Barbara L. (behold) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 27 - Page:
1812 (American Story, Bk 2)
1812 (American Story, Bk 2)
Author: David Nevin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 4/17/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Fabulous book, so well written. I enjoyed every page of it and learned so much American history in the process. I had always thought the Star Spangled Banner was written during the Revolutionary War not the war of 1812! Andrew and Rachel Jackson are characters to love and admire, as well as James and Dolley Madison. Niven sticks to the historical facts and is true to the character and personality of the various individuals. A really good book. I'm going to request some other titles by Nevin.


The Birth of Venus
The Birth of Venus
Author: Sarah Dunant
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 230
Review Date: 3/1/2010


A really good read. I love historical fiction and this book was very informative of the period.


The Crimson Petal and the White
The Crimson Petal and the White
Author: Michel Faber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 345
Review Date: 5/22/2010


Wonderfully told story. I loved the way the author introduced the characters by making it seem the reader was following behind them, unobserved, and privy to their thoughts and feelings. It was a very insightful look into the customs and morals of the period, and the extemly hard life unmarried women had making a way for themselves in the world.


The Distant Beacon (Song of Acadia, Bk 4)
The Distant Beacon (Song of Acadia, Bk 4)
Author: T. Davis Bunn, Janette Oke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 1/10/2010


I love Janette Oke's writing. Very descriptive. I always think I know what's going to happen, but it rarely turns out that way. Love this series.


The Feast of Roses (Taj Mahal Trilogy, Bk 2)
The Feast of Roses (Taj Mahal Trilogy, Bk 2)
Author: Indu Sundaresan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 5/6/2011
Helpful Score: 2


A beautifully told story! I loved the Twentieth Wife and this follow-up book is just as enthralling. Sundaresan is such a descriptive writer that I could smell and feel the searing Indian heat, the sweet smell of flowers and the coolness of the marble floors. I couldn't wait to read this book and was sad when it came to an end. The history of these royal Indian rulers is fascinating, as well as the touching tale of Mehrunnisa's and Emperor Jahangir's love and devotion to one another. Something I wouldn't have thought existed in a harem!


Girl with a Pearl Earring
Girl with a Pearl Earring
Author: Tracy Chevalier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1447
Review Date: 3/1/2010


Very quick and interesting read. Chevalier's writing style painted a compelling and believable portrait of the times.


I, Mona Lisa
I, Mona Lisa
Author: Jeanne Kalogridis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 3/13/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Another interesting, suspenseful and compelling read in the tradition of The Borgia Bride. Set in the same time period as Borgia, Madonna Lisa's story is a love story, mystery and crime novel rolled into one. The details of life in 15th century Florence are fascinating and described so well by Kalogridis that you feel you are there.


In the Company of the Courtesan
In the Company of the Courtesan
Author: Sarah Dunant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 3/20/2010
Helpful Score: 7


A beauty of a book! I liked this better than Dunant's The Birth of Venus. She has a wonderful descriptive talent. Her characters are so well developed and real, you are sad to let them go at the end. I could feel and smell the fog through her words: "Outside the city is changing. While we have been talking of God's laws and secrets of the earth, a cold fog has come rolling off the sea, pushing through the alleys, sliding over the water, rubbing up against the cold stone. As I walk, the street falls away behind me, the shop's blue awning lost within seconds. People move like ghosts, their voices disconnected from their bodies; as fast as they loom up, the disappear again. I can barely see the ground under my feet or tell if the gloom is weather or the beginning of dusk." Loved it, loved it, loved it.


The Kitchen Boy:  A Novel of the Last Tsar
The Kitchen Boy: A Novel of the Last Tsar
Author: Robert Alexander
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 226
Review Date: 4/12/2011


A very enjoyable, quick read. Didnt want to put it down! The author tells a riveting tale of the royal family's last days and left me wanting to know more about the Romanovs.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5695
Review Date: 4/12/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is undoubtedly one of the BEST books I've ever read! The author makes you feel you are right there with the characters. Thoroughly enjoyed this novel and didn't want it to end!


The Last Great Dance on Earth (Josephine B. Trilogy, Bk 3)
The Last Great Dance on Earth (Josephine B. Trilogy, Bk 3)
Author: Sandra Gulland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 1/10/2010
Helpful Score: 2


A wonderful ending to the Josephine Bonaparte trilogy! I laughed and I cried. A beautiful, though tragic, love story. Wonderfully written, and I learned a bit of history too!


Memoirs of a Geisha
Memoirs of a Geisha
Author: Arthur Golden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2666
Review Date: 7/9/2011


An excellent book! Beautifully written, thoroughly entertaining. I was intrigued with the details of a Geisha's life. The story is sad at times, hopeful at others.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5391
Review Date: 3/26/2010


Did not enjoy this book. I was disappointed after all the rave reviews it got, but I found it incredibly depressing, several of the characters annoying, and a boring read. I skipped over alot of it to get to the end because I don't like to quit on a novel once I've started. I guess it just isn't my type of story!


Portrait of an Unknown Woman
Portrait of an Unknown Woman
Author: Vanora Bennett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 5/24/2011
Helpful Score: 3


Meg, the adopted daughter of Sir Thomas More, narrates the story of a famous Holbein paiinting of the More family. This is a wonderfully written historical novel about the More family, set in the religously tumultous 16th century England at the beginning of the Portestant Reformation. I enjoyed the beautifully descriptive language of the author, though her sentences at times were very long with many commas! The story is a blend of historical fact and imagination, mystery, passion, love and cruelty.


The Red Tent
The Red Tent
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3395
Review Date: 9/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a wonderful read! I slowed down as I neared the finish so I could prolong the reading. She is a very visual writer. Great story.


Remarkable Creatures
Remarkable Creatures
Author: Tracy Chevalier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 11/29/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Chevalier has done it again. Her literary style is very pleasing and easy to read. On par with "Girl With a Pearl Earring." Based on the lives of two real women, it's a great story of friendship and women's struggle in general to be accepted as men's equals during the nineteenth century.


The Samurai's Garden
The Samurai's Garden
Author: Gail Tsukiyama
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 223
Review Date: 11/29/2010


Really easy to read book. Didn't want to put it down. Gives an interesting look into Japanese life of the 1940's. Characters developed well.


The Singing Fire
The Singing Fire
Author: Lilian Nattel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/24/2011


The story of two Jesiwh women from different economic backgrounds who travel independently to London in the 1800's to improve their lives. One lives in the Jewish ghetto and the other in the privileged West End, though their lives become intertwined through love and friendship. The author does a wonderful work of bringing to life the sounds, smells, and personalities of this period in London. Not being Jewish myself, I found the customs and language of the people to be very interesting.


Slammerkin
Slammerkin
Author: Emma Donoghue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 6/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Didn't really enjoy the first part of this book. Seemed to be too much description of the main character's sexual encounters and not much personal character development. The second part of the book had more story to it. Despite all this, I did enjoy the book.


Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Author: Lisa See
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2108
Review Date: 7/9/2011


Lisa See has presented a beautifully written story of two "laotangs" or "old sames", Lily and Snow Flower. Their deep and enduring love for one another throughout their lives is both beautiful and heartbreaking at the same time. Even though their culture, history, traditions and lives are totally unlike my own, as the author states "we as American women are independent, free, and mobile, but at our cores we still long for love, friendship, happiness and tranquility and to be heard." We women are blessed to have the companionship and love of our women friends.

I was both fascinated and horrified to read the details of the Chinese foot-bindinng process that endured right into the early 20th century!


1 to 20 of 27 - Page: