Jennifer V. (busygram07) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
500 Low-Carb Recipes (500 Recipes, from Snacks to Dessert)
500 Low-Carb Recipes (500 Recipes, from Snacks to Dessert)
Author: Dana Carpender
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 2/4/2015


I love this book. Easy recipes with things you can find at the local grocery store.


The Absence of Nectar
The Absence of Nectar
Author: Kathy Hepinstall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 10/18/2008
Helpful Score: 4


This book was alot different than I thought it would be. I liked it alot. You got to know the children and felt for them having to live day to day scared that their step dad was
going to kill them. Then they had to deal with the mom that was too wrapped up in having a
baby for her new husband that she was in her own little world. The girl that they wonder
about that is in a hospital for the insane keeps escaping and she finds herself becoming
curious about the brother that writes to her. Very interesting turns and twists till the
end.


But Inside I'm Screaming
But Inside I'm Screaming
Author: Elizabeth Flock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 6/18/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is about a women with mental illness. It had an inside idea of what a person was thinking when they were really confused and mentally disturbed. It has the look of what it is like inside a institution & what some of the rules are, All the therapy and group meetings they have. I thought it was a very good insight of mental illness. In this world how crazy life gets and your mind can only take so much for so long before it really needs a vacation.


Change of Heart
Change of Heart
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I just got done with this book. What can I say but WOW !!!
I loved it because you got to know everyone that was involved with Claire ( the daughter that needs a heart transplant). I felt alot of emotions while reading this book. Sadness, happiness, anger, confusion (on the legal end), etc. The priest said that in church you are with a family that understands you. How true is that! When I am in church that family is one that is so different than the one I grew up with. Having been through a very rough
2 years with both of my daughters, I could so feel what he felt. The mom that looses her
first husband, then her second and her only daughter.... she went through alot. Then she births a daughter from her second husband. (She was preg. when she lost them to a handy man they had hired to finish the addition). To go through what she went through ALONE.
I know the author had her reasons for the mom NOT to turn to God in her time of trouble, but my heart went out to her.
The story had a good purpose and there were twists and turns at every chapter it seemed.
The peoples lives that the handyman touched were forever changed. For the better I believe. I really didn't want this book to end.
jennifer


The Doctor's Wife
The Doctor's Wife
Author: Elizabeth Brundage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 667
Review Date: 6/18/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This story was very different then I had thought it would be. Good story line about how abuse can drive some people to do very mean and stupid things to other people. Had a lot of people involved in the storyline. You felt like you were living right there with them at times.


Little Children
Little Children
Author: Tom Perrotta
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 155
Review Date: 4/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was o.k. IT is About 2 people that are unhappy in their marriage. Who isn't at one time or an other? I would not highly recommend it. It was a book to read. In a few weeks I will probably forget all about it.


MEMORY
MEMORY
Author: PHILIPPE GRIMBERT
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/9/2009


This book I felt was very informative about what a little girl and her brother went through in Poland with the war and being Jewish. She was 4 when the war started and 10 when she was rescued. She went through alot. Her mother stayed in the city where they lived and got a job. She left the care of the children to their nanny. A woman that hated Jews and was a devote Catholic. She loved the children and took very good care of them. Her father had ran away to safety and she had not seen her father for years. I feel so sorry for what she and her brother had to go through and her father I feel didn't even suffer a fourth of what they did. Her mother had fake papers so she stayed away to work and give them $. This little girl was taken from her home where she was Jewish, then with the nanny she was to learn the catholic faith. From then she was sent to a sanitarium where she learned the Swedish way of life and language. They were taught Lutheran Religion. One day her mom and dad come for her. She is then thrown back into being a Jew,
that she had not been in years so to speak because she had to survive and adapt.
This book is a very good eye opener to those who like to study history.


Roots of Evil
Roots of Evil
Author: Sarah Rayne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/18/2010


Story line was very good and kept you guessing what would happen next. It jumped from present to past a lot but was easy to grasp where you were. A very true like story that surely has a lot of history and old memories. I would highly recommend this book.


Valley of the Soul
Valley of the Soul
Author: Tamara Siler Jones
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/18/2010


Story of old time like CSI. I loved the way they investigated and come up with conclusions. They had no computers or cell phones to help them, only lots of hard work and paying attention got them the villains in the end.


The Widow of the South
The Widow of the South
Author: Robert Hicks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 4/4/2008


I loved this book. It had history, a little romance, hope, and what people went through in a time with little money. I like to read about how people
lived in the past and how they survived. This book was good at telling me
about the war in Franklin and what hell those poor souls went through.
I am keeping this book and have been telling others about it.


1 to 10 of 10