Rachel A. (ra7) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 580 - Page:
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 544
Review Date: 8/10/2012


Wow, this was really good. Different to put down once I started, this book has just about everything. I like the hint of romance in future books. Look forward to more!


About That Night (FBI / U. S. Attorney, Bk 3)
About That Night (FBI / U. S. Attorney, Bk 3)
Author: Julie James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 6/9/2018


Much of Kyle's back story is discussed in the previous book (A Lot Like Love). Rylann was a new character. I missed having the suspense element in this one. Kyle was repentant for what he did, but being rich and having a very supportive family helped too. I admit to being unsure of their relationship: ex-con (yes for a non-violent and non-drug related offense) and an assistant DA. It only worked because Kyle made amends with Twitter (don't worry he got something from it, it wasn't him just being nice) and will not re-offend.
I did like the glimpses at Cameron and Jack; Jordan and Nick and seeing where they are at in their relationships.


Absolution (The Penton Legacy, Bk 2)
Absolution (The Penton Legacy, Bk 2)
Author: Susannah Sandlin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/8/2013


Good twists in this one. Who doesn't love a tortured hero? Mirren and Glory are awesome- I liked them both. Lots of death. (I read the ebook version of this book)


After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse
After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.1/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 11/16/2013


That's it? Overall disappointing.

Fans of the series might want to read this one (I am one, and to do over, I probably wouldn't have bothered with this one).


After Moonrise: Possessed / Haunted
After Moonrise: Possessed / Haunted
Author: P. C. Cast, Gena Showalter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/21/2014


Possessed 2*
Unsure about this one after reading synopsis. But hey, it's PC Cast! I usually like her stuff. yeah, not this one.
The interesting: a serial killer who feeds and drains souls
The not: the weird/freaky love triangle between Lauren, her dead twin Aubrey, and Kent. Yes, go there. Ick.

Haunted 3*
This one was better. It did take me awhile to warm up to Harper and Levi. Nice twists.


Afterburn / Aftershock (Aftershock, Bks 1-2)
Afterburn / Aftershock (Aftershock, Bks 1-2)
Author: Sylvia Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 12/30/2017


Jackson (Jax) and Gianna (Gia) dated each other a few years ago. Gia fell in love and Jax left. Without a word. Fast forward 2 years. Gia is well on her way to becoming a successful business woman. Jax is still Jax. Jax happens to be a Rutledge; a family famous for their business and political clout. This is why he broke it off with her; he had Reasons.
I was surprised I liked this as much as I did. While I didn't like Jax (surprise there) at the beginning, he grew on me and I liked him by the end of the book. Gia was awesome and I liked her. She didn't make it easy for Jax and I liked that. Gia's mentor, Lei was also likable and I could relate to her.
The Rossi's, Gianna's family, were fucking awesome! Her brothers love her and are supportive of her without being overprotective. The Rutledges are the complete opposite of the Rossi family.
I did think Jax's "Reasons" were lame; that is what COMMUNICATION is for.


Aftermath (Sirantha Jax, Bk 5)
Aftermath (Sirantha Jax, Bk 5)
Author: Ann Aguirre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 5/2/2016


Spoilers through book 4 (Killbox). You've been warned.
This was a tough read. I waited for a long time to start this one because of the cliffhanger ending in Killbox. I really didn't like that she didn't fully trust March to tell him what she was going to do. I want them together. I want Jax and March to have their HEA or HFN. Now, I'm not sure that's going to happen (WTF?!)
This book made me FEEL. Holy crap what a roller coaster of emotions. There's a lot going on. Jax's trial, making amends. One thing I liked was Vel and Jax's unique, different relationship with him. I learned more about Vel, he is an intriguing character. Then, one thing that irritated me was Jax's ability to blame herself for, it seemed, everything.
I didn't like that ending, but I understood it. I am looking forward to the final book, but I'd lying if I said I didn't have mixed feelings about it. I can honestly say I don't know what is going to happen.


All He Ever Needed (Kowalski Family, Bk 4)
All He Ever Needed (Kowalski Family, Bk 4)
Author: Shannon Stacey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 1/10/2014


Didn't like this one much at all. Plot=BORING. Boy likes girl. Girl likes boy. Girl resists. Girl gives in. The first 120ish pages are Mitch pursing Paige (despite her repeatedly saying no).

Mitch is a Man-Whore. It's brought up (over and over and over) that Mitch had a wild youth and slept with many of the (very small) town's women. Of course, no one was hurt/angry/annoyed with him for his love them and leave them attitude. Not one person. After the 100th time Mitch's wild past was brought up I was ready to throw this book across the room. Okay he has a vast number of notches on his bedpost. I. Get. It.

Mitch is also a Man-Child:

Mitch: "Nobody makes sandwiches like this anymore Rosie."

Rosie: "Just one of the reasons you need a wife. When you do find the right woman, bring her by and I'll teach her how to make fried bologna sandwiches the way you like them." Yep. Mitch is 37 years old and can't make his own damn sandwich. Nice.

"Rosie saw the dishes in the sink the second she stepped into her kitchen and shook her head....but it wasn't good that the corn flakes he'd left in the bowl had hardened into splotches of whole-grain concrete she'd had to chisel off the side of the bowl."

Mitch gets annoyed when Paige stops by the house (oh the nerve of that bitch!). "...a low buzz of annoyance hummed through him."

I didn't really get into their romance. At all. I didn't like Mitch and I wasn't cheering for them as a couple by the end of the book. Fail.

Maybe I'm sick of the Kowalski family? Ryan and Josh's stories are the next 2 books and I'm not sure I want to read them. Both are cardboard in this one (for me). We will see.


All I Want for Christmas is a Cowboy: The Christmas Cabin / Can't Wait / Baby It's Cold Outside
Review Date: 12/22/2014


The Christmas Cabin- 2*
Unremarkable for me.

Can't Wait- 2*
Gah! I really don't like this trope. Adult man and woman like each other, but resist the attraction. Why? Oh, 'cause it goes against the "bro code" to fall for your best friends sister. Whatever. It did get a little better once that obstacle was jumped over.

Baby It's Cold Outside-3*
Best one in this anthology. It was sweet and I really shouldn't say any more to not give anything away.


All Spell Breaks Loose (Raine Benares, Bk 6)
All Spell Breaks Loose (Raine Benares, Bk 6)
Author: Lisa Shearin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/27/2016


Lots going on in this one. Happy to say the arc with the Saghred comes to a conclusion. I really like the goblins and Tam has an interesting, supportive family.
If this was going to be it, good end. But book 7 (Wedding Bells, Magic Spells) is out today. On Kindle, it's 7.99 for 266 pages. Unless it goes down in price, this is the end of the series for me.


Allegiance Sworn (Light Blade, Bk 3)
Allegiance Sworn (Light Blade, Bk 3)
Author: Kylie Griffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/5/2015


I enjoyed the first book, the second one dragged a bit, but this one? From the get-go it held my attention with multiple things going on. I adored Imhara. She was smart, strong when she needed to be, and gave a little when she needed too. Arek was another strong, enjoyable character. I enjoyed seeing his transformation from angry and bitter to someone loving and trusting. Imhara and Arek's relationship is believable and very well done.
I liked several of the side characters and am curious if they will get their own stories too.



Of note- this is definitely NOT a trilogy even though there are only 3 published books. It looks like these 3 were the only contracted books with a publisher. Book 4 is currently being written and might be self-published; anyway, I signed up for the newsletter so I know when next book will be available. (And I suppose there's a chance it may never be)
Recommended for romantic fantasy fans.


Allegiance (The Penton Vampire Legacy)
Allegiance (The Penton Vampire Legacy)
Author: Susannah Sandlin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/14/2014


It's been more than a year since I read Omega (a series that I thought had ended). I found myself a bit lost with this one. I should have read Omega Force first (a separate, but not, series). I think (in part) that's why I didn't enjoy this as much.

I thought the romance was wishy-washy. It starts out appearing to be a Cage/Melissa pairing. Then she and Mark make-up and she disappears from the plot line. This just didn't do it for me. The first 3 books in this series were so much better.


Alliance Forged (Light Blade, Bk 2)
Alliance Forged (Light Blade, Bk 2)
Author: Kylie Griffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/12/2015


The biggest issue I had with this book was the pacing. The first half is slow and it was way too easy to get distracted and put it down. The last half was much better.
I was very frustrated with Varian and how long it took him to fully trust and accept Kymora. I do like the underlying story and will see where this goes in book 3, Allegiance Sworn.


Allison Hewitt Is Trapped  (Zombie, Bk 1)
Allison Hewitt Is Trapped (Zombie, Bk 1)
Author: Madeleine Roux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 7/19/2016


So, if I was trapped during a zombie apocalypse, a bookstore would be perfect! Allison and her co-workers are trapped, you guessed it, in a bookstore. Not for long, since supplies are low and they need to look for more.
I liked how this was told through blog posts and it mostly worked. I did expect more past tense writing, but it mainly was told through present tense. Everything is down; except for the SNet, the military's wireless network. So, she is able to post, and others are able to read it. The comments were interesting for the information it gave about things happening elsewhere.
I think I would have enjoyed this more if I liked Allison more. I didn't like how the group of women, when Allison and Ted got a safer zone, were portrayed. They were religious zealots bent on sabotaging anything their safer area. Not to mention, they were CRAZY. Allison didn't have any compassion or empathy for Lydia. Lydia's only "crime" was being married to a certain someone and not being dead.
Overall, not bad, not great. This was different.


Alpha One (Shadow Agents, Bk 1) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 1398) (Larger Print)
Alpha One (Shadow Agents, Bk 1) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 1398) (Larger Print)
Author: Cynthia Eden
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/11/2017


Juliana is a senator's daughter. Her dear old dad isn't a good person and has done things. Things of a criminal nature. Logan went into the military. His dad was a drunk driver who killed someone (and himself).
This had good suspense, with some TSTL moments, but nothing bad. I liked finding out what Julie and Logan's history was. Logan does get overbearing at times, but Julie holds her own.


Always on My Mind (Lucky Harbor, Bk 8)
Always on My Mind (Lucky Harbor, Bk 8)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 5/14/2017


Leah and Jack, best friends since childhood, both are interested in more. Both have hangups from childhood. Leah much more so than Jack. Suffice to say, her father was a major asshole. Jack's mother was in treatment for cancer, so to help her feel better, Leah told a little fib. What ensues next is a nice friends to lovers story.
I liked seeing some secondary characters. Lucille and the Seniors are a hoot. Secondary storyline about an arsonist added (very) minor suspense to the story.
Ben's story is next and he is funny in this one.


The Amorous Education of Celia Seaton (Burgundy Club, Bk 3)
The Amorous Education of Celia Seaton (Burgundy Club, Bk 3)
Author: Miranda Neville
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 11/5/2017


I enjoyed the opening. Celia was being kidnapped and stripped of her clothes. When the kidnapped leaves, she takes initiative and escapes, stumbling over Tarquin. It turns out, the hit on his head gives him amnesia. In the past, he had made a comment about Celia that, in turn, ruined her marriage prospects. So, to get back at him, Celia makes up a story and an identity for him.
I did find it hard to believe that Tarquin, with no title, had the influence he did. Seriously, *one* comment, and everything is ruined?!
I enjoyed the first part of the book (act 1). The road trip (for lack of a better word) across the countryside, their banter and interactions, the who/why was Celia kidnapped, their survival in the wilderness. This was the best part of the book.
Then (act 2), Tarquin remembers who he is. They go to a friend's house. I lost some interest at this point.
I was surprised at how much I liked Tarquin. (Since he is/was an arrogant bastard). Since this isn't a book that would have jumped out at me, I'm glad I read this.


Angel Betrayed (Fallen, Bk 2)
Angel Betrayed (Fallen, Bk 2)
Author: Cynthia Eden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 2/1/2018


I remember being intrigued and curious about Sammael, AKA Sam, from the first book, Angel of Darkness. Like the first, neither character is very good or bad. Shades of gray this very much is. It seemed, at least for awhile, the one that was truly evil was consistently overlooked and allowed to go on and on.
I liked the twists and turns. Both characters I liked and had depth. Seline was a personal favorite. She started out ignorant, having not known she was being lied to, disliking herself. She comes full circle and I liked her growth throughout the book. Sam, what can I say? He was likable as well and he meet his match with Seline.
Az's book is next and I look forward to his as well.


Angel in Chains (Fallen, Bk 3)
Angel in Chains (Fallen, Bk 3)
Author: Cynthia Eden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 4/21/2018


After the last book, I really was looking forward to Az's story. Was disappointed in this one. In the first book of the series, Az is the angel in charge, with power and in the second he fell and was confused (confusion happens when an angel falls). In this one, with his memory restored, he is pissed and all about what he can do to get his wings back.
Brandt was the typical alpha-hole of many a paranormal; except in this one he wasn't the "hero," but the villain (and he's is considerably more violent. I was mainly referring to the "it doesn't matter what you want, you're MINE!" phenomena of some other paranormal books). Don't worry, he gets what's coming to him. At first, Az and Jade's relationship is about using the other. It develops into something more.
I can't put my finger on what my issue was with this book, except I just wasn't feeling it. I did enjoy the first 2 books. Something that came out of this one: maybe falling isn't a punishment, but a new opportunity.


Angel of Darkness (Fallen, Bk 1)
Angel of Darkness (Fallen, Bk 1)
Author: Cynthia Eden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 9/24/2016


Nicole was bitten one night while on her way to church to pray. She faught back. Keenan is an angel of death. One touch and that's all that is needed. Instead of touching Nicole and taking her life, Keenan instead kills the vampire who was attacking her. Unknown to both, Nicole accidentally ingests vampire blood while fighting for her life. Keenan loses his wings and falls. He wonders about Nicole and finds her 6 months later.
This ties into this author's "Night Watch" series. It is the same world (but different characters and "The Fallen" stands alone). There is a lot of action. Both human and supernaturals are after Nicole. I liked that she was able to safe herself numerous times. I liked the romance. This was nice, in that both characters weren't completely good, they were more gray.
The main character in the next book, Sam, I would label as bad in this one. I'm looking forward to his story. He has something that motivates him and I want to find out what!


1 to 20 of 580 - Page: