Reviews - Alaina H. (laina42107)

1 to 20 of 116 - Page:
Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea
Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 335
Review Date: 7/23/2012
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I thought that this book was much funnier than "My Horizontal Life". But then again it was much shorter. I think Chelsea Handler is just more funny on TV than on paper. I'm not gonna lie the chapter about her decision to bed a redhead was hilarious!!! It's a quick, fun read perfect for killing time or some much needed giggles."


The Asylum  (The Vampire Diaries: Stefan's Diaries, Bk 5)
The Asylum (The Vampire Diaries: Stefan's Diaries, Bk 5)
Author: L. J. Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/13/2012


"Finally a book that sucked me back in! The last two books were sub par, but this one was pretty good. Love how the story is unfolding, also the Salvatore brother's are teaming up finally, and the characters are much better than the Sutherland clan. I only hope the conclusion of this story in the next book doesn't disappoint."


The Awakening (Darkest Powers, Bk 2)
The Awakening (Darkest Powers, Bk 2)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 11/10/2012


"The Awakening is even more riveting and full of nonstop action than book 1. Sequels make or break a trio in my opinion. This one doesn't disappoint! Had me on the edge of my seat the whole time."


The Bachelorette Party
The Bachelorette Party
Author: Karen McCullah Lutz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 4/17/2012


"Started off slow in my opinion. It took me a while to get into it, but about 1/4 the way in it really started to hit it's stride. Once they get into the actual bachelorette party in the book it was really funny. The reason I found it slow to get into was,I felt like the author over explained everyones thoughts in the begining. To me that's annoying. Once the book took off for me I found it very enjoyable. Short, quick, and easy read."


Bared to You (Crossfire, Bk 1)
Bared to You (Crossfire, Bk 1)
Author: Sylvia Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 9/5/2012


"Couldn't put the book down from start to end. Definetly a page-turner! Though the book was very hot at times, I found myself emersed in the plot. Their love affair is very delicate and I'm hoping it doesn't have a tragic end. Definetly rooting for their love to defy all odds. They deserve happiness in their lives after all their suffering."


Beautiful Chaos (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 3)
Beautiful Chaos (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 3)
Author: Margaret Stohl, Kami Garcia
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 11/10/2013


"Well it finally happened....I finally fell completely and utterly in love with this series! This book was amazing!!! Not sure what it was about this book that made it feel more rewarding to me. Maybe it was the romance (it was there full force), there was finally some happiness(even if it was short lived), the character development, and finally if not all; at least most of the lingering questions answered and story lines wrapped up. Now comes the last installment. Can the gang be sparred their fate? Will Lena bind the new order or will Abraham be there to stop her? Can't wait to read BR. It will be different hearing things from Lena's POV."


Beautiful Chaos (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 3)
Beautiful Chaos (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 3)
Author: Margaret Stohl, Kami Garcia
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 10/27/2012


"Well it finally happened....I finally fell completely and utterly in love with this series! This book was amazing!!! Not sure what it was about this book that made it feel more rewarding to me. Maybe it was the romance (it was there full force), there was finally some happiness(even if it was short lived), the character development, and finally if not all; at least most of the lingering questions answered and story lines wrapped up. Now comes the last installment. Can the gang be sparred their fate? Will Lena bind the new order or will Abraham be there to stop her? Can't wait to read BR. It will be different hearing things from Lena's POV."


Beautiful Creatures (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 1)
Beautiful Creatures (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 1)
Author: Margaret Stohl, Kami Garcia
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 158
Review Date: 10/19/2012


"I thoroughly enjoyed this book! I've only read two Y&A books series before this about witches. One I loved (secret circle) and one I didn't (wicked). The first book in this series did not disappoint. It was a page turner from the beginning. Loved the story and the characters. I liked how the story was told from Ethan's pov, instead of Lena's. that was different in a refreshing way. Not sure how I felt about the ending though. I guess I'm conflicted. Starting the second book soon. I can't imagine where the story will go from here. Guess that's why I feel conflicted about the end."


Beautiful Darkness (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 2)
Beautiful Darkness (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 2)
Author: Margaret Stohl, Kami Garcia
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 10/23/2012


"Still a very solid book series. Not the best but pretty damn good! I will say I seen some parallels with BD and TS's New Moon (Lena leaving Ethan and Liv taking her place). Overall the first two books have left me confused as to how I feel about them. There is such intricate storytelling and little action. To be honest I'm not sure how much I like or dislike that. I like the characters and the story, but I feel like something is missing in each book. Something that would make this story stand out and set itself apart. I have burned through the first two books pretty fast and I have found them very interesting. That is what I have based my rating off of so far. Onto Dream Dark, maybe I can get a feel for this series with this book. Hopefully! I am dumbfounded."


Beautiful Redemption (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 4)
Beautiful Redemption (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 4)
Author: Margaret Stohl, Kami Garcia
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/30/2012


"Interesting end to a very interesting series. I'm normally all for tying up lose ends and happy endings, but this book seemed unnecessary IMO. This book got super weird with it's ridiculous plot points all in the pursuit of happy endings. Kinda wish they had never wrote it....or wrote it way better. If I didn't like the characters as much as I do than I would have gave it a lower rating!"


Review Date: 4/25/2012


"She's a bitch with a superiority complex and doesn't care. That is what I love about the protagonist/author. I guess I can relate on some level. Though I am a milder version. The story is witty and funny. Quick chick-lit read. I enjoyed very much!"


Bloodlust (Vampire Diaries: Stefan's Diaries, Bk 2)
Review Date: 11/10/2012


"GREAT READ!!! Awesome series. I continue to enjoy the very well written back story of the Salvatore brothers. I can live without Elena. No Stelena or Delena shipper here. Personally I'm all about Stefan and Damon's relationship with each other."


Bloody Valentine (Blue Bloods)
Bloody Valentine (Blue Bloods)
Author: Melissa De La Cruz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 11/10/2012


"The novella is mostly about Schuyler and Jack. Since I'm not a fan of their love story I found it lacking. Good points Kingsley is alive and Oliver thankfully moved on. I pray Oliver can find himself a deserving woman. I have a feeling there will be a lot of twists and turns in the next book. Here's to hoping Mimi and Kingsley find happiness in book 6."


Blue Bloods (Blue Bloods, Bk 1)
Blue Bloods (Blue Bloods, Bk 1)
Author: Melissa de la Cruz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 356
Review Date: 11/10/2012


"I really like this series about rich elite vamps and the misfit vamp and her bff. I find Mimi and Jacks relationship weird even though it is explained. I also love Schuyler and Jack. Though my favorite part of this series is that they are not only vamps but fallen angels.....interesting."


Bound by Flame (Dark Crescent Sisterhood, Bk 2)
Bound by Flame (Dark Crescent Sisterhood, Bk 2)
Author: Anna Windsor
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 11/1/2013
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I thought this book was boring and too similar to the first book. True I didn't finish it. But I think I'm done with this series before it begins. I didn't think the first story was on it's way to epicness anyway."


Bound by Shadow (Dark Crescent Sisterhood, Bk 1)
Bound by Shadow (Dark Crescent Sisterhood, Bk 1)
Author: Anna Windsor
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 175
Review Date: 8/24/2013


"Decent read. The beginning of the story was kinda boring at times and I wasn't sure if I even found the characters very interesting. It was a slow start for sure. Though towards the end of the book it started to look up. Riana and Creed were HOT and I was excited to finally here more about "The Legion". The ending was good. Starting bk 2 soon since I already have it. Hope I'm not disappointed and that I don't have to skim the first 3/4 of the book."


Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga)
Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/10/2012


"I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS BOOK!!! Even though it was met with mixed reviews. I don't even know where to start. If you don't want the book spoiled than just take my word for it and read this book, cuz I'm about to give away a lot of the story..............

This book was everything I wanted it to be and more. From the wedding that went of without a hitch to the reception scene with Jacob and Bella.To the honeymoon that was perfect and ended with a pregnancy. When I first saw that the middle of the book would be told from Jacob's POV I wasn't sure about it, but of course I was wrong. It was necessary to explain things that Bella couldn't. Edward's love for Bella, Jacob's love for Bella, her love for them both and for her unborn child. I cried alot that's for sure. When it switched back to Bella's POV and told about her new life as a vampire and their life as a family, and who can forget Jacob imprinting on Renesmee (which BTW I thought was a wonderfully interesting twist) and the introduction of all the other vampires ( I loved Zafrina). To the end with the Volturi facing off against the newly formed Cullen/Quileute super family made up of werewolves and vampires fighting together to save the ones they love. True love prevails as it should and I was very satisfied, beyond satisfied with the ending.Bella is the baddest Vampire of all! The last chapter was an amazing end to an excellent series."


The Bro Code
The Bro Code
Author: Barney Stinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/10/2013


"Funny and quick read! Pretty much what you would expect from Barney Stinson. If you love the character on the show then you'll probably love the book too!"


Burn (Breathless, Bk 3)
Burn (Breathless, Bk 3)
Author: Maya Banks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 1/14/2014


"I had a good feeling about this book, but it was kind of a let down. I thought that the story would focus more on Ash's family. It did not. It was unoriginal and the romance was a total rip off of book 1 & 2. Kinda lame if you ask me. Too may things were over explained. Did the author think that the reader didn't get it the first three times she explained the characters feelings, motivations or thoughts? Book 2 had the best story IMO."


Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1484
Review Date: 8/31/2012
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Wow this book was great!!! I wasn't sure if it would hold up since THG was such a stellar book,but I am pleasantly surprised. So far this is an amazing series. Not sure if I'm with the majority or not, but I would love to see Katniss end up with Peeta in the end. I am definetly rooting for them after all they have been through! I really hope that Mockingjay is an epic end to such a powerful series, but I've heard I will either hate it or love it....here's to hoping for the latter."


1 to 20 of 116 - Page: