Jocelyn E. (hoopridge) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 251 - Page:
The 1999 Scrapbook Idea Book
The 1999 Scrapbook Idea Book
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/12/2011


Scrapbooking has come a long way since 1999, but this book gives some good basics about making layouts. Dated, yes, but for a beginner, very unintimidating.


25 Minute Menus
25 Minute Menus
Author: Jim Ashley
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 12/30/2008


This is a really cool pamphlet-type "book" which is full of recipes to make quick meals. Some take pre-prep, and some don't, but all are good, though some are easier to prepare than others. And it's laminated, so if you spill on it, you can wipe it clean. Brilliant idea!


365 Days of Baby Love: Playing, Growing and Exploring With Babies from Birth to Age 2
Review Date: 1/29/2009


If you've ever been home with your baby for what seems like years, but has only been about two hours, and you're exhausted and bored and the baby is crying and when the heck is Daddy coming home and if I don't do something to get out of this rut I'll go nuts...this is for you. Finger plays, "games," activities and the like, all for babies and small children. As other reviewers pointed out, some are silly or hokey, but others aren't. This would be a nice gift book for a new or expectant parent, or a stay-at-home-parent who is at the end of his or her rope!


365 TV-Free Activities You Can Do with Your Child
365 TV-Free Activities You Can Do with Your Child
Author: Steve Bennett, Ruth Bennett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 11/8/2008
Helpful Score: 5


Most of the activities listed are pretty basic, with finger plays and other games, but some are involved and require imagination. My mom gave me this when I had my first child and I really liked doing a lot of the things listed. My daughter liked the finger plays, and I appreciated some face time with her, instead of having her glued to the tube all the time. A good resource for parents, grandparents, teachers, caregivers, etc.


Absolutely Fabulous
Absolutely Fabulous
Author: Jennifer Saunders
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


If you are a fan of Patsy and Eddie, this is the perfect book for you. All the scripts from series one are included, so you can finally catch the lines you missed while you watched. There are also a few pictures from the show. This book really highlights Jennifer Saunders' ascerbic wit, showing what a talented writer she is. The show has been a hit on the BBC for a reason, and now you can read why.


Absolutely Fabulous 2: The Scripts
Absolutely Fabulous 2: The Scripts
Author: Jennifer Saunders
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/10/2008
Helpful Score: 1


More hilarity from the wicked pen of Jennifer Saunders. This book contains series 2's scripts, photos, and other tidbits about our favorite lushes, Patsy and Edina. Sweetie Darling, you must have this book!


The Actor's Book of Movie Monologues
The Actor's Book of Movie Monologues
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/9/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book is great for beginning actors who need help finding a character, because they can refer to the movie the monologue is from for cues about delivery. I wouldn't recommend it for advanced actors for the above reason, but for students, especially high schoolers, this is a good book.


Advanced Composition:  A Book of Models for Writing
Review Date: 12/9/2008
Helpful Score: 1


High school text of anthologized writings based on different genres of writing:
Description
Exposition
Argument and Persuasion
Narration

Each entry (from such writers as Updike, Faulkner, Thurber, Twain, etc.) includes an analysis, questions about technique, suggestions for writing, and some include techniques to imitate and vocabulary words.

Far from being a dry book about writing (zzzzzzz), this is a book that can help you develop your own style of writing by reading GOOD authors doing what they do best: WRITING!


Adventures For Americans Third Edition (The New Companion Series Adventures In Literature)
Review Date: 11/11/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Teachers: need a good anthology of American writing? This is the book for you! Frustrated former English majors: want to brush up on your classic literature? This is the book for you!
Anyone else: want a nice assortment of short, well-written writings? This is the book for you!

Units include:
American Scenes
American Writers
Fiction
Essays and Articles
Speeches and Quotations
Biography, Autobiography, and Personal Narrative
Poetry
Drama
Letters


Adventures in Reading: Heritage Edition
Adventures in Reading: Heritage Edition
Author: Fannie Safier
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/10/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Great anthology of American and British writings, including vocabulary and questions for each selection. Classic short stories like "The Most Dangerous Game," "The Lady, or the Tiger?" and "The Secret Life of Walter Mitty" are included, as well as poetry, "Romeo and Juliet," selections from Homer's "Odyssey," and an abridged version of Dickens' "Great Expectations." WONDERFUL for home-schooling parents of high-school-aged students.


Ah, Sweet Mystery of Life (Penguin Fiction)
Ah, Sweet Mystery of Life (Penguin Fiction)
Author: Roald Dahl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/21/2008
Helpful Score: 1


If you've only read Dahl's books for children, you've missed out on his sick, wonderful, glorious sense of humor in short stories for grown-ups. As twisted as his children's books are, this collection of adult stories is even more twisted, macabre, and delicious!

I won't tell you more...you'll have to read them to believe them. Dahl's remarkable use of language and incredible story-telling abilities give these tales, each with a twist at the end, an amazing taste. Lots of fun to read!


Aiding and Abetting
Aiding and Abetting
Author: Muriel Spark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/19/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Not laugh-out-loud funny, as promised on the back of the book, but still an interesting read. Today was a snow day from work, so I sat and read the whole thing in one day (it's only 166 pages). You get sucked into it and you can't put it down because you want to figure out what all the characters have to do with each other. So, from that aspect, it's really good, but as far as the plot itself, it's pretty thin. It's based on a true case of a missing murderer, and that was intriguing, but the side love story and minor characters were a bit distracting.

A good enough read for a winter's day and one I'm not sorry to have read, but one I don't need to read again.


The Akhenaten Adventure (Children of the Lamp, Bk 1)
The Akhenaten Adventure (Children of the Lamp, Bk 1)
Author: P. B. Kerr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 8/5/2012


I reallllly wanted to like this. But then I started reading it and realized it was nothing more than "Harry Potter" with genies. What a waste. Didn't even get past 100 pages before I closed it and sighed, "Way to steal a premise..."


Ali & Nino
Ali & Nino
Author: Kurban Said
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/11/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Very exciting, romantic story of a kinda modern Romeo and Juliet. However, this lush story is more elaborate and less sad, in my opinion. A very good read!


All About Corduroy
All About Corduroy
Author: Don Freeman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/20/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I love the Corduroy stories so much! I always had my mom read me these books when I was a child. They're sweet, gentle, and teach the power of love and friendship.

The only drawback to this book is that it's many "adventures" in one, and it was hard to tell my daughter she could only have one of the stories at a time; she always wanted to read them all!


All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten: Uncommon Thoughts on Common Things
Review Date: 11/14/2008
Helpful Score: 5


This book was popular when I started working in a bookstore in 1988. The advice and articles are still timely and easy to read. This would still be a good book for a graduate, teacher, or student, despite its "age".


"'Allo 'Allo"
"'Allo 'Allo"
Author: John Haselden
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 11/28/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Hilarious book told in diary form. Rene Artrois is a cafe owner in France during the German occupation in WWII. He is trying to carry on two affairs without his wife finding out, he's trying to help the Germans without the Resistance finding out, and he's trying to help the Resistance without the Germans finding out. You always think something's gonna give, but everyone is blissfully ignorant throughout.

This book encapsulates the first five series of the great BBC sitcom, and it includes pictures previously unseen. Even if you don't know the series, it's still pretty dang funny.


The Alphabet Book (Bright  Early Board Books(TM))
The Alphabet Book (Bright Early Board Books(TM))
Author: P.D. Eastman
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/5/2009


Learn your alphabet with this cute book. The author of "Go, Dog, Go!" shows us the alphabet through pictures (like "U" for umpire). This board book is good for babies to look at and older children to learn from. My children loved it!


Anastasia Krupnik
Anastasia Krupnik
Author: Lois Lowry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/14/2008
Helpful Score: 3


HILARIOUS book for tweeners.

Anastasia is a spunky girl who pre-teen girls can really relate to. She has quirky parents and lives in a big old house and is used to being an only child. When she hears that her mom is pregnant, she is less than pleased and tries to figure out a way to thwart the impending arrival.

Even though I'm 36, I really enjoyed reading this book. The author's voice is clear and real throughout and you really feel for Anastasia and her imminent sisterdom. There are many more Anastasia adventures, all as great as this one.


And Now for Something Completely Trivial: The Monty Python Trivia and Quiz Book
Review Date: 11/10/2008
Helpful Score: 1


What is the secret ingredient in Whizzo's Quality Assortment? What is wrong with the invoice signed by Mrs. Crump [or is it Crump-Pinnet?]? Exactly WHAT is the Ministry of Silly Walks' mission?

The answers can be found in this handy little volume. Python fans will enjoy sharing their obscure knowledge with unsuspecting people and wowing each other with how much they know about those six wacky guys. Non-Python fans can quiz Pythonites or learn more about the shows. Fun book!


1 to 20 of 251 - Page: