Melissa B. (melissaab) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 37 - Page:
Addicted to Love
Addicted to Love
Author: CJ West
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/2/2012


I enjoyed the book. I figured out what was happening in the first half of the book, but still enjoyed reading the remainder.


Blessed Are The Foals
Blessed Are The Foals
Author: M. Phyllis Lose
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/14/2012


This is an excellent book. I love love love this book -- as well as Blessed are the Broodmares. The only reason I am posting this book is because I have three of them! My first copy has been highlighted and used every foaling season for years and is falling apart. A must for those foaling!


Born in Death (In Death, Bk 23)
Born in Death (In Death, Bk 23)
Author: J. D. Robb
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 2/9/2011


this was my first In Death book and I was not impressed. It was okay, but I wasn't sitting on the edge of my seat. I am usually a quick reader and can finish off three books a week --but it took me two weeks to get through this one.


The Choice
The Choice
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 473
Review Date: 11/12/2009


I love Nicholas Sparks and this one is no different


Compulsion (Alex Delaware, Bk 22)
Compulsion (Alex Delaware, Bk 22)
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 142
Review Date: 12/8/2011


This was my first book of the series. The book was okay - but I wasn't very impressed.


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3344
Review Date: 11/12/2009


loved the concept of this book. very interesting


The Days of Summer
The Days of Summer
Author: Jill Barnett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/14/2012


Nice story about love and relationships. I like the story -- but not my favorite book. It would be a nice quick read for a day on the beach or airplane read.


The Dirty Life: On Farming, Food, and Love
The Dirty Life: On Farming, Food, and Love
Author: Kristin Kimball
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/24/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I enjoyed this book. I was skeptical at first. I am a farmer that uses Draft Horses and usually books about farming and horses that main stream America likes are hokey and a bit hippy - ish. Although her husband, Mark, is a hippy and walks a little too much on the "free loving" side of society.

Her explanations on farm life is right on. The time spent on chores, the dwindling importance to other things going on in your life (laundry, mowing the yard, planning a wedding), and the sacrifices made.

I especially related to her, as I also did not grow up on a farm and was transplanted into the life. Choosing a relationship with someone and accepting their lifestyle along with it... making a new life together.

I very much liked this book and hope others find it interesting and perhaps even grow a new respect for those of us who choose this lifestyle.


Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 1/15/2011


Although I tried not to listen to all of the hype that surrounds this book -- it was near impossible. I did not want my expectations to exceed the reality of the book. Although I thought the book was okay. Anything more than that would be a stretch. Stretches of the book were boring, from a lack of nothing happening. Often the text in these sections rambled on. I fell asleep several times trying to get through the middle of the book. I do not like giving up on books, and forced myself to read to the end. But I got tired of listening to her whine halfway through India.


The Elder Wisdom Circle Guide for a Meaningful Life: Seniors Across America Offer Advice to the Next Generations
Review Date: 12/28/2009


I was really looking forward to reading this book -- but the questions asked by people didn't apply to me. And I was disappointed that it wasn't just answers to the questions - but a lot of text in between. I think the advice would meet other people's needs - but not mine.


The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1897
Review Date: 1/16/2011


Nice book. about family and friendship.


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Author: Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1388
Review Date: 12/8/2009


I loved this book! It was so interesting and I really enjoyed it


Her Best Catch
Her Best Catch
Author: Lindi Peterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/2/2012


This book was okay - but too religious for me. And too "story book ending"


Hold Tight
Hold Tight
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 324
Review Date: 12/3/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed reading this book. I was not that excited when I picked it up because the cover was boring. (I know, but I always judge first) My cover does not look like the one pictured. But within the first few chapters, I was hooked. The book has a lot of characters and a lot of different story lines going at once. You are constantly trying to figure out how they all link together. I recommend!


How to Walk in High Heels: The Girl's Guide to Everything
How to Walk in High Heels: The Girl's Guide to Everything
Author: Camilla Morton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/28/2009


This book wasn't what I expected. The "guides" were generally vague and didn't really give advice -- except for the beauty and fashion advice. Once it got into work she was out of her element. cute little book, but nothing to take seriously.


The Keepsake (aka Keeping the Dead) (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 7)
The Keepsake (aka Keeping the Dead) (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 7)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 201
Review Date: 11/8/2011


I have been enjoying this series - but I especially liked this one.


The Lace Reader
The Lace Reader
Author: Brunonia Barry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 225
Review Date: 12/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I did like the book. It was a little difficult to get into it at first, but once I did, couldn't put it down.


La's Orchestra Saves the World
La's Orchestra Saves the World
Author: Alexander McCall Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 1/23/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I liked this book - but not one of my favorites. I felt sad for La and thought she was very lonely. Nice ending though.

After I was finished, I had to go back and reread the first chapter to tie it back into the book.


Last Chance Saloon
Last Chance Saloon
Author: Marian Keyes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 258
Review Date: 6/5/2011


This book was alright. A classic Chick Lit book. It picked up in some chapters, but for the most part, remained a so-so read.


The Last Song
The Last Song
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 330
Review Date: 9/26/2011


I liked the movie better.


1 to 20 of 37 - Page: