Kim (Mistry) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 100 - Page:
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 543
Review Date: 4/21/2007
Helpful Score: 17


The 1st in a series, this is a great read! Fast and light, the characters are well written and colorful. I love Abby's sense of humor, and she's got a temper she's not afraid to use. I really enjoyed this book and can't wait to read more of Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye!


All Spell Breaks Loose (Raine Benares, Bk 6)
All Spell Breaks Loose (Raine Benares, Bk 6)
Author: Lisa Shearin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/27/2015


I loved this series. From first to last, the action was good, the characters were wonderful, colorful and relatable and it was great fun to read! This is the last book in this series, sadly. Shearin tied up all the loose ends. Sometimes the last book ends with a whimper and all that time you put into a series feels like a waste. Not this one.
From the beginning, Raine, in all her sarcastic glory, knows this will be a fight to the finish and they may not get out alive. With her companions by her side, and maybe a few picked up here and there along the way, they will fight to destroy the Sahgred and put an end to the evil Sarad Nukpana.
The ending is satisfying, and the action kept me glued to the page. I'll miss this series quite a lot, I've enjoyed it immensely.


The Amber Room
The Amber Room
Author: Steve Berry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 394
Review Date: 9/9/2007
Helpful Score: 8


I was very excited to start this book, but it didn't last long. I was expecing a fast paced thriller, a treasure hunt type book. I didn't get it. It started very slow, and never really picked up. I couldn't get into any of the characters, good or bad, and therefore had no one to cheer on. And the writing was so flat it was like being lectured. I applaud the author for the amount of research he did for this novel, but the story itself never seemed to move out of 2nd gear. I'd heard many good things about this book, but none of them made themselves apparent to me.


An April Love Story
An April Love Story
Author: Caroline B. Cooney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/2/2007
Helpful Score: 9


This was a favorite when I read it in high school. A little out there, as I would run away if my parents had dragged me away from the city to live with no electricity and no bathroom. But then again, with a hunky guy moving in, I may have been persuaded! Really good teen book!


Atlantis (Jack Howard, Bk 1)
Atlantis (Jack Howard, Bk 1)
Author: David Gibbins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 7/12/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I was hoping for something along the lines of James Rollins, who is first rate at mixing history/archaelogy/science with the action we expect to find in a book like this.

I was extremely disappointed. There was way too much technical jargon, so that I felt it was more a lecture than a story being told. The main characters are so smart, all of their predictions are always right on the mark, they always have the exact technology to get the job done, blah blah blah.
I pushed on past my usual page 100 because I liked the idea of the plot and thought it would make way for less talk, more action. Nope.
Not worthy of any more of my time spent on it so I gave up and I'm not sorry I did.


Aunt Dimity's Death (Aunt Dimity, Bk 1)
Aunt Dimity's Death (Aunt Dimity, Bk 1)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 243
Review Date: 6/25/2008
Helpful Score: 19


This was a wonderful book. My favorite cozy so far that I've read! The characters are terrific and have been brought to life. The mystery/ghost/fantasy aspect is different and catches the imagination. I loved the descriptions of Aunt Dimity's cottage and grounds. You feel like you are there with them. I'm looking forward to the other books in the series.


The Belles of Solace Glen (Solace Glen, Bk 1)
The Belles of Solace Glen (Solace Glen, Bk 1)
Author: Susan S. James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/12/2008


What a great book! I really enjoyed this story of small town life, where 42 yr old Flip Paxton, the town's cleaning lady and the heart of Solace Glen, is bequeathed a family Bible that holds more mysteries than she expects. The characters are wonderful, full of depth and color. A terrific start to a new series and a wonderful way to spend the day curled up in a chair, reading.


Better Read Than Dead (Psychic Eye, Bk 2)
Better Read Than Dead (Psychic Eye, Bk 2)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 418
Review Date: 6/1/2007
Helpful Score: 20


The 2nd book in this series. Fast and entertaining book. I liked this book just as much as the first, maybe a little more. Abby gets herself mucked up with the wrong people and sets out to help solve another mystery. And all the while she not just having a bad day, but a bad month! She's funny, fiesty and doesn't take any guff from anyone. I'm looking forward to reading the next in the series.


Bloodlines (Star Wars: Legacy of the Force, Bk 2)
Bloodlines (Star Wars: Legacy of the Force, Bk 2)
Author: Karen Traviss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 2/16/2007
Helpful Score: 7


This book dragged a bit, I'm not big on the political machinations in any universe, just get to the good stuff. But the storyline is good and it's nice to see some new characters, and old characters with new life in them. It may sound sexist, but I've never been a fan of any of the female writers Star Wars has brought in. Traviss is an exception, she wrote strong characters and kept a good pace for the most part.


Blue Smoke
Blue Smoke
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 559
Review Date: 3/9/2007
Helpful Score: 11


This was a good fast read. More a thriller than a mystery, as you end up knowing who's-doin-it pretty early on. Roberts did a good job with the research on fire and fire sciences.characters are really likeable, too. Big Italian restaurant family and friends. Made me want to eat a lot of pizza while I was reading.


Bookmarked For Death (Booktown, Bk 2)
Bookmarked For Death (Booktown, Bk 2)
Author: Lorna Barrett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 236
Review Date: 3/8/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I enjoyed the premise of this book, and it had a few twists and turns that I enjoyed. I didn't figure out whodunit until just before the end. I enjoyed the description of the town and love the idea of a town full of bookstores!
The supporting characters are colorful and the foodie and book details add a good dimension.

That being said, I really do not care for the heroine of the series. Trish Miles of all the characters just doesn't click for me. She gives the impression that she's so much better than the others. The things that the other characters do for her are met with sarcasm (albeit in her thoughts) and she seems to be ungrateful for the small niceties that people do for her.
She just rubs me the wrong way.

Nothing her part time boyfriend says or does is right, and her sister can't seem to be the sister Trish wants her to be, even though she has a very strong personality herself.
I may read another installment in the series if I come across it, but I won't seek it out. There are so many other books out there with characters I do enjoy reading about.


Brother Odd (Odd Thomas, Bk 3)
Brother Odd (Odd Thomas, Bk 3)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 374
Review Date: 6/25/2008
Helpful Score: 12


I've been a fan of DK since I was 13 and probably too young to be reading some of his books. He's fantastic and I'm wondering what happened to him. There's just no way to get back the time I've wasted with this story. Reading this book was like trying to trudge through the snowstorm described within. I like Odd Thomas, and thoroughly enjoyed the last two books. This one is just plain drivel. Absolutely tedious.

I don't usually have to force my way through any of his books, and I skipped over 1/3 of this one. I've never read more run-on sentences of pure crap in my life. He goes on and on about going forward to go back, and how this attunes to that. Give me a break, already and get to the actual story. If I wanted a self help book, there's plenty here to choose from.

In my opinion, Koontz is a brilliant writer, but when he's got to actually describe a scene with the ghost of Elvis pretending to pick his nose and do disgusting things with the product, it's time for a vacation and some serious margaritas.
I'm sure if Odd Thomas shows up again, I may even give it a shot, but this one, unlike most every DK book I've ever read, will not be staying on my keeper shelf.


A Bucket of Ashes (Gilded Age, Bk 6)
A Bucket of Ashes (Gilded Age, Bk 6)
Author: P. B. Ryan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 10/5/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book was a wonderful conclusion to a series I wish would never end. The characters were so alive, and the author's attention to detail brought you into their world so easily.

Nell receives news that her brother Jamie has been killed and that he was a suspect in a murder. She seeks the truth with the help of Will Hewitt who has returned from serving Napolean's army in France.


Without giving away any goodies, suffice it to say that I enjoyed this series immensely, so much so that it is on my keeper shelf. Ms. Ryan outdid herself from the first book to the last and I will look forward to other series written by her


Candy Apple Dead (Candy Shop, Bk 1)
Candy Apple Dead (Candy Shop, Bk 1)
Author: Sammi Carter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 186
Review Date: 3/13/2007
Helpful Score: 19


This is a quick, fast mystery. I liked the lead character and the fact she doesn't take any guff. I thought the ending was tied up a little too loosely, but it worked for me anyway. The picture Sammi Carter paints of Divinity's Candy Shop is wonderful. You can almost smell the chocolate and sugar and see the jars full of candy treats. Can't wait to read her next one. Also comes with candy recipes at the back of the book. By the end of this one,I couldn't wait to try out the toffee recipe!


Catering to Nobody (Goldy Schulz, Bk 1)
Catering to Nobody (Goldy Schulz, Bk 1)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 275
Review Date: 6/28/2007
Helpful Score: 15


I had heard great things about this series, and I was not disappointed. Very well written, I liked the characters a great deal, and it was a well written mystery. I wasn't sure until almost the end who did it, and yet there were still a few twists I hadn't counted on! Also included some great sounding recipes I'm tempted to try. I'm excited to continue the series and read more from this author.


Chocolate Dipped Death (Candy Shop, Bk 2)
Chocolate Dipped Death (Candy Shop, Bk 2)
Author: Sammi Carter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 5/5/2007
Helpful Score: 5


2nd in the series. I thought this book was a little better than the first. I like the characters and the recipes in the book sound delish!


Confessions of a Teen Sleuth
Confessions of a Teen Sleuth
Author: Chelsea Cain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 8/2/2008


Eh. It was okay. Just not what I was expecting. I thought it was going to be a "behind the scenes with Nancy as a bad girl and what really happened" during some of my favorite mysteries. Instead, it was about what happened to Nancy as she grew older, and while some of the short stories were good, it was just so-so.
I did like that she added in a lot of my favorite girl sleuths like Kim Aldrich and Donna Parker, etc. It was written in the same style as Carolyn Keene, and did have a campy air about it. Definitely worth a credit, but I was a tad disappointed, in that it wasn't what I was hoping for.


Convergence (Blending, Bk 1)
Convergence (Blending, Bk 1)
Author: Sharon Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 1/27/2007
Helpful Score: 7


This was a very good series about a group of people competing in their magical aspects of Earth,Air,Spirit,Fire and Water. Lots of intrigue and danger. 1st of 5 books by Sharon Green.


A Cook's Tour: In Search of the Perfect Meal
A Cook's Tour: In Search of the Perfect Meal
Author: Anthony Bourdain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 8/2/2008


I picked this book up on a whim, thinking that no way can I like Anthony Bourdain any more than I do watching him on TV. I was wrong. This book is chock full of gastric adventures, and Bourdain's straightforward writing style, well, he writes like he speaks, and it's great! This book is pretty much a collection of most of the shows I've seen, but you get Tony's insight and deeper thoughts on the whole process. This guy is a cynic, and he's a hardass, but you get to see a deeper level of him in this book.
It's laugh out loud funny at times, his descriptions of some of the awful hotels he's had to stay in, how he felt having to dress in a traditional Japanese outfit or the way some people set him off are rib tickling. At other times, the despair, the poverty, the absolute human suffering paints a bleak picture.
But while he's on the road to a perfect meal, he never forgets, or let you forget, that not everyone lives in a perfect bubble of clean water, or food, or homes, those basics of life we take for granted.
I wish there were pictures, of the food, of the places he so richly describes. It's a wonderful book.


Crewel World (Needlecraft Mysteries, Bk 1)
Crewel World (Needlecraft Mysteries, Bk 1)
Author: Monica Ferris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 6/26/2007
Helpful Score: 14


The first in the series, and a very good read. It's fast, the characters are colorful and even though I'm not into needlepoint crafts, it's a fascinating way to learn about it. I'm looking forward to reading others in this series.


1 to 20 of 100 - Page: