Joyce R. (BossRoss) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
24 Hours
24 Hours
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/20/2010


This audio CD was really riveting. I'd listen to them in my car and there were many times I sat ideling in the driveway listening unti I got to the end of a chapter. Good storyline and many plot twists.


Blessed is the Busybody (Ministry Is Murder, Bk 1)
Blessed is the Busybody (Ministry Is Murder, Bk 1)
Author: Emilie Richards
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 2/7/2018


I really enjoyed this book. There were enough credible suspects to keep me guessing almost to the very end. This story centers around a ministers wife, but is almost devoid of real religion. She goes about her everyday life, raising children, worrying about dinner, and trying to remain a happy and supportive wife while coping with parishioners who are quite judgmental. Oh and along the way getting involved in two murders and solving same. She reminded me more of a PTA mom, sucked into chairing too many committees and expected to be the "perfect" minister's partner despite her desire to be an ordinary wife and mother. Five stars and I can't wait to read the next book!


Blood Kiss (Black Dagger Legacy, Bk 1)
Blood Kiss (Black Dagger Legacy, Bk 1)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 12/7/2015


This latest book in the series was somewhat disappointing. It has some of the same beloved vamps, but the story branches off to a new set of younger characters. Without spoiling too much of the plot, "Blood Kiss" is simply boy meets girl, and all the angst of young love.


The Blue Zone
The Blue Zone
Author: Andrew Gross
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 6/13/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I read so much that it's not very often that a book keeps me guessing until the very end, but this book did that, and more. Twists and turns abound, it's definately a sit-down-and-read-all-the-way-through book.


Die Buying (Mall Cop, Bk 1)
Die Buying (Mall Cop, Bk 1)
Author: Laura DiSilverio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 8/11/2011
Helpful Score: 4


This is a great book in a new series. I'll be looking for future books. Anyone who has ever shopped in a mall will easily identify with the characters. The main character EJ is like many people today, trying to start over in a job that at first appears not quite a good fit. Several secondary characters (Grandpa in particular)are a hoot. Easy, fun read.


The Greatest Generation  (Audio CD) (Abridged)
The Greatest Generation (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Tom Brokaw
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 6/23/2012


I had high expectations for this book and came away a little disappointed. I did enjoy the personal stories of average, everyday people (heros one and all in my book), but there just weren't enough of them.


Helm
Helm
Author: Steven Gould
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 11/14/2010


I liked Gould's other books because of their emphasis on sci-fi. While this book has a small sci-fi component, it's really a military, countries-at-war type book. Lots of time spent on martial arts training, which was an interesting sub-plot.


The Host
The Host
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 11/3/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book was on my wish list for almost a year. It was well worth waiting for! At 600+ pages I read it over a weekend only because I was hooked and couldn't put it down. I finished it Sunday night/Monday morning at 4am and had to get up for work at 6am. I highly recommend this book for sci-fi fans and fans of Stephenie Meyer. Yes, it is different from the Twight books, but a star in it's own right. Very thought provoking.


Killing Time (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Killing Time (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 7/7/2010


I ordered this book because I like Linda Howard and romance. I was very pleasently surprised to find that this was a time travel/sci fi theme as well, my favorite combination. A good read (or listen in the case of this CD).


The Last Noel (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Last Noel (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed listening to this book on CD. Although it was a crime story, it was fun following the Mom, who was insistant that her family was going to have a tradiitonal Christmas, with turkey, presents and Christmas Carols, dispite a home invasion and thugs joining them for Christmas dinner!


Laying Down the Paw (K9, Bk 3)
Laying Down the Paw (K9, Bk 3)
Author: Diane Kelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 11/10/2017


I've read several books in this series, and Laying Down the Paw is a great addition. It follows several crimes that all become inter-related with Megan and her trusty K9, Bridget, on the case! An inside look at real police work and the struggle of kids from broken families who get caught up in the system. A very good read.


Let Darkness Come
Let Darkness Come
Author: Angela Hunt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 2/3/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This is the first book I've read by this author, and I loved it! It was a real page turner for me. What started out as a typical murder trial, turned into a unique yet gripping defense strategy. A great read.


Nebraska Legacy
Nebraska Legacy
Author: Diann Mills
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 4/9/2011


I like western settings and I also like reading about people being placed together under unexpected circumstances, so the description given for this book seemed perfect. What it doesn't say is that the content has a very religious tone. This was the first book I had read by this author so I wasn't aware of this fact. The first two stories were good, but by the time I got tothe third story it got to be a little much. It was well written and a good story about the hardships faced by western settlers if you don't mind the characters stopping every five minutes to pray about absolutely every decision that has to be made.


One Second After
One Second After
Author: William R. Forstchen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 4/4/2010
Helpful Score: 6


This is a very thought provoking book. The end of the world (the United States, anyway) from an entirely different perspective. Not by a nuclear blast, but by stopping every single piece of electronics, as well as all computers. It was stunning to see just how much of our day to day life now depends on tiny computer chips. I liked that the book focused on one isolated small town and its efforts to survive. This story would make a great book club discussion. Good book.


One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd
One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd
Author: Jim Fergus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 677
Review Date: 9/18/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I'm not sure why so many loved this book. I thought it was boring. There wasn't one character that I really liked. While the storyline seemed promising, it was really just another story about white women going to live with Indians, and not a very good one at that.


Pulse Audio Sci-fi Volume 1
Pulse Audio Sci-fi Volume 1
Author: Jim French
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/4/2013


I had forgotten how much fun radio "theater" can be. These are three nice old-fashioned sci-fi stories, with the added fun of great radio voices and sound affects. I was thoroughly entertained, I just regret that the CD only had three short stories.


Ricochet
Ricochet
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 223
Review Date: 6/7/2010


This book has lots of twists and turns, and keeps your interest until the very end. A very good read.


Science Fiction Radio (Old Time Radio)
Science Fiction Radio (Old Time Radio)
Author: Original Radio Broadcasts
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/26/2016


Very nice collection of sci-fi stories. If you are a fan of the early sci-fi genre, this is the collection for you; 22 stories in all.


Second Chance Pass (Virgin River, Bk 5)
Second Chance Pass (Virgin River, Bk 5)
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 285
Review Date: 1/31/2010


This book had such high reviews, I couldn't wait to read it. Well, I couldn't get interested in the main characters (Vanni and Paul) at all. Paul comes across as a real loser. And to be honest, their storyline was very very short. The rest of the book was filled out with side stories of characters that had been introduced earilier in the series. The story of Vanni and Paul (the main characters) could have been told in 50 pages, tops. I like Robyn Carr and have read quite a few of her books, but this one should have been a compilation of short stories, not a novel.


True Colors (Audio CD) (Abridged)
True Colors (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Kristin Hannah, Sandra Burr (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 6/29/2010


I ordered this CD from Paperbackswap for a very long, lonely car trip. I was fortunate that what I received was the unabridged version (14 hours!) instead of the abridged 6 hour version. The perfect "read" for a long trip. The description on the back of the box gives no clue as to the underlying storyline and the fact that the story follows this family over a number of years and through some very difficult trials. It was a good story, with realistic family bickering and underlying love and affection. A very good book/CD.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: