Eileen M. (manyblackbears) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Bad Girl : Confessions of a Teenage Delinquent
Bad Girl : Confessions of a Teenage Delinquent
Author: Abigail Vona
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 10/17/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I found this book to be very interesting, as I always wonder what exactly went on in Rehab. This book tells it all and it surely isn't a piece of cake. Yet with all that these girls went through some actually made it and some just could not endure and had to repeat the process over and over again.. Makes me wonder if some of us are truly broken and can NOT ever be fixed.
I think you will find this book hard to put down.


Blackbird House
Blackbird House
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 9/24/2010


Great book!!!!!!!!!!!! I read it all in two days. This Author knows how to write really interesting stories.
It's about different families and generations who lived in this one house up on the cape. It's amazing house somethings juts never change. The stories are exciting mysterious heartwarming and even a bit scary. You laugh, cry, and wonder what will happen next. It's must if you like to read something definitely NOT BORING!!!!!!!!


Housekeeping
Housekeeping
Author: Marilynne Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 9/24/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Good Book, if you get through the introduction chapter. It really shows you the important things in life are happiness, beauty, and love.This is not a novel that you hurry through.It is about the life of two young girls, and what they went through.


Kabul Beauty School: An American Woman Goes Behind the Veil
Review Date: 9/27/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This is an excellent book .It was funny,very sad, informative , and down right interesting. You learn so much about the poor women in Afghanistan and what they go through. They have all the dreams that we American women have but they have to hide everything even their thoughts. Ridiculous what the men put them through. Every woman in America should read this book to see how lucky we really are.


Lakota Woman
Lakota Woman
Author: Mary Crow Dog
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 9/27/2010
Helpful Score: 3


This is a wonderful Biography of an Native american woman who had so much courage to endure terrible terrible treatment. I could not put the book down.


Lisey's Story (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Lisey's Story (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Stephen King, Mare Winningham (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 3/6/2011


one word BOOOOOORING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Love Walked In
Love Walked In
Author: Marisa de los Santos
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 967
Review Date: 9/29/2010


Excellent story. I couldn't put it down.


Mary, Called Magdalene
Mary, Called Magdalene
Author: Margaret George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 1/13/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I could not put this book down. It was excellent. So interesting and not boring at all.Margaret George is such a great writer.


Prelude / Cadence / Jubilee (American Anthem, Bk 1, 2, 3)
Prelude / Cadence / Jubilee (American Anthem, Bk 1, 2, 3)
Author: B. J. Hoff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/2/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent book!!! 549 pages long, but you will not get tired of reading it. It's a great story with very intriguing characters. There is an immigrant family struggling to make it in the new country, a raga muffin street girl trying to change her ways , a lonely Scottish physician who falls in love, a blind musical genius who is the main character, and many more.. This takes place in the 19th century in New York city. A wonderful historical romance story.


The Sea Captain's Wife
The Sea Captain's Wife
Author: Beth Powning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 5/29/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book. It was almost as good as Ahab's Wife. If you love adventure on the sea with women and children aboard you will find this book very interesting. It shows how strong we women can be and how love can get you through it all.
My own con about this book is that it was too short. I could have read soooo much more....

Eileen Main


Tell Them Who I Am: The Lives of Homeless Women
Tell Them Who I Am: The Lives of Homeless Women
Author: Elliot Liebow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/25/2010


I enjoyed reading this book as it really made you feel like you were living on the streets with these women. It will break your heart to see what they have to go through. But on the other hand it show you just how strong we women really are. Good book!!!!


1 to 11 of 11