Amanda C. (ghostlysun) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 38 - Page:
2012: The War for Souls
2012: The War for Souls
Author: Whitley Strieber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 2/25/2011


This book started off very slow, and I was unsure whether I'd get into the book. Then it started to get exciting. Some other moments became slow and confusing. I got lost with who was who. Overall it was a shocking book and worth a read for those of you who like extraterrestrial-themed novels.


Black Rainbow
Black Rainbow
Author: Barbara Michaels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 4/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I was not impressed with this Barbara Michaels book. I kept waiting for something to happen, for the book to keep my interest, but it never did. It's an okay story, but it's not what the reader expects.


The City of Ember (Ember, Bk 1)
The City of Ember (Ember, Bk 1)
Author: Jeanne Duprau
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 309
Review Date: 2/25/2011


Having watched the movie first, I was still anxious to start reading the series. I loved the film, but the more the book progressed, I found some major flaws in the movie. I loved the book. Although I basically knew what was going to happen, I found the book to be highly exciting from page one. This book is not just for young adult readers but adults who enjoy a good apocalyptic fantasy.


Clerycastle/Return to Clerycastle
Clerycastle/Return to Clerycastle
Author: Monica Heath
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/11/2009


I actually really enjoyed these books. I wanted a short read with the first book, and didn't expect such an enjoyable story. Monica Heath is a superb writer from the 60's and 70's and an amazing storyteller. The second novel was the better of the two. Reading these makes me want to read more of her books.


Cold Fire
Cold Fire
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 4/11/2009


This is definitely not the best Koontz novel. I didn't really like the characters as much as his other notable ones. As for the story, it was interesting and bizarre. It's worth reading, but don't expect much compared to Koontz's other novels.


The Diamond of Darkhold (Books of Ember, Bk 4)
The Diamond of Darkhold (Books of Ember, Bk 4)
Author: Jeanne DuPrau
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 6/27/2011


Once again this is another marvelous book by DuPrau, about the citizens of Ember, specifically Lina and Doon. This time Lina and Doon come across a book written for the Emberlites that talks about a mysterious diamond and how it will change everything. It is then that they travel back to Ember where they make some shocking discoveries. This was a wonderful conclusion, but I was sad to be done with it all.


The Diamond of Darkhold (Ember, Bk 4)
The Diamond of Darkhold (Ember, Bk 4)
Author: Jeanne Duprau
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 3/7/2012


Beautiful conclusion to the series! It as sad saying goodbye to the characters.


Ellen Foster
Ellen Foster
Author: Kaye Gibbons
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 483
Review Date: 4/15/2009


This is a wonderful book told in a very unique perspective of a little girl. It's a must read!


Falconlough
Falconlough
Author: Monica Heath
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/3/2010


This was a very mysterious book. Heath's writing is always impeccable and I wish she was still writing books. I am unsure what happened to her! If you like good mysteries that are short, check this one out. I guessed the bad guy wrong twice! :)


Fear Nothing (Moonlight Bay, Bk 1)
Fear Nothing (Moonlight Bay, Bk 1)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 221
Review Date: 4/13/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This book was incredible! The story takes you on an incredible journey that completely will surprise the reader. A must read, especially for Koontz fans!


From the Corner of His Eye
From the Corner of His Eye
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 497
Review Date: 4/11/2009


This is the first of Koontz's novels that I read, and I was thoroughly impressed with his writing abilities, quirky paragraphs, and incredible storytelling. The story is slightly bizarre, but you will love (and hate) the characters. A good read!


From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler
From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler
Author: E. L. Konigsburg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 4/11/2009


I read this many years ago as a teenager. I remember enjoying the book, but I don't think I was highly impressed. I expected a little more to happen to kids locked in a museum. At the time I was only interested in paranormal and horror novels. It's a cute story nonetheless.


The Ghosts of Varner Creek
The Ghosts of Varner Creek
Author: Michael Weems
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/31/2013


This is currently my favorite book. It is not merely a book about a haunting. It's about an elderly man with a special gift who talks about his past and about a mystery that changed his entire life. It's very shocking and beautiful at the same time. The story is one of those that make you weep and also share in the triumph of the storyteller. I highly recommend it for anyone interested in the paranormal but who also like a good fictional memoir-type story.


The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon
The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 490
Review Date: 4/11/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is the first and only King novel I have successfully completed. It is shorter than a majority of his books. It was also geared towards a young adult crowd. It's a really good story, and it's worth reading, even if you're a die hard King fan. I bought the pop-up book for the novel as well, and still find it to be enjoyable.


Greygallows
Greygallows
Author: Barbara Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 4/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is not the absolute best for Michaels, but it was a good story. It holds a lot of mystery. She's a good writer and is able to prove that in this book.


Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, Bk 7)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, Bk 7)
Author: J. K. Rowling
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 2/25/2011


I had this book sitting on my shelf for a long while. I was fearful to find out what happened. I'm glad I finally picked it up. It was a quick, exciting read, from the first page until the last. There are a couple of tragedies that I wasn't prepared for. The conclusion of the series ends perfectly with very few gaps remaining.


The House of Lost Souls
The House of Lost Souls
Author: F. G. Cottam
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 8/18/2015


Paul Seaton gets wrapped up in a mystery because of love, and then he becomes tormented with the darkness that surrounds this mystery. The backstories seemed to lose my attention, but in the end, you'll see that they are all connected... The way they are connected is a big surprise, and I felt they were a bit dull but necessary. I think they could have lost some of the unnecessary description to get to the present day plot. You really do like Seaton, and you want him to be devoid of what is haunting him and to finally be happy. What lost me the most is some historical references that were placed throughout the book. Some of these, however, caused me to want to do research and I have learned some new things. Overall it was a good story with a satisfying ending that could have just lacked the vast, though expertly written, details that sometimes lost my attention.


House of Many Shadows
House of Many Shadows
Author: Barbara Michaels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 4/11/2009


This was one of the first of Michaels' I've read. I loved the paranormal aspect of the story, and she really impressed me with her storytelling abilities. It's a good read!


How to Be Lost
How to Be Lost
Author: Amanda Eyre Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 552
Review Date: 3/7/2012


Beautiful story about love and loss! It was an easy, entertaining read. The end is very open leaving it up to the readers to determine the future of the characters. Slightly predictable, I still enjoyed the story and plan to read more of this author's books.


Hunt for the Skinwalker: Science Confronts the Unexplained at a Remote Ranch in Utah
Review Date: 6/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is a fascinating true account of a family's encounters with UFOs, unusual creatures, and terrifying instances at a Utah ranch. Scientists are brought in to investigate the situation, and for over 8 years, they too have experiences to speak about. Not only they talk about their own experiences at the ranch, but they explain other similiar situations and try to offer explanations as to why so many different encounters by multiple people happened during all of those years. This story is thoroughly entertaining with just a couple slow moving parts.


1 to 20 of 38 - Page: