Nancy B. (ruthienan) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 985
Review Date: 10/3/2010


Wonderful book with thought-provoking insight into family relationships, loss of a loved one, and yes, all from the point of view of a very special dog.


Caravans
Caravans
Author: James A. Michener
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/16/2016


This is an interesting view of Afghanistan, especially in light of events over recent years. Published in 1963, this story is set based on "current" events and culture of the time, and provides some insight into the background and history that is a preface to our 21st century struggles in that part of the world.


Centennial
Centennial
Author: James A. Michener
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/28/2017


This was one of the first of Michener's books that I read, and it really got me hooked on his writing! This is an excellent and often riveting example of his expertise of combining actual historical settings and facts with great character development through several generations.


The Chaperone
The Chaperone
Author: Laura Moriarty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 12/28/2017


This was a wonderful book! Starting with a girl in early 20th century New York left in an orphanage who is put on an orphan train and follows her life. This story has so many surprising twists and turns, it really kept me hooked until I finished it!


The Crowning Glory of Calla Lily Ponder
The Crowning Glory of Calla Lily Ponder
Author: Rebecca Wells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/5/2017


Wonderful prequel to Divine Secrets of the La-la Sisterhood.


Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World
Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World
Author: Vicki Myron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 539
Review Date: 5/2/2015


This is an extraordinary story about small midwestern town library that adopted a remarkable cat. I don't usually go for "cute animal" books, but this not anything like I imagined...
It was amazing and surprisingly delightful. It provides insight into what one small creature can do for an entire community.


Digging to America
Digging to America
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 163
Review Date: 8/14/2010


My favorite of all Ann Tyler's books so far!


Dreams of Joy (May and Pearl, Bk 2)
Dreams of Joy (May and Pearl, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa See
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 10/20/2012


Loved this book! For anyone who enjoyed Shanghai Girls, this book is a must read.


Her Mother's Daughter
Her Mother's Daughter
Author: Marilyn French
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 4/13/2011


I loved this book! It beautifully explores the struggle of a Polish Catholic immigrant couple to make a life for themselves in the US. It explores the mother's relationship with her American-born daughter, and the daughter's struggle to assimilate these two parts of her life and heritage.


Ladder of Years
Ladder of Years
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 7/14/2016


This is one of Ann Tyler's best!


Letters from Yellowstone
Letters from Yellowstone
Author: Diane Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 10/14/2016


This is a wonderful read! It's an inspiring account of a young woman who knew her own mind. In addition, the story, written in letters from her and the people who were with her, was a wonderful journey into all of the characters' points of view. I read it just before we went to Yellowstone and it helped the place come alive for me while I was there.


March
March
Author: Geraldine Brooks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 519
Review Date: 5/14/2018


I picked up this book after reading (and loving) other books by Geraldine Brooks (e.g., People of the Book, Year of Wonders, Caleb's Crossing). I had not read Little Women, but we recently traveled to Civil War country, and I found the book revealing and enlightening about the cultural paradoxes and conflicts that faced Americans at that time and place in history. And now, watching the Masterpiece version of Little Women, I can appreciate the nuances of how Brooks reflected Louisa May Alcott's writing style as well as how the two stories blend together.


Mrs. Pollifax and the Hong Kong Buddha (Mrs Pollifax, Bk 7)
Mrs. Pollifax and the Hong Kong Buddha (Mrs Pollifax, Bk 7)
Author: Dorothy Gilman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 10/14/2016


As all of the Mrs. Pollifax books, a charming and quick read.


The People's Emergency Guide
The People's Emergency Guide
Author: Jeffrey Friedman-Weiss
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/5/2013


This is an extremely handy book to have around!


A Place Called Freedom
A Place Called Freedom
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 10/17/2017


I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It's set in the late 1770s-1780s beginning in Wales and London, then Virginia at the time when both France and the soon-to-be US were in revolution. It was particularly relevant to me since we had just returned from 2 weeks travelling from Philadelphia to Jamestown, steeping ourselves in everything historical, especially during that period. As with many of Follett's books, the historical and geographical setting as well as his characters truly drew me in.


The South Beach Diet
The South Beach Diet
Author: Arthur Agatston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 367
Review Date: 7/5/2017


Good information and great recipes!


Stock Market Logic : A Sophisticated Approach to Profits on Wall Street
Review Date: 7/5/2017


A good reference providing information on the basics of managing stocks and working with the stock market.


Track of the Cat (Anna Pigeon, Bk 1)
Track of the Cat (Anna Pigeon, Bk 1)
Author: Nevada Barr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 7/5/2017


A quick read. Strong female protagonist for an interesting mystery set in the desert Southwest.


1 to 18 of 18