (and Al Franken Is #37)
Author: Bernard Goldberg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 12/18/2010
Helpful Score: 1


An interesting read. A little dated but the names mentioned in the book are still in the news doing what the title says they are doing. Bernard Goldberg writes the way he speaks, side notes and all.


101 Road Tales (The Faces of Motorcycling)
101 Road Tales (The Faces of Motorcycling)
Author: Clement Salvadori
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/4/2015


A good read if you are interested in traveling and/or motorcycles.
Clement Salvadori is a traveler who prefers to travel via motorcycle. He is also a moto journalist who has a monthly column in a well respected motorcycle magazine.
What he has done her is compile 101 of his most favored columns.
They are listed in chronological order, so you get a sense of his progress as a traveling moto journalist.
An enjoyable read.


365 Motorcycles You Must Ride
365 Motorcycles You Must Ride
Author: Dain Gingerelli, James Manning Michels, Charles Everitt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/1/2012


This book is a little different than most books I have read. I began the book, first by starting at page 1, then reading each subsequent page. DO NOT ATTEMPT to read this book that way.
After about 40 pages, I decided to begin "thumbing" through the book and reading information on motorcycles that I would really "Like to Ride" and could afford to ride.
My rating is low, not because it isn't an interesting book, but because most of the motorcycles in this book will NEVER be riden by people like me (lower middle class, average motorcycle rider).
At least half of the motorcycles in this book CANNOT be riden by anyone, either because they are museum pieces, no longer exist or are extremely expensive (rare collectables).
A better title of the book might have been "365 Extraordinary Motorcycles". But then again, if it were titled as that perhaps I would not have purchased it or read it anyway.


The 37th Hour (Sarah Pribek, Bk 1)
The 37th Hour (Sarah Pribek, Bk 1)
Author: Jodi Compton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 9/13/2010


A very suspenseful read. Jodi Compton's first novel. It was well written, kept me on the edge throughout the book and she wrapped up the final part of the book in a manner that would suggest another novel to follow at a later date. I'm looking forward to her next work of art.


The Abduction (Theodore Boone, Bk 2)
The Abduction (Theodore Boone, Bk 2)
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 4/22/2013


A great read for any adolescent child (perhaps ages 8 to 15) but an adult will enjoy it as well.
Don't do as I did. I read the third Theodore Boone Book before reading this one (this is the second Theodore Boone Book).
Read them in sequence.


Abuse of Power (Jack Hatfield, Bk 1)
Abuse of Power (Jack Hatfield, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Savage
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/25/2015


I think that this was the first Jack Hatfield (main character) thriller.
With all that is happening in the world today, it was not hard to envision and understand the plot to this story.
I had read A Time of War (book 2) prior to reading this book. I am certain that I would have enjoyed it more had In read Abuse of Power first.
Many twists and turns in this book, but the character, plot and timeline of events are easy to follow and the ending is not too predictable, however, you are aware that the good guy will win.


An Act of Treason (Kyle Swanson Sniper Novels)
An Act of Treason (Kyle Swanson Sniper Novels)
Author: Sgt. Jack Coughlin, Donald A. Davis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/24/2016


Very suspenseful with twists and turns at many point throughout the book.
If you like books with multiple levels of villains and heroes, this book is for you.
I enjoyed the read, but got a little frustrated when a hero becomes the villain and a villain becomes the hero (somebody needs to make up their mind!). LOL!


Agenda 21
Agenda 21
Author: Glenn Beck
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 5/14/2016


This book is scary because it shows a glimpse at the future of the world. It was difficult to start reading this book but once I started reading it, my interest was peaked.
Gloomy in the begining. It became interesting in the third Chapter. Not a work of history, but a look at how things might be in the future if human life continues
to be devalued by those in government. It shows how life might become once the people work for the Government instead of the Government working for the people.
Although no a factual book it does have a ring of truth in the direction that the world is headed. I highly recommend that you request my book and reade it... :-)
By the way, Agenda 21 IS a real life objective and liberals around the world continue to push towards it slowly, by enacting laws in line with the UN supported Agenda 21 manifest. Read it, you will understand.


AMA Ride Guide To America: Favorite Motorcycle Tours In The Usa
AMA Ride Guide To America: Favorite Motorcycle Tours In The Usa
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/6/2010


If you are a motorcycle rider and you plan to take some adventurious rides, this could be your guidebook. The book is filled with hundreds of destinations that any motorcyclist would love to visit. I enjoyed thumbing through the pages, but was never able to take advantage of any of the destinations. My loss can be your gain. Take a chance and perhaps your adventures will materialize better than mine did.


America by Heart : Reflections on Family, Faith, and Flag
America by Heart : Reflections on Family, Faith, and Flag
Author: Sarah Palin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 12/17/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A good read. Unfortunately, some of the parts of this book are in her first book as well.
A lot to people don't appreciate her ideologic view points and perhaps she is. But i enjoyed this book anyway.


America the Beautiful: Rediscovering What Made This Nation Great
America the Beautiful: Rediscovering What Made This Nation Great
Author: Ben Carson M.D.
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/6/2013


Excellent read. Dr. Carson is a dynamic speaker, neurosurgeon, writer and all around God loving individual.
In his book he speaks and outlines the qualities that made this country and its citizens extraordinary. He talks about the people who (not by name but group) are going out of their way to change this extraordinary way of life.
The bottom line of this book is so basic that it is almost an insult to those politicians who are ruining this country.
I gave this book a rating of 4 1/2 because I don't agree with everything he says, but I admire the way he says it and his background reflects his beliefs.
Many people will be able to relate to Dr. Carson and his rise from an inner big city (Detroit0 slum, to his current status. This book should be required reading for many high school


American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History
Review Date: 3/26/2013
Helpful Score: 1


An exceptional read.
Chris' experiences during his childhood and later on (after High School) not only formed his persona, but those experiences helped to mold him for the life of a Navy Seal Sniper.
What I didn't like about this book is all the information in the first three chapters (it was boring) however this information did set the tone for his experiences in the field, as a sniper.
There were several parts of the book that helped the reader in understanding of Chris' life. His wife, Taya, adds her thoughts during critical phases of Chris' experiences with the Navy Seals and she also speaks of the way he dealt with the presures (self imposed as they were) of being a Navy Seal Sniper.
Both Chris and Taya are painfully honest in their comments in this book.
Unfortunately we will never read another book written by Chris and his passing will leave a big hole in America's life.
Four stars is my rating, only because of the first three chapters, which I thought were boring.


Anatomy of Murder (Crowther & Westerman, Bk 2)
Anatomy of Murder (Crowther & Westerman, Bk 2)
Author: Imogen Robertson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 11/13/2015


Read book 1 (Instruments od Darkness) first, it will save you some confusion.
A well written novel about two investigators in 18th century England.
Picture, if you will Agatha Christie and Sherlock Holmes teaming up to solve a murder surrounding events of sabatoge and spying elements.
I had difficulty getting started on this novel, because I was lost, for having NOT read the first book of this series (this is book 2 of the series).
Once I got to Chapter 2, the information was understandable and it flowed in a normal sequence.
The author has certainly done her homework, as she twines historical and fiction to produce an exciting mystery/murder novel.
The book is written in older English, so there were times when I needed to read a sentense more than once to understand what was happening.
I will read "Instruments of Darkness", book 1 of this series. I liked it that much.


Arguing with Idiots: America's Next Epic Battle
Arguing with Idiots: America's Next Epic Battle
Author: Glenn Beck
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 11/25/2014
Helpful Score: 2


This is his first "Arguing with Idiots" book.
Glenn did a good job of laying out the facts in this book. He makes certain generalizations and accusations, but he back them up with facts and research references.
Glenn is very perceptive in his thoughts and many lable him as a wacko, but many who accuse him of such careless thought, have never read a single word of any book he has written.
Do yourself a favor, open your eyes and your mind and learn to think for yourself by reading a variety of books.
By the way, his fiction books are a great read as well.


Arguing with Idiots: How to Stop Small Minds and Big Government
Review Date: 10/30/2014


You either love or hate Glenn Beck, there does not seem to be much middle ground.
Glenn approaches many issues in this book from a conservative viewpoint, so those of you with liberal leanings will absolutely hate the book.
He lays out several compelling issues and backs them with facts and a list of references that back up his beliefs and thoughts. He has little love for historical figures in US politics and discusses what these influenent individuals have done to undermine the foundation and beliefs that our forefathers worked so hard to establish.
I enjoyed reading the book, but I understand that everyone has has beliefs and standards that they use to judge writers like Glenn.
The book would be an hour easier read without all the excess graphics and different colored pages. I will probably re-read this book in a year or two.


The Assassin's Accomplice: Mary Surratt and the Plot to Kill Abraham Lincoln
Review Date: 11/24/2008
Helpful Score: 4


The author began writing and researching this book in an effort to prove the innocence of Mary Surratt, what she found, through her research, changed her opinion. The book is written as a chronicle of the events leading up to the assassination, the manhunt for John Wilkes Booth, then finally the trial of all the accomplices. It continues to outline the verdict and the sentencing of the accomplices. I, like are most people, was unaware that so many people were involved in Lincoln's assassination.


Atlas Shrugged
Atlas Shrugged
Author: Ayn Rand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 8/6/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Wow! Wow! and Wow. That pretty much sums up this book. I purchased this book about two years ago with the intent to read it quickly. Boy was I in for a big shock.
1168 pages and NOT large print.

I enjoyed the book after I got through Part I. This part of the book sets up all that occurs in Parts II and III. Once I began Part II, I was "hooked", I found it difficult to put it down. Ayn Rand has written several books, but I've been told, by several people, that Atlas Shrugged is the climax of her work in Philosophy.

In reading the book I can see the events in the book happening around the country today, although you have to maintain a perspective that the book is FICTION.

Considering that the book was written in 1957, it is incredible that Ayn Rand was perceptive enough to see these events play out in our modern (2013) world today.

I may read this book again, but it won't be for at least two more years.

If Part I would have been a little less wordy and more exciting I would have given this book 5 stars, but it wasn't (for me), so I didn't.


Backroads of Minnesota: Your Guide to Minnesota's Most Scenic Backroad Adventures
Review Date: 3/6/2010


Full for hundreds of beautiful full-color photography and stunning scenery around Minnesota. Breath-taking pictures and terrific narrative put you right in the middle of the location.


Behind the Lines: Powerful and Revealing American and Foreign War Letters -- and One Man's Search to Find Them
Review Date: 1/7/2010


Not an easy read. If you decide to read this book, make sure you can accomplish it without interruptions. I read better than half of the book and it took me almost 3 weeks. This book is not for the faint of heart, as it is graphic in places. Not exactly based on what we know of history of wars over the years. Basically a service member's perspective on their experience IN war.


Being George Washington: The Indispensable Man, as You've Never Seen Him
Review Date: 12/17/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I have read several of Glenn Beck's book and I an always entertained. In the writting of this book the research is very obvious. The information is presented in an orderly, logical manner and although it is historical in nature, it is very entertaining in context.
I started reading it and I could not put it down. Over a period of three days I read the entire book. I enjoyed the "Cast of characters" and the "Timeline" at the end of the book. Glenn has also added selected quotes and writtings directly from George Washington himself.


1 to 20 of 155 - Page: