Mary Ashby K. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
All Too Human: A Political Education
All Too Human: A Political Education
Author: George Stephanopoulos
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 2/23/2007


Wonderfully written, clear and exciting, parts I even wanted to read aloud! His attempt (and I believe success) to be utterly honest is evident, as is his philosophical as well as political background.


Annapolis
Annapolis
Author: William Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/23/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Good beach book.


The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
Author: Barbara Robinson, Judith Gwyn Brown (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 3/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A hilarious read; it has become a family favorite on Christmas Eve, especially good for you teachers out there.


The Chalice and the Blade: Our History, Our Future
The Chalice and the Blade: Our History, Our Future
Author: Riane Eisler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 2/28/2007


Utterly fabulous.


The Cloud of Unknowing : and The Book of Privy Counseling (Image Book Original)
Review Date: 2/12/2007


A book for the budding mystic. The language is fairly accessible, but this one was a little heavy going.


The Dancing Wu Li Masters : An Overview of the New Physics
The Dancing Wu Li Masters : An Overview of the New Physics
Author: Gary Zukav
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 3/4/2007


A really good book, just accessible enough for a nonscience person like myself.


Driven To Distraction : Recognizing and Coping with Attention Deficit Disorder from Childhood Through Adulthood
Review Date: 2/23/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is perhaps THE one book you need to address your own or someone else's ADHD. It was enormously helpful to me in dealing with my daughter. Do read it.


The Game of Kings (Lymnond Chronicles, Bk 1)
The Game of Kings (Lymnond Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Dorothy Dunnett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 2/28/2007
Helpful Score: 6


Do be aware that it has dialect that can be hard to plough thru.


Gandhi's Truth: On the Origins of Militant Nonviolence
Gandhi's Truth: On the Origins of Militant Nonviolence
Author: Erik H. Erikson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/12/2007


One of the premier books on nonviolence, Erikson won the Pulitzer and the National Book Award.


IF YOU HAVEN'T GOT THE TIME TO DO IT RIGHT, WHEN WILL YOU FIND THE TIME TO DO IT
Review Date: 2/23/2007


Worth the read.


The Island of the Colorblind
The Island of the Colorblind
Author: Oliver Sacks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 2/12/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Fascinating if you love the workings of the brain, yours or anybody else's.


Many Roads One Journey: Moving Beyond the 12 Steps
Many Roads One Journey: Moving Beyond the 12 Steps
Author: Charlotte S. Kasl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/12/2007


This is particularly good for someone in AA or similar program who has about two years under their belt.


Margaret Mead: A Life
Margaret Mead: A Life
Author: Jane Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 2/23/2007


Fascinating look at a woman who changed the way the world looks at women. I read it twice.


Music at Your Fingertips: Advice for the Artist and Amateur on Playing the Piano
Review Date: 8/9/2007


This is a truly fabulous book (I was just too lazy to do what it said). Very insightful.


On Being and Becoming Human
On Being and Becoming Human
Author: Willard Gaylin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/12/2007


Read this during my Jungian phase. You will enjoy it if you like Victor Frankl.


Ship Fever
Ship Fever
Author: Andrea Barrett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 8/20/2008
Helpful Score: 4


I loved this book so much that I am scanning for and ordering everything else I can find that Barrett has written. Anyone who loved Lives Of a Cell, Notes Of a Biology Watcher would adore this book. The science is keenly drawn and explained, the historical fiction is richly imagined, and the blend is seamless.


Simon & Schuster Young Readers' Book of Science
Simon & Schuster Young Readers' Book of Science
Author: Robin Kerrod
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/24/2007


The 1990 edition, I checked to confirm that this is still current and valid science; subjects like how electricity works, how does detergent work, not high tech topics that would be out of date. Good for a quickie report or an elemental understanding for middle to high school level students or the casual reader.


'Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!': Adventures of a Curious Character
Review Date: 2/12/2007
Helpful Score: 1


You want to BE him.


Synchronicity
Synchronicity
Author: David Peat
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/23/2007


Makes you look at life a little differently ...


The Testament
The Testament
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1097
Review Date: 2/12/2007


Vintage Grisham. Good beach read.


1 to 20 of 25 - Page: