Jay N. (ajdowning) - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
Bringing Down the House: The Inside Story of Six MIT Students Who Took Vegas for Millions
Review Date: 5/22/2017


I couldn't put down Bringing Down The House. As the casinos begun to increase their security, I had to find out what happened to the card counters in the end. This book is nonfiction but it has the pace of a thrilling novel. I like how the past and present are separated into different parts. I wanted to find out about the present but only could find out by reading the past sections or reading further into the book.


Call Me Ted
Call Me Ted
Author: Bill Burke, Ted Turner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/21/2016


This is one of the detailed autobiographies I've ever read. I was amazed about how good of a memory Ted has to write such a big book. The story covers the time period from the 1930s to 2008, which I think any fan of history will appreciate.

As a member of the Y generation, I loved reading about the way he created many of channels I grew up enjoying like Cartoon Network and TNT. He also mentions how some other channels that were created like ESPN and CNBC.


Graphing Calculator Manual for the TI-83 Plus, TI-84 Plus, TI-89, and TI-Nspire for the Triola Statistics Series
Review Date: 3/11/2016


This manual is by the same author that wrote Elementary Statistics. Elementary Statistics is a textbook that some college students are assigned in statistics classes in college. This manual shows students how to use a graphing calculator.

In statistics class you plot bar graphs to show the patterns your statistics are following. For example, this book shows how to record your x and y points on a calculator. Then from the calculator you apply the points a graph to show a curve in your stats through a graph.

I would recommend this book for anyone wanting to figure out how to use a graphing calculator. Or if your in a college math class you can use this book for it as well.


The Home Depot: Building Platforms for Growth
Review Date: 7/13/2016


This Hope Depot book comes with the College Accounting 8th edition textbook. College Accounting is assigned to students at introductory college accounting classes. One of the first things you learn to do in accounting is to audit a company.

Usually the auditing exercise is separate from the work you do in the text book. But you apply what you learned like making tables for assets, owners equity, and expense accounts.

I think Hope Depot: Building Platforms for Growth is good because it gives you some information about the history of the company. Also it includes some nice photographs of some stores in other countries and philanthropic projects like building playgrounds. It also includes some messages from Hope Depot management.

Overall if you want to work on your accounting, then this book will be helpful guide because it's an annual report of a company. So it will be good practice if you because an accountant. Or maybe it might help you keep track of your spending's records and learning how to manage your own assets.


How to Train Your Dragon (Hiccup, Book 1)
How to Train Your Dragon (Hiccup, Book 1)
Author: Cressida Cowell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 11/15/2017


I didn't realize how much different the book is compared to the movie. The book is easy for me to read since it's a kids book. Cowell's artwork is funny because it's got the juvenile vandalism style kids do to their books. It was nice there were illustrations. There were also statistics on the dragons. That was my favorite part of the book since I play a lot of role playing games and and it seems perfect to have since many children grow up playing games. The Viking content is awesome and would be a great introduction to Viking culture to people without the archaic words that make reading regular Middle Age books difficult.


The Jeopardy! Book: The Answers, the Questions, the Facts, and the Stories of the Greatest Game Show in History
Review Date: 10/27/2017


The Jeopardy! Book is the best game show book I've read.I don't like how a lot of other game show books are just games to play with other people but the Jeopardy! book has cool information in addition to having games inside the book. For example I didn't know about Alex Trebek's hat collection until I read this book or the historic site Jeopardy! is taped on. What I liked most was the book was evenly divided into information about Jeopardy! then it would break into Jeopardy! game boards so I kept the book exiting for me. In addition if you even hope to try out for Jeopardy! there is information on what goes on in the contestant search and what to expect if you make it to the taping studio. Every game show fan needs to read this book. My only complaint is the game boards in the book don't have the Daily Doubles.Also even though I'm not a senior I wish there were some Senior Tournament game boards. Another complaint I have is it doesn't show Trebek's hat collection (there is not even a photo of him wearing a hat).


Mastering PAC-MAN
Mastering PAC-MAN
Author: Ken Uston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/8/2017


What I like about this book is it studies Pac-Man like card counting. I've read a couple of books on card counting and this book looks at the way it's programed like blackjack in order to beat the game. For example, there are maps the show which way the ghosts go so you know which routes to take in the game. It also tells you when to eat items in order to get a bigger score. This book explains everything so you know how to use the techniques.

There is also some cool information on the game. I wouldn't recommend if you don't want to have the game spoiled because there are some spoilers in here. I enjoyed reading the stories Ken used about himself and some other Pac-Man players he knows. Although I do wish stores were longer. I think any gamer will enjoy this book.


Mentally Incontinent: That Time I Burned Down a Hooters, That Time My Stalker Crashed on My Couch, and Nine Other Stories from My Weird Life
Review Date: 6/8/2017
Helpful Score: 1


Joe Peacocks stories are a light and funny read. I loved all the stories because they almost all take place in the 1990s. I enjoyed hearing funny stories that involves some things from my child hood like Super Mario World and Super Nintendo and some things I didn't know about like the phone line that you call to order music off of. I never thought is was possible for someone to have that many bad birthdays. It was scary to read about the weapons in a couple of stories. If you love reading the stories magazines print from the mail they get, you'll love this book.


The Path to Power
The Path to Power
Author: Margaret Thatcher
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/27/2017


I like how the book is chronological like a history textbook and it's filled with pictures and she refers to a lot of books.


Readers Digest 1993 Volume 1
Review Date: 9/11/2016


All four of these books are pretty good. Every Living Thing is an autobiography of a animal doctor in Britain during the 1950s. It involved James Herriot going around England helping animals. I couldn't put this book down and if your an animal lover you'll feel the same way.

All Around The Town is a psychological thriller. I liked the book since it involves a college English teacher and it's a little disturbing since its about a girl who is kidnapped and raped at a young age.

Besides Every Living Thing, Colony is my favorite book out of here. It's the longest story and almost covers someone entire lifetime living in Maine. I learned some things about New England life like what ospreys and saltboxes are.

The last book is about a lawyer in Michigan working on a case and discovers a scam among the judges looking over his case. I liked learning about how lawyers work on cases since I don't know any lawyers personally.


Stuff White People Like: The Definitive Guide to the Unique Taste of Millions
Review Date: 6/25/2016


I found out about this book when I saw an interview with the author on Internet Superstar. Christian Lander said something interesting on the interview the you don't necessary have to be white to be apart of white culture. For example, he said he had a Filipino friend who was even more whiter than him. So I decided to check the book out after I saw the interview.

Probably the funniest part of the book are the entries about white people love getting liberal arts degrees and not being able to make enough money to support themselves unless they became college professors or lawyers. Since I myself am white and I gradated college with a liberal arts degree and currently live with my parents. This book helped me give me some ideas about what I want to do for a career. Who knows maybe I'll run a non for profit organization someday :)

Stuff White People is definitely recommended read for anyone looking to understanding white culture and getting a couple of laughs at the same time.


Uncle Tom's Cabin (Signet Classics)
Uncle Tom's Cabin (Signet Classics)
Author: Harriet Beecher Stowe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/29/2016


This book is a classic in American literature and history. I learned a lot about system of slavery in the 19th century as well as the horrors of it.


Who Wants to Be A Millionaire: The Official Books From the Hit TV Show
Review Date: 6/9/2016


This book is mostly a game book for you to play Who Wants to be a Millionaire with your family or friends.
Although there is some interesting information about the show like how it came to the United States from Britain and original ideas for lifelines that were eventually scraped. If your a fan of the show it's definitely worth reading.


1 to 13 of 13