Krista T. (ktudor) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 34 - Page:
Alice's Tulips
Alice's Tulips
Author: Sandra Dallas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 10/9/2010


This book is written in the form of letters (from Alice to her sister). The way it's written almost makes it seem like you're going through someone's box of history. I like that it gives you an indepth look into Alice's personality. That would be tough to be left with a mother in law who doesn't like you much!


Candle in the Darkness/Fire by Night/A Light to My Path (Refiner's Fire Series 1-3)
Review Date: 2/2/2016


Really enjoyed the three different stories and their perspectives of the same timeframe.


The Clovis Incident (Sasha Solomon, Bk 1)
The Clovis Incident (Sasha Solomon, Bk 1)
Author: Pari Noskin Taichert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is a fun read. Sasha is a quirky, busy-body charachter whose cat talks to her. I think I'm going to check out the next in the series.


The Color of Light
The Color of Light
Author: Karen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 3/29/2011


I enjoyed this read. I enjoyed Jillian's journey of being a scared newly divorced mother to a woman of confidence. The description in the book is very good - I can imagine myself at Jillian's house and out on the beach. There is a lot of symbolism and foreshadowing in the book but a good twist at the end that I wasn't expecting.
It's a quick read - you'll enjoy it!


The Day the Falls Stood Still
The Day the Falls Stood Still
Author: Cathy Marie Buchanan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 1/24/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I was taken in by this book. I love the time period during which the book was written. I enjoyed learning some history about Niagra Falls but the story also explores deeper issues about love, life and belief in God. It's a fairly quick read and I was left wanting to read more and maybe to have had the characters more fully developed. Tom is a fictional character based from a real riverman. I think I will definately search out more about Niagra Falls. You will enjoy this book.


Deadly Night (Flynn Brothers, Bk 1)
Deadly Night (Flynn Brothers, Bk 1)
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 325
Review Date: 5/4/2011


Enjoyable read! I loved Heather Graham's description of New Orleans; it makes me want to go down to Bourbon Street and hang out. I enjoyed the folklore of southern history that flavored the book.

Starting out with a flashback to the Civil War, Heather quickly draws you in and the story takes off. Its a good who done it with several characters that make you wonder if it could be them. I like that about Heathers style, she will keep you guessing who it is till the end - but you are introduced to the killer and will know who he or she is.


The Dive from Clausen's Pier
The Dive from Clausen's Pier
Author: Ann Packer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 507
Review Date: 5/31/2011


After finishing this book I cannot decide if I really liked the story or really hated it. The story had so much guilt threaded through the story. Carrie's character I felt was rather a weak person but then again, what decisions would I make if I were in her shoes. What is more important and what would you choose; the love you grew up with and were growning out of when crisis strikes or a new, exciting love with passion?


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3405
Review Date: 5/22/2011


This story will stay with me for quite some time. It is the story of Jeannette Walls growing up. It was almost shocking to me reading about the poverty and conditions that they lived. I am so proud of the kids for facing such conditions yet going on to achieve good things.


Gods in Alabama
Gods in Alabama
Author: Joshilyn Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 315
Review Date: 8/22/2010


I enjoyed this book. I did not relate to any of the characters but it gave thought about relationships in my life. It has a good twist that was unexpected.


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Author: Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1400
Review Date: 4/30/2010
Helpful Score: 1


My mother recommended this book. What a TREAT!!!!! I love books and so it was wonderful to become engrossed in a story where the characters also hold the love of books.

The story is written in the form of letters and takes place just after WWII. The description is so well done you can imagine yourself there on Guernsey island. The speech patterns an dialog match the place and time.

It's a quick read but a story you will remember for a long time.


How to Bake a Perfect Life
How to Bake a Perfect Life
Author: Barbara O'Neal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 9/10/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book. It was a smart, refreshing story. I enjoyed the detail in the character development, the foreshadowing and inuendos of the plot. All very good! I want to live by Ramona's bakery so I can wander the streets of her town and walk to her bakery and get fresh, yummy bread! I wanted the story to continue and was relunctant to finish the book - I started reading slower as I got toward the end.... Merlin the dog really adds to the quality of the story!


Island of Saints : A Story of the One Principle That Frees the Human Spirit
Review Date: 8/2/2009


This was a very memorable story. It was a quick read. It makes you feel good about the world.


Jubilee Trail
Jubilee Trail
Author: Gwen Bristow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 4/30/2010
Helpful Score: 3


When I started reading this book I did not realize that the 2006 publication was just a reprint and it was originally written in 1950. There seemed an innocence in the writing of a time gone by, which made the book even better as a period piece.

I thought the book started out slow. I actually put it down for a couple months and came back to it. As the group left Santa Fe and hit the trail for California is when I got hooked. The description of the land, scenery and people was very detailed. I learned things about early California history I had no idea. Knowing what LA is like today, I was enthralled reading about the dirty, smelly town back in the early 1840s! Dont let the length of the book daunt you I didnt want the story to end.


The Last Runaway
The Last Runaway
Author: Tracy Chevalier
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 7/13/2016


This book was very interesting. I really liked the historical aspect of it. The author did a good job telling the story. I did not like the main character, Honor. I liked that she was anti-slavery but that was the only thing I liked about her.


The Lucky Hat Mine
The Lucky Hat Mine
Author: J.v.L. Bell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/8/2018


This book was a fun read. There are times the writing was frantic which was helpful in setting the scene/backdrop and pace the author was trying to convey. I enjoyed the historical aspect of the story - a nice peek into how Colorado used to be. I look forward to reading more from this author.


Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, Bk 1)
Review Date: 11/8/2011


I'm undecided about this book. It is the most unique story I've ever read and for that it gets higher marks. This isn't the type of book I normally read and the first time I've ever read about loops and time travel. I did enjoy the pictures in the book. I think they added to the overall intrigue of the story.

I thought the story started out slow so if you think that too, keep reading. The end of the story left quite a few questions for me. Hmmmmm..... Interesting!


The Mountain Between Us
The Mountain Between Us
Author: Charles Martin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 6/22/2011
Helpful Score: 5


This is the first book I've read by Charles Martin. I really enjoyed it. I started reading it as I was at the airport waiting for a plane that was having mechanical issues. The story sucked me in quickly and I couldn't put it down. What a story of survival!! The description was so good I found myself cringing at times like I was there with the characters. I liked the flow of the story, just when they were getting ahead, a set back... GOOD twist at the end.
The story will stick with me for awhile to come and I plan to read other books by Mr. Martin.


The Opposite of Me
The Opposite of Me
Author: Sarah Pekkanen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 2/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I couldn't put this book down. What a fun read! I enjoyed the humor. The book starts out with a frantic Lindsey getting ready for her big presentation. The author does a fantastic job of conveying the hectic and stressful lifestyle Lindsey lives. I enjoyed Lindsey's journey of self discovery and relationship development. Definately read it!!


The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake
The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake
Author: Aimee Bender
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 1/16/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is the most unique story I've read in long time. It made me feel sad to read it. The author does a good job of intertwining the sadness through the story.


Prayers for Sale
Prayers for Sale
Author: Sandra Dallas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 8/22/2010
Helpful Score: 3


Well written. I liked how the the story was told in a series of stories. I enjoyed the scenery Sandra displays in her writing. I did not want the book to come to an end.


1 to 20 of 34 - Page: