Kirk Winkelmeyer (mugman) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 42 - Page:
100 Christian Books That Changed the Century
100 Christian Books That Changed the Century
Author: William J. Petersen, Randy Petersen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/4/2015


This book was both helpful and useful. Seeking a deeper walk with God, this book pointed out some publications that I had not heard about. Many of these book have now been ordered and now available for me to read and broaden my understanding of what God is doing on earth. This allows me to expand my knowledge of Him, His workings, and raise my expectations of ways that I can expect to be able to walk with Him.
There sure are some sleeper subjects and information that enriches this walk.


23 Minutes in Hell
23 Minutes in Hell
Author: Bill Weise
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 4/3/2010


In this day and age when absolute values are being superseded by relativistic values for each person by what they like and want, it is sobering to know that God still is God and wants us to know of spiritual realities. Hell is no longer discussed from the pulpit or in most of the mainline churches, but its reality is nevertheless undiminished.

Take the trip with Bill Weise and embrace the wake up call to what awaits us when we do not take seriously that which is given to us in the Creators handbook, the bible. It is an act of love to let ourselves and friends and neighbors know what awaits them for eternity if they do not develop that personal relationship necessary to have their name entered into the Book of Life.

Read, take seriously, and act upon the knowledge that is to be gained and understood from the message herein. The options of turning away from the message and the Sender are very sobering.


Absolute Surrender
Absolute Surrender
Author: Andrew Murray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/21/2014


God's plan for His creation is far beyond what the vast majority of us can begin to comprehend. When He made man, He had great plans for those who would accept His love for them. God's love for us is great enough to give up His own Son to pay for all of our sins as well as take on all o four infirmities and hurts.
As each person seeks God with a hunger for righteousness, the sky is the limit. Abraham shows us just how far we can go. Jesus again show us how much can be done in and through every person that will yield up their lives to this incredibly love Creator.
He loved enough to give us His very most loved Son for us. Once our eyes are opened enough to see and receive this love, the things of the world are seen for the transitory nature that they truly are. And our hearts cry out for more of Him and His eternal love. It is at this point that it is time to read this book. It is a portal into a understanding that makes giving ourselves fully to Him to be in a depth of fellowship with Him that we should hear His voice, experience this phenomenal love and even have our hearts beat in unison with His.
Being with Him at most levels eclipses all that is offered by the world, and allows us the ability to quietly grow to a point of being able to operate in the "now" in the heavenly realm at the same level as Jesus did, and promised that we could indeed do all that He did and even more.
this book is the key that helps us open the door to this eternal Kingdom that yields an eternal relationship with the Godhead that can deeply transform us as well as many others who will then be able to see the fruit of a life lived at this depth.
Truly our kernel of corn will have dropped into the ground to die and life beyond our comprehension emerges as a result. While it will take awhile for most of us to reach the point that we can absorb the implications of this book, it is worth having it in our home for the day that the hunger for more of Him and His love will tug at our hearts to at last give up all to be in fellowship with Him in our entirety. He still lives and will reign eternally as a result of giving His life on the cross. We are called to do the same and deeply walk with Him that the Father might do so many similar things through our lives. Our life will prove to be such a very little thing to give for all that we will receive.


The Art of Living Well: A Biblical Approach from Proverbs (Guide Book Series (Colorado Springs, Colo.).)
Review Date: 10/19/2010


When ranking this book with the star system, I am well aware that the rating has little to do with the book as much as it does with my learning style. Reader please note this fact.

The authors have done an excellent job of organizing and structuring this book to cover solid ground and impart the essence of what the Book of Proverbs intends to impart. Had I been in a class with a leader pointing out the methods of teaching employed and walked me through the multiple layers of digging out the truths, it may have been a better experience. As it is now, there is too much jumping between one thing to another which distracts and takes me away from where they are leading and I would like to go.

Chalk up the results to me, not the book.


Battle for Africa
Battle for Africa
Author: Brother Andrew, Charles Paul Conn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/23/2012


Behind the scene, in the spiritual dimension, there is a massive battle going on between good and evil, satan, and Jesus, for the hearts and minds of all mankind. If you read your bible, you already know the outcome.
Getting an insight on how it is playing out is fascinating and Brother Andrew is one of the key players and has given us insight in how God uses him starting with his book, God's Smuggler.
This book is the Africa chapter and peels back the curtain to let us see the life and death struggle in bringing the light of God's word, the bible, to the dark continent, and the great changes it is making. Here evil is death incarnate and the light of God overcomes, it does take the actions of many, being filled with the Holy Spirit and led into action to get more bibles into the hands of believers, to achieve these ends.
The weapons of the Spirit are love, praise, humility, peace, joy, and forgiveness. The evil one has no real way to understand these weapons nor to overcome them and Brother Andrew and the many people who live a very dangerous life for their faith walk a dangerously thin line in keeping the light from being extinguished from a determined enemy.
It is action filled, and faith building. The book will pull you through itself quickly. Enough so, that you will want to start gathering all of the Brother
Andrew books to be assured that you are loving and serving a living God with a purpose and grand scheme plan.
If you have not done so, get started on reading all of his books, they have eternal value and insight for your own life as well.


Beyond and Back: Those Who Died and Lived to Tell It
Beyond and Back: Those Who Died and Lived to Tell It
Author: Ralph Wilkerson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/6/2013


Having read several books about Near Death Experiences I was expecting another one with different stories. the author actually traveled around the world to personally interview the people involved for each story he shared. This weaned out those stories that were not very credible. Rather than a lot of details about heaven, (or hell), the author dealt with the issue of death itself.
Those who had the experiences all seemed to have lost all fear of death and upon their return were indeed changed people who lived out joyous and productive lives.
For all the people interviewed life continued as they went through the transition from the worldly realm to the heavenly realm, and then back to the worldly realm again. Their spirit continued without a break. But their values and pursuits changed radically.
I found that it sure exposed the world for the deception of values that it is. These were replaced with God's values and a much more true lifestyle that will assure us of spending eternity with Him rather than the alternative.
For each of us the stakes are incredibly high and far too many people are living a religious lifestyle, but not a relational life style with the Creator Himself. Ralph Wilkerson explores the histories of people with these experiences for the first half of the books and then deals with the subject of death, pro and con, in the second half leaving the reader with a much greater understanding of the whole subject.
As I finished this particular book, I would submit it to anyone reading this review, that it would be foolish NOT to read this book and garner from it all they can. Then start making some value changes in your own life immediately while the time may be available. Not all who die get the chance to come back and try again, so read this now and start trying to understand the depth of the impact that your decision will have about having a real relationship with the Living God or suffering the consequences. You really do have the opportunity to gain everything or lose it.
All in all an unusual approach to this more important of all of life's decisions.


Binding the Strongman Over America - Healing the Land, Transferring Wealth, and Advancing the Kingdom of God
Review Date: 11/15/2015


While I would call this an advanced book in spiritual warfare, it is an eye opener. How often do many of us spend time praying for renewal and revival? Praying for our home, our church, our city, state and country? All to often it seems that we do so without results. But we never get to know or understand why this is the case.
The author opens the spiritual door so that we can see from various aspects why this may be the case.
While the book setting is in Oklahoma, the principles are true for all of us.........anywhere in the world. The Holy Spirit is indeed calling God's people to stand up, step out and start taking control again of our home, city, state, and church. And spells out how he has been doing so as well as giving the results. This is one of the most exciting and attention riveting books I have read. It is non-fiction that is more exciting than most fiction. And all of it is a layout of how any of us can reclaim our land for the Lord and our home, family friends and brethren.
It is for the mature in the Spirit and for those who have prayer time active in their own lives.


Boundaries: When to say Yes, When to Say No, To Take Control of Your Life (Inspirio/Zondervan Miniature Editions)
Review Date: 4/3/2010


How easy it is to continually find ourselves being abused, taken advantage of, and not respected. For lack of teaching so many of us know little about how to set boundaries around our lives and still be loving to those with whom we interact. Rather than chase them away, it actually creates more respect from them for us.

This book goes a long way towards letting us gain a level of control over our lives, time, schedules and resources. Those to whom I have recommended it and have read it, come back excited about the freedom that are starting to enjoy.

This is one book that is a must-have for all of our libraries.


Common Ground: An Introduction to Eastern Christianity
Common Ground: An Introduction to Eastern Christianity
Author: Jordan Bajis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/11/2009


For over four hundred years the Orthodox Church was the church of Christianity. This excellent book accurately spells out the differences between the Christian experience in the early church and Christianity in the Western world. It successfully points us back to the basics that made that early church so powerful. In the process I found that my understanding of the faith as something primarily between God and me was very skewed. Having come to understand how the early Christians lived out the faith in covenant community rather than as individuals has redirected my life,and made the bible much more understandable. As a result, I have a much deeper walk with God than I would ever have considered possible. While it may be a primer for those well steeped in the Orthodox tradition, it was a book that took several readings simply because our Western culture is not inherently communal as was the Biblical culture in which Christianity flourished. Anyone who seriously wants to grow in their Christian walk would find this a fount of knowledge and information that can seriously open one's eyes as to just how much more is available to them than most Christians presently experience.


Common Ground: An Introduction to Eastern Christianity for the American Christian
Review Date: 12/11/2009


For over four hundred years the Orthodox Church was the church of Christianity. This excellent book accurately spells out the differences between the Christian experience in the early church and Christianity in the Western world. It successfully points us back to the basics that made that early church so powerful. In the process I found that my understanding of the faith as something primarily between God and me was very skewed. Having come to understand how the early Christians lived out the faith in covenant community rather than as individuals has redirected my life,and made the bible much more understandable. As a result, I have a much deeper walk with God than I would ever have considered possible. While it may be a primer for those well steeped in the Orthodox tradition, it was a book that took several readings simply because our Western culture is not inherently communal as was the Biblical culture in which Christianity flourished. Anyone who seriously wants to grow in their Christian walk would find this a fount of knowledge and information that can seriously open one's eyes as to just how much more is available to them than most Christians presently experience.


David Livingstone (Heroes of the Faith)
David Livingstone (Heroes of the Faith)
Author: Sam Wellman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/26/2011


As a Christian, this book is really excellent. What a man of god David Livingston was. His tenacity in taking the gospel to Africa along with his medical expertise and precision in noting geography, geology, flora, fauna, etc., set the standard for opening up a continent.
Hid fight against the slave trade and desire to bring not only the good news to Africa, but more productive ways to earn a living so that many of the inter tribal battles would cease.
One of the most inspiring books I have read in some time, well worth anyone's time to learn about this remarkable man.


Divine Energy: The Orthodox Path to Christian Victory
Divine Energy: The Orthodox Path to Christian Victory
Author: Jon E. Braun
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/23/2014


the author does a wonderful job until he come to the Holy Spirit. His conclusions ignore so many other scriptures that it is better if it has not been included. For those of us that have found great inroads to our faith in the Charismatic movement, it is quickly obvious that he has little idea of what is going on in these arenas. Everything that God offers that is good and beautiful are copied and made ugly by the adversary. rightly discerned the power of the Holy Spirit was used mightily by the the early Apostles and continue to be today by those who are open and receptive to the gifts of the Holy Spirit. Having walked in the gift of Gods healing gift, I have seen many lives healed and changed.
If you can read the first 6-7 chapters knowing that you would be far better off exploring others take on the Baptism of the Holy Spirit, then you have a good read. This version takes a person into religion and away from a rich walk with God through the presence of the Holy Spirit as Jesus intended.

His concentration on "energy" is a sure sign of this being a "New Age" that is good to stay away from.


Divine Healing
Divine Healing
Author: J. Nelson Parr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/21/2015


The author or this book wrote a small, yet serious set of chapters, annotated with the appropriate scriptures about healing, and its application and appropriate today. This was time well spent to read it and because of this is now a part of my own permanent library. It is a somewhat easy read, but meaty in context.


The Doctorine of The Bible
The Doctorine of The Bible
Author: David S. Dockery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/16/2018


Please correct the spelling in the title. the word is DOCTRINE


5-16-2018 Still not corrected. Is creating confusion.


Dr. Spock's Baby and Child Care : 8th Edition
Dr. Spock's Baby and Child Care : 8th Edition
Author: Benjamin Spock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/14/2016


Let me urge caution on the use of the advise within this book. My mother used this as a guide when I was a baby (now 77). There have been some unpleasant and difficult repercussions in my life from her having done so. Later in life, Dr. Spock leaned the same and recanted some of this content.

There are other books in the market that will serve you much better. This review being submitted in the hopes that other families and children can avoid what I sent through.


Face Up With a Miracle
Face Up With a Miracle
Author: Donald Basham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/23/2010


In the late 1960's life was dragging along with many problems and frustrations. This book entered our lives and we have never been the same since then. He skillfully shows how real the spiritual plane of life is and then step by step shows us how to enter into the heavenly places where God reigns. The subject is one that is a stumbling block for many, "speaking in tongues".

As we followed his directions the instructions were indeed accurate and a prayer language was received. That was 40 years ago and that event activated a spiritual walk that introduced us to a personally caring and sharing god. After living and operating on both planes for these 4 decades, we attest to the accurate portrayal of God's Holy Spirit by the author.

for those seeking some experience of a vibrant spiritual life that puts virtually of the lives events into perspective, this is one of the first books, (after the bible) that we hand to them. Enter into the book with an expectant, hungry and open heart and exit with your new language and finding yourself on the path to heaven itself as you bring both heaven and earth together for yourself and those you encounter in your path of life.


Face Up With A Miracle
Face Up With A Miracle
Author: Don Basham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/24/2010


this book was written in the early 1970's during a major wave of the Holy Spirit as it swept across the USA. An excellent book for those who are looking for a source that will reveal to them true spiritual reality and take them into the presence of the Living God.

Well presented, the reader is gently taken by the hand and led chapter by chapter to a near the end chapter where actual steps to the infilling of God's Holy Spirit our outlined. Following these steps has opened the door to the experience of the Holy Spirit for thousands across our land, and whose lives have forever been changed.

One of the truly classical books for spiritual enlightenment.


Foxe's Book of Martyrs
Foxe's Book of Martyrs
Author: John Foxe, W. Grinton Berry (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/31/2010


The book is well written as it goes from the synopsis of one life story to another. These are stories of men and women of mature Christian faith who are willing to give their lives as Jesus did His for the sake of that faith for which so much was paid.

My own walk was humbled and I was called on to reach out further and deeper to grow in the relationship with the Father that Jesus so accurately mirrored. Growing up as a Christian in the west, there have been few challenges to face in order to exercise my faith. Because of the inquisition and its atrocities, the men and women of that day faced death in so many ways by not giving loyalty to the Catholic Church in spite of the allegiance to the Lord and faithfulness in serving.

After reading this book my own desire to grow into a knowledge of the Father and Son with the help of the Holy Spirit has been kindled and is drawing me to seek, know, relate and be committed to Them in a much more serious manner.

I was blessed, encouraged and strengthened by the reading of this book. May God grant me the grace to grow even 50% as deep in my walk with Him as this men and women were.


The gentle breeze of Jesus
The gentle breeze of Jesus
Author: Mel Tari
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/11/2014


While there are aspects of the original book Like a Mighty Wind, this is a weak sister. A great deal of the book veers off to stories in the bible recounted in multiple page detail, although wonderful recounting. It is stated that the revival continues today as it did in the late 60's and early 70's, but there were repeats of what happened in the first book. The beautiful part is that the spirit of the original revival seems to be alive and active, it is now a much more mature activity which is encouraging. This book has been brought out as an evangelism tool, which is wonderful if you know what you are encountering. This would be a wonderful book to give to newer Christians that have not read Like a Mighty Wind.


God's Secret Agent: An Autobiography
God's Secret Agent: An Autobiography
Author: Sammy Tippit, Jerry B. Jenkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/22/2015


Having developed a hunger to go deeper with God, Sammy's story is like a light on a somewhat moonless night that helps me with knowing more about how God seems to work.

The patterns in his life are so very similar to the patterns in the lives of the great men and women of God as God shapes and molds them to prepare them to step out at ever greater heights in His service.

Bit by bit, level by level the people that are necessary to help Sammy to know and experience God at ever deeper levels are brought into his live. The times of difficult and testing are also there through which Sammy grows in trust while being brought to death of his fears, and insecurities, only to have them replaced with a sureness that was experienced by the early apostles after Pentecost.

From tiny beginnings, his life is transformed and anointed to step into ever greater arenas of authority and geographical coverage that allows God to bring His love to huge numbers of peoples often is some of the most oppressive areas of the European, Asian and African world. Likened to the Billy Graham of the rest of the world, his ability to trust God in sometimes harrowing experiences, occasionally at full risk of his life and very narrow escapes, there develops a Paul-like trust and obedience that will draw the reader through the book rather quickly.

There are so many of us that can be brought to similar experiences if we but open ourselves to an incredibly loving and personal God who hungers to introduce His love to a hurting and hungry world. Letting the Spirit guide you as you read this book, your expectations can be shaped and you prepared for the most exciting days of your live.


1 to 20 of 42 - Page: