Terri E. (stocktonmalonefan) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 59 - Page:
The Alchemist: A Fable About Following Your Dream
Review Date: 1/14/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This philosophical book was easy to read. I found it comforting and insightful, yet simple in its presentation. The fable is inspiring and reminds us all of what is really important in life. The main message is one we hear repeatedly any many realms, but few listen to: "Follow your heart."
I'm hanging on to this one for awhile.


Angel Unaware
Angel Unaware
Author: Dale Evans Rogers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/11/2008


This is a quick read told from the perspective of Dale Evans daughter, born with Down's syndrome. I enjoyed it very much!


The Art of Happiness: A Handbook for Living
The Art of Happiness: A Handbook for Living
Author: Dalai Lama, Howard C. Cutler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 12/1/2011


While I love reading about the Dalai Lama and hearing what he has to say, I did not care for the way Mr. Cutler arranged the book or his style of writing. I found the sections regarding Psychiatry/Psychology to be jarring after reading sections from the Dalai Lama. Maybe because I already feel I'm well grounded in knowledge of the way the Western "mind" thinks and how we tend to evaluate emotions, actions and thinking in an analytical way. I wanted more of the Lama's wisdom in dealing with happiness and life, and less of the western antidotes.


Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction
Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Addiction
Author: David Sheff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 1/7/2009
Helpful Score: 3


If you love someone who is an addict/alcoholic, known someone who is--this book is as necessary to read for you as food is for nourishment. It will bring a smile to your lips, it will give you hope, it will crush you and break your heart. And in the end, it will help you understand what you are up against and give you the solace that comes in knowing you are not alone. I read this in two days, staying up until 3 a.m.--probably not the healthiest of things to do under times of stress--but I could not put it down. As much as it pained me to read it, it also gave me hope. Life and love are not for the weak. What's that old saing? "What doesn't kill us makes us stronger." Whether we want it or not--loved ones of addicts are in for the long-haul, the duration, the good and the bad. Keep the faith.


Cell
Cell
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 769
Review Date: 12/24/2007


This book is not one of his best. If you're a Stephen King fan, you'll probably still enjoy it. It kept me reading into the night (as his books always do). But as a whole, I found it less than satisfying. It's an interesting concept--kind of reminded me of the old Charles Bronson flick about the sleeper soviet agents who went into action after hearing the poem "The woods are lovely dark and deep and I have promises to keep, and miles to go before I sleep." Anyway--NOT one of his books I have to reread and savor again.


Come Back: A Mother and Daughter's Journey Through Hell and Back
Review Date: 8/26/2011


Another great book on dealing with a child that is addicted to drugs or alcohol. Very harrowing account of a mother's search for and attempts at saving her daughter from this seedy underworld. It will break your heart and also gives parents hope that there is help out there. Let's face it, if you're reading this because your child is an addict, your heart is most likely broken already.


Cutting for Stone
Cutting for Stone
Author: Abraham Verghese
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 496
Review Date: 11/28/2011
Helpful Score: 4


What a beautiful story, by an eloquent writer. I was lost in the story from mid-way through the first chapter. I love books that teach me something about the history of other countries, as well as give me insight into the country's citizens everyday lives.

I loved the characters: Especially Hema and Ghosh. One of the things that struck me in reading this, was that each of the characters--prominent and bit-parts were unlike any I can ever remember reading before. That's pretty hard to pull off. I could picture them in my mind as I read about them and I had compassion for almost all of them. This is another story that will remind American's how spoiled we truly are. We take so much for granted.

Each of the character's that formed the inner circle of Missing Hospital became like close friends. One's I would be proud to know. When something happened to any of them, it was devastating to me.

I read someone else's remarks about there being too much medical jargon--personally I didn't have a problem with it. I felt I learned a little bit about surgery and some of its complications. What I didn't understand, I could still make sense out of.

I'm still thinking about the story and am sad to be at the end. This is one of those rare books that I'm sure I will reread again in the future. I can't recommend it enough.

I certainly hope they make it into a movie and one that does it justice.


Draw Sports Figures! (Discover Drawing Series)
Draw Sports Figures! (Discover Drawing Series)
Author: Lee Hammond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/1/2010


I love all of Lee's books on drawing. She gives easy-to-follow directions and lots of good tips. I have tried her method and am amazed at how well it works. Great book for anyone who wants to learn how to draw well and draw people in motion.


Expecting Adam: A True Story of Birth, Rebirth, and Everyday Magic
Expecting Adam: A True Story of Birth, Rebirth, and Everyday Magic
Author: Martha Beck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 8/15/2008
Helpful Score: 4


This is by far one of the most beautiful and inspiring books I have read in a very long time. If you are open to believing in miracles and the possibility of unseen guides--you will be uplifted by Martha Becks words. I found that the book reinforced what I have come to believe in. That we all have helpers (unseen spirits) available to us whether we see them or not. That there is meaning in this life and that we are here for a reason--and it ain't to be the best professor at Harvard who believes success is measured in his published articles and scholarly achievements rather than in human relationships and reaching out to individual souls. A beautiful, beautiful story. This one is going on my shelf to keep.


A Fine Balance
A Fine Balance
Author: Rohinton Mistry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 323
Review Date: 12/24/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This book is well written and I stayed with it 'til the bitter end. I cared a great deal about the characters and was left with a feeling of despair when I finished this book. Definitely not a feel good book. It does however stay in-line with other Oprah Book Club selections that were depressing: Map of the World (which I loved but found depressing) and This Much Is True (Loved it!) So if you're looking for a good in-depth character driven story of life in India as well as a book full of anguish--this book is for you.


Foul Lines: A Pro Basketball Novel
Foul Lines: A Pro Basketball Novel
Author: Jack McCallum, L. Jon Wertheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/5/2008


This "fictional" sports novel is written by two seasoned sport journalists. It has a lot of characters that seem "oddly" familiar--LOL! And the main team sounds like a Fake version of the Lakers. It's a great read for basketball fans with just the right amount of humor.


The God of Animals
The God of Animals
Author: Aryn Kyle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 1/3/2009
Helpful Score: 2


An excellent story about a young girl coming of age and learning the hard truths of life. Secrets can be kept, but it doesn't change the circumstances surrounding them: kept or not, they still can inflict pain. Life is harsh, but it also holds beauty if we stop long enough to notice and embrace it. A very well written story full of truth. Beautiful, heart-breaking, and hopeful.


Hearts In Atlantis
Hearts In Atlantis
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 401
Review Date: 12/24/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book is different for Stephen King in that it has three very separate stories that have a common thread. I thoroughly enjoyed reading each story and found I couldn't put it down (again)--but the book as a whole is not one of his best. It's a good book if you want to escape--but it's not in his top ten. May I recommend my favorites? The Talisman (written with Peter Straub); The Stand; Salem's Lot; The Shining; and for great movies by him: The Green Mile; The Shawshank Redemption; and Stand By Me.


I Know This Much Is True
I Know This Much Is True
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 12/24/2007


I would definitely re-read this book! It was very insightful and well written. It was also full of despair. Definitely not a light read!


In the Absence of Angels: A Hollywood Family's Courageous Story
Review Date: 11/14/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is the tragic yet beautiful true-life story of the Glaser family. It broke my heart and at the same time inspired me to live life to its fullest. Here is a woman who had everything and then lost more than most of us could bear. In time she pushed forward and overcame her deep grief in order to save her son as well as help other families and children suffering with AIDS. As I read this I was struck by how much has changed since the beginning of this horrible epidemic--we're more informed and educated and hopefully we're getting closer to a cure.

A beautiful story that will break your heart and make you want to go out and change the world.


Indian Creek Chronicles : A Winter Alone in the Wilderness
Indian Creek Chronicles : A Winter Alone in the Wilderness
Author: Pete Fromm
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/1/2015


I absolutely loved this book! It involves a young college student who takes a job as a sort of junior forest ranger in charge of monitoring a stash of salmon eggs that the government is trying to reintroduce in a nearby river.

This is in the middle of nowhere. He will live in a tent that's large enough to contain all of his food and hunting supplies, a bed, his reference books, his dog and a wood stove that he will have to chop down trees to use as firewood. He will have to keep it going all winter so he doesn't freeze to death in the coming months of subzero temperatures.

He is left alone with his dog and a manual truck after being given a short driving lesson before the real rangers leave. Did I mention he's left with a chainsaw he's never operated before to chop up trees for said firewood, with borrowed guns (even though he's never hunted anything larger than a squirrel), and when the rangers tell him he needs several cords of wood to make it through the harsh winter, he asks them what a cord is.

So ensues the tale of a 19 year old boy becoming a man in the middle of the Idaho wilderness with absolutely no survival skills but a keen sense of humor. A true story that had me hooked after only a few paragraphs. A delightful read.


Island of the Blue Dolphins
Island of the Blue Dolphins
Author: Scott O'Dell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 706
Review Date: 10/28/2009


This is still one of my all time favorite books. I just re-read it for the first time in about 25 years. I first encountered this story when I was in 4th grade. It is easy to understand and very heart-felt. A classic. I would recommend it to any young reader (and even older readers). I remember crying the first time I read it. I didn't cry this time but it still touched me emotionally. Its a beautiful story. I found it fascinating to read up on the history/facts behind this story--made it all the more endearing. I highly recommend it!


The Last Child
The Last Child
Author: John Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 292
Review Date: 8/15/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This book is the best piece of fiction I've red in a very long time. It kept me hooked all the way through--not an easy task. It's well written, suspenseful and original. I totally enjoyed it and would recommend it to all!


The Last Lecture
The Last Lecture
Author: Randy Pausch, Jeffrey Zaslow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 595
Review Date: 8/26/2008
Helpful Score: 18


This book is a keeper! Sorry everyone, I'm hanging onto this one. I finished it in about two days, let my 17 year old son read it and he finished it in four--and he doesn't like to read much. The beauty of this book is it is not maudlin. It does not dwell on his diagnosis of pancreatic cancer or the death sentence that comes with it. Instead, he tells you what he did with his life and why he's happy he did it. He also tells us how to learn from our mistakes. One of my favorite quotes was "brick walls are not put in our path to stop us; brick walls are there to see how badly we want our goal." (Not a verbatim quote, but you get the gist.) I recommend everyone run out and buy this book and buy it for all your friends--it's that good.


The Last Season: A Team In Search of Its Soul
The Last Season: A Team In Search of Its Soul
Author: Phil Jackson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/14/2008
Helpful Score: 1


An excellent book if you're a fan of the Lakers (Can you say Soap Opera?) and the game of basketball. This book was written about the (2003/2004) Laker team with the four "future hall-of-famers" Gary Payton, Karl Malone, Shaquille O'Neal and Kobe Bryant. As it turned out it would be the last season of Karl Malone's career. It was the season Kobe Bryant, accused of raping a 19-year old Colorado woman, was flying back and forth between the basketball court and a court of law. Shaq and Kobe were openly feuding (no surprise there) and Derek Fisher was relegated to the bench--which allowed Payton to start. It's a team in turmoil from the first day of training camp. If you're a Kobe fan--you might find out a lot of things about the young star that reveal a narcisstic personality (his arrogance shines through in several places). Shaq has his moments of stubbornness and poor Karl and Gary are left wondering what the hell they've gotten themselves into. An excellent read for Phil Jackson fans--or fans of the fab four.

After this year, Karl retired (boo hoo!) Shaq left town for Miami :(, Gary Payton was traded (against his will), Derek Fisher left for a bigger and better contract with the GS Warriors, Rick Fox retired (after being traded to Boston) and Phil Jackson took time off for a year after not having his contract renewed (Jerry Buss came calling and crawling later)--leaving a rag tag group with only Kobe and Devean George left from the three time championship team--allowing Kobe to rule while fans of the team were left angry and bewildered with front office choices.

The paperback version toned down Phil's comments about Kobe. Or rather, seemed to apologize about how they came across. Of course the paperback came out at the time Phil was back at the Laker Helm coaching the man he had said was uncoachable (Kobe.)

Interesting insight into the inner workings of one of the NBA's most fascinating teams.


1 to 20 of 59 - Page: