Barbara K. (wordybird) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 53 - Page:
101 Stocking Stuffers
101 Stocking Stuffers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/13/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Some really nice crafts to make as gifts. In my opnion, most are more than the "stocking stuffers" the title suggests. The directions are easy to follow and produce lovely results.


Afghans on the Double (Crochet Treasury)
Afghans on the Double (Crochet Treasury)
Author: Leisure Arts Editorial Staff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/23/2006


Nice patterns that work up quickly.


The Best Things in Life Are Free
The Best Things in Life Are Free
Author: Todd Outcalt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/8/2006


Todd Outcalt, a Methodist pastor, tells how to find happiness in the ordinary things in life.


The Blight Way (Sheriff Bo Tully, Bk 1)
The Blight Way (Sheriff Bo Tully, Bk 1)
Author: Patrick F. McManus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 5/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


McManus introduces us to Sheriff Bo Tully of Blight County. He is just the first of many quirky charaters we get to meet in this mystery by an author who is better known as an outdoor writer and humorist. This is a great mystery enlivened by the writer's wicked sense of fun. I'm looking forward to reading "Avalanche," the next book in this series.


The Body in the Moonlight  (Faith Fairchild, Bk 11)
The Body in the Moonlight (Faith Fairchild, Bk 11)
Author: Katherine Hall Page
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 8/3/2006


Who laced the dessert with cyanide? Faith Fairchild finds herself suspect. After all she did cater the affair for her church...and made the topping for the dessert. Plus her minister husband, Tom, is the subject of nasty gossip about his relationship with the victim.

Page introduces some interesting characters as Faith tries to solve the crime and keep her catering business from collapse. When you are finished reading the book, you get to try several of the recipes mentioned.


Charmed to Death (Ophelia and Abby, Bk 2)
Charmed to Death (Ophelia and Abby, Bk 2)
Author: Shirley Damsgaard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 235
Review Date: 11/2/2006


Ophelia and her grandmother, Abby, are working to refine her psychic powers while trying to discover the identity of a murderer. The story has several subplots and twists as the two witches use their magick in their battle against evil forces surrounding them.


Christmas Gifts for Everyone
Review Date: 6/11/2006


Some really cute ideas for handmade gifts.


The Cinderella Pact
The Cinderella Pact
Author: Sarah Strohmeyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 7/20/2006
Helpful Score: 2


In this stand alone, Strohmeyer departs from her Bubbles character...although she does make a brief appearance. Never the less, The Cinderella Pact displays the author's usual keen sense of humor. Can three plus-size ladies lose the weight they feel they must? Will anyone discover the secret identity of Sass's new columnist? Will Cinderella find her prince? A quick and fun read that gives you a bit to think about.


Cleaning and the Meaning of Life : Simple Solutions to Declutter Your Home and Beautify Your Life
Review Date: 7/7/2006


Okay, I admit that even this book can't make housecleaning fun for me, but Jhung does give a log of advice on how to make it less onerous. The chapter on astrological cleaning signs seems a bit silly, but we Sagittarians are too busy with our bows and arrows to take this part seriously anyway. ;o)


The Complete Idiot's Guide to American Cooking
The Complete Idiot's Guide to American Cooking
Author: Ronnie Fein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/27/2007


Nice regional and ethnic recipes.


The Complete Tightwad  Gazette
The Complete Tightwad Gazette
Author: Amy Dacyczyn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 9/6/2006
Helpful Score: 12


Amy Dacyczyn teaches black-belt frugality. Great book full of money-saving ideas.


Conquering Chronic Disorganization
Conquering Chronic Disorganization
Author: Judith Kolberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/9/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Introduces a lot of organizing skills in an up-beat manner. Kolberg is a professional organizer, and she shares some of her clients stories and offers solutions for their problems. I've found many of her ideas useful to combat my own "chronic disorganization." Did this book change my life? NO, but my life is a bit less cluttered now.


Deadly Advice (Advice Column, Bk 1)
Deadly Advice (Advice Column, Bk 1)
Author: Roberta Isleib
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 4/21/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Really good mystery with interesting psychological insights, which is to be expected since Isleib is herself a clinical psychlogist. I hope the author plans to continue the sleuthing exploits of Dr. Rebecca Butterman, psychologist and advice columnist.


Death of a Dreamer (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 22)
Death of a Dreamer (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 22)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 3/25/2007


Another enjoyable visit to the village of Lochdubh where constable Hamish Macbeth is attempting to solve murders while trying to resolve his romantic entanglements.


Death of a Perfect Wife (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 4)
Death of a Perfect Wife (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 4)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 4/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Hamish Macbeth once again proves that one should not under-estimate this village constable. Beaton laces this cozy with depth and dark humor.


A Deeper Sleep (Kate Shugak, Bk 15)
A Deeper Sleep (Kate Shugak, Bk 15)
Author: Dana Stabenow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 1/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Dana Stabenow's Kate Shugak series keeps getting better. Now that she and Jim Chopin are back together (sort of), there is an added dimension to the story. I keep hoping she'll make an honest man of him someday. ;o)


A Different Angle: Fly Fishing Stories by Women
A Different Angle: Fly Fishing Stories by Women
Author: Holly Morris (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/23/2006


I haven't been fly fishing since college, where I took a course on it to pass the gym requirement. (It was either this, or course called Get Fit! and the exclamation point scared me off.) To my surprise, I enjoyed it.

The stories in "A Different Angle" reminded me of why I found it fun. The contributers show that fly fishing is, and always has been, a sport for women.

One caveat: You probably need a bit of knowledge of the terminology to truly enjoy the book. However, any woman who likes the sport, or has a significant other who does,will find this a good read.


The Don't Sweat Guide to Travel : Hitting the Road Without Excess Worry (Don't Sweat Guides)
Review Date: 7/4/2006


Good information on planning so that you can really enjoy the trip. For instance Chapter 45 entitled "How to Do...Nothing!" helps get into vacation mode.


Drag Strip (Sierra Lavotini, Bk 2)
Drag Strip (Sierra Lavotini, Bk 2)
Author: Nancy Bartholomew
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 9/3/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Sierra Lavatoni, professional exotic dancer and amateur detective, is determined to discover who killed her friend and coworker. Working along with Sierra are her pasta-pushing Mom, her brother (the cop), and her alien-fighting neighbor. This is a fun read with a likeable heroine.


Earl Proulx's Yankee Home Hints
Earl Proulx's Yankee Home Hints
Author: Earl Proulx
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/30/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Full of tons of "down home" information for the householder. It's fun looking through the "Whatsit" drawings and attempting to determine the use of the object along with Proulx.


1 to 20 of 53 - Page: