Elizabeth K. - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
Alexander of Macedon 356-323 B.C.: A Historical Biography
Alexander of Macedon 356-323 B.C.: A Historical Biography
Author: Peter Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/21/2005


This book, while scholarly, captures the intrigue and passion of Alexander's life in an immensely enjoyable reading experience.


Amazing Grace : The Lives of Children and the Conscience of a Nation
Review Date: 12/22/2005
Helpful Score: 2


Disturbing and moving. Toni Morrison said of this book: "good in the old-fashioned sense: beautiful and morally worthy..."


Bottom Line Personal Book of Bests
Bottom Line Personal Book of Bests
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/2/2007


Strategies, solutions, and inside angles to help you live better, save and make money, stay healthier, and get more out of life. From ways to cut auto insurance costs, to the best places to hide your family's valuables, to loss-proof luggage.


A Complicated Kindness
A Complicated Kindness
Author: Miriam Toews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/18/2007


Winner of the Governor General's Literary Medal for the Arts; this is a lovely coming-of-age novel.


The Defender (The Newbery Honor Roll)
The Defender (The Newbery Honor Roll)
Author: Nicholas Kalashnikoff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/17/2006


For Young Adults. This beautifully crafted story of life in the stark mountain village of Siberia reveals the burning humanity that survives even in the harshest climates. Newberry Honor Book


Fetish: Fashion, Sex, and Power
Fetish: Fashion, Sex, and Power
Author: Valerie Steele
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/21/2005


Excellent for costume designers or others interested in the history of fashion. Includes excellent pictures (not graphic).


Fire from Heaven
Fire from Heaven
Author: Mary Renault
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 12/21/2005


Beautiful, and engaging. This story takes you into the classical world of Alexander the Great in an immediate and colorful way. A great read.


Here Speeching American : A Very Strange Guide to English as It Is Garbled Around the World
Review Date: 12/21/2005


If you've ever been amused by the 'English' signs you see when travelling overseas, you'll enjoy this book.


The Knight in Rusty Armor
The Knight in Rusty Armor
Author: Robert Fisher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 5/17/2006


THE KNIGHT is an experience that will expand your mind, touch your heart, and nourish your soul.


Me, a Gourmet Cook?
Me, a Gourmet Cook?
Author: Carolyn Coats
Book Type: Plastic Comb
  ?
Review Date: 10/8/2006


You don't have to be a gourmet cook to have a party! Simple menus, helpful hints to help you cook with confidence and entertain with enthusiasm.


Meridian
Meridian
Author: Alice Walker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/21/2005


Alice Walker is one of the most dynamic authors of our time.


Oh My Stars
Oh My Stars
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 4/27/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I read it in two days... lovely and captivating.


The Peculiar Memories of Thomas Penman
The Peculiar Memories of Thomas Penman
Author: Bruce Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/22/2005


"Took me straight back to that strange, tangled world of adolescence." - The Sunday Telegraph
"... Hums with particularity and vision. Robinson writes such beautiful descriptive prose, he often seems to forget his natural screenwriting gifts altogether." - The Observer


Perfume : The Story of a Murderer
Perfume : The Story of a Murderer
Author: Patrick Suskind
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 12/21/2005
Helpful Score: 1


A truly original novel. I felt like I was living on the streets of Paris.


Raise Your Social I.Q. (How to Do The Right Thing in any Situation)
Review Date: 12/21/2005


Great for those of us who aren't naturally outgoing, but want more confidence in business and social situations.


A Selection of London's Most Interesting Pubs
Review Date: 6/21/2007


Good fun if you're headed to London- both for searching out hidden gems, and for looking up the ones you happened upon!


Skyeyes
Skyeyes
Author: Edward Es
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 12/21/2005


From BookReporter.com: "Great book... Es has a unique literary voice which transcends style and takes on a life of its own... a subtly unforgettable work."


Tiki Drinks
Tiki Drinks
Author: Adam Rocke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/8/2006


Great cocktail recipes with fun illustrations from SHAG.


1 to 18 of 18