Buffy G. (bufomander) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 88 - Page:
Alexander, Who's Not (Do You Hear Me? I Mean It!) Going to Move
Review Date: 2/27/2006


classic alexander book in hardcover -- he comes to terms with the fact that he has to move even though he doesn't want to,


Babyhood
Babyhood
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/13/2006
Helpful Score: 1


funny funny funny funny. read by the author, which is nice.


Basics of Singing
Basics of Singing
Author: Jan Schmidt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/20/2006


Good collection of singable songs for the high school or college musician.


The Bedtime Rhyme
The Bedtime Rhyme
Author: Walter Wangerin Jr.
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/16/2006


"A passport to peaceful slumber and sweet dreams. A perfect way to end the day -- together"
picture book by author of the book of God


Beyond Prozac: Brain-Toxic Lifestyles, Natural Antidotes  New Generation Antidepressants
Review Date: 12/7/2006


Dr. Norden provides a reasonable and balanced look at the pros and cons of antidepressant medicine, and suggests further adaptations that can help depressed people. Norden outlines light therapy, diet (cholesterol is not as bad as you think!), and exercise, among others. A good starting resource for further study, but a bit dated at this point (doesn't include more recent medications such as Lexapro, for example).


Big Cherry Holler (Big Stone Gap, Bk 2)
Big Cherry Holler (Big Stone Gap, Bk 2)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 265
Review Date: 2/5/2006


i like this series (trilogy?) i like reading about a woman who also only has one child/daughter and their relationship.


Born to Buy : The Commercialized Child and the New Consumer Culture
Review Date: 5/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Good stuff -- a tiny bit dry, but so important -- read this book if you want to learn/be reminded of media's insidious influence on our children.


Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?
Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?
Author: Bill Martin Jr, Eric Carle (Illustrator)
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 8/31/2006


board book version.


Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Author: Francis Brown, S. Driver, C. Briggs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/5/2006


Excellent reprint of the classic Brown Driver Briggs edition of 1906. A must have for any serious student of Biblical Hebrew.


Chester the Mouse Look and Find Book (Chester  Max)
Chester the Mouse Look and Find Book (Chester Max)
Author: Jane Harvey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/1/2006


a simple "i spy" type of book.


Child of My Heart
Child of My Heart
Author: Alice McDermott
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 1/10/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting story of a young girl caring for her cousin, neighborhood children, and neighborhood dogs in the course of one summer in Long Island.


The chocolate rabbit
The chocolate rabbit
Author: Maria Claret
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/24/2006


story of why we have chocolate rabbits at easter -- cute, just not for us.


Christmas in the Country
Christmas in the Country
Author: Cynthia Rylant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/27/2006


sweet story -- very nostalgic.

we just don't do santa and there is a brief mention...


Cock A Doodle Doo!: A Farmyard Counting Book
Cock A Doodle Doo!: A Farmyard Counting Book
Author: Steve Lavis
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/31/2006


board book version


Collapse : How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed
Collapse : How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed
Author: Jared Diamond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 9/7/2006
Helpful Score: 4


Superlative review of the effects of the environment on societal failure or success. Non-partisan and sensitive to business as well as ecological concerns, Diamond examines the collapse of several ancient and modern societies and counsels our careful attention to the future. A must-read for any intelligent person concerned about our children's future world.


Color farm
Color farm
Author: Lois Ehlert
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/29/2006
Helpful Score: 1


another good children's book by lois ehlert -- this is the board book version.

shapes are concentrated on and with each turn of the page a new animal is made.


The Continuum Concept: In Search of Happiness Lost (Classics in Human Development)
Review Date: 3/6/2007
Helpful Score: 4


some really good stuff about carrying your baby, including them in your day to day stuff, etc.


Crystal Express
Crystal Express
Author: Bruce Sterling
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/5/2006


A collection of brilliant post-punk author Sterling's short stories. The book is divided into three sections: the shaper/mechanist stories, science fiction, and fantasy stories. Mind-bending takes on what could have been and what might be.


Dandelion
Dandelion
Author: Don Freeman
Book Type: School Library Binding
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/4/2005


by the author of cordorouy....


The Dive From Clausen's Pier
The Dive From Clausen's Pier
Author: Ann Packer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 4/14/2006


i love this book -- i almost can't bring myself to get rid of it. my inept summary: Carrie is already thinking of breaking up with her high school sweetheart (soon after college graduation) when there is an accident and he is seriously injured -- now what?


1 to 20 of 88 - Page: