Carol B. (cborgmann) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 36 - Page:
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 483
Review Date: 5/19/2010


Good and evil do not mix but we all know that. There are some parts of the book that are repetitive but all in all this was a page turner.


Any Minute
Any Minute
Author: Deborah Bedford, Joyce Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 6/7/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This is an excellent read. Life is always in a hurry, but any minute it can change; any minutes you can change. This book was very hard to put down. I do not think you will be disappointed with this book.


Apollyon: The Destroyer Is Unleashed (Left Behind, No 5)
Apollyon: The Destroyer Is Unleashed (Left Behind, No 5)
Author: Jerry Jenkins, Tim F. LaHaye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 572
Review Date: 5/1/2010


Very good fiction, hard to put this book down and ready to continue on with the series.


Armageddon: The Cosmic Battle of the Ages (Left Behind, Bk 11)
Review Date: 5/1/2010


Love this series.


Cape Refuge (Cape Refuge, Bk 1)
Cape Refuge (Cape Refuge, Bk 1)
Author: Terri Blackstock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 232
Review Date: 4/3/2010


Good starting book, reading to read the next book.


The Corruptible (Ray Quinn, Bk 2)
The Corruptible (Ray Quinn, Bk 2)
Author: Mark Mynheir
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/11/2011


Mark Mynheir, author of The Corruptible is an excellent writer. This is the second book of the Ray Quinn mystery and it is captivating. I generally feel if I can read a book in three days of less, it has to be good. Private investigator, Ray Quinn finds himself in cases to keep him financially afloat but there are times when this retired cop and living with a painful disbility has limited options. In the meantime, his sidekick, Crevis is learning the ins and outs to become a cop himself witht he guidance of Ray Quinn in the detective agency. Ray finds himself a new client that is rich and could possibly help him out financially. As the case progresses along, of which Ray thought would be a open and shut case, it turns out to be more mysterious than expected. Without the client telling exactly what is going on except to find a computer disk that Logan Reed downloaded company information on to. Logan Reed is dead, but no disk is found. Ray works with the force to help find the killer of Logan, as well as helping his client find the disk. Ray finds that Logan had many enemies and people of interest are holding back the truth since they are afraid of landing back in jail. In the end, Ray solves the complete mystery of the murder of Logan Reed and recovers the disk. This is really a great read; if you read the first book, The Night Watchman, you will enjoy this one also.


Desecration: Antichrist Takes the Throne (Left Behind, No 9)
Review Date: 5/1/2010


WOW what a read. I think I got too much in this book, got me a bit frightened, but had to let myself know it is fiction. but what insight.


Fireside (Lakeshore Chronicles, Bk 5)
Fireside (Lakeshore Chronicles, Bk 5)
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 294
Review Date: 4/4/2010


Very good book and Bo Crutcher is a kind and gentle man, with lots of patience too. Received this book through a book club and did not realize it was in a series, but was good by itself.


Flowers On Main (Chesapeake Shores, Bk 2)
Flowers On Main (Chesapeake Shores, Bk 2)
Author: Sherryl Woods
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 241
Review Date: 4/3/2010


Very good reading for a series.


Footsteps
Footsteps
Author: Diann Mills
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 5/30/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoy reading DiAnn Mills, although this is my second book. I will continue to read her books. This was absolutely a good read. The storyline drives you in and I absolutely had a hard time putting this book down. I honestly do not think you will be disappointed in this book.


Glorious Appearing: The End of Days (Left Behind, Bk 12)
Glorious Appearing: The End of Days (Left Behind, Bk 12)
Author: Jerry B. Jenkins, Tim F. LaHaye
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 337
Review Date: 5/1/2010


Very good book. Good read for all the books in this series, although it is fiction.


Harbor Lights (Chesapeake Shores, Bk 3)
Harbor Lights (Chesapeake Shores, Bk 3)
Author: Sherryl Woods
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 230
Review Date: 4/3/2010


I enjoyed this series. This was my first series reading by Sherryl Woods.


I Am His: Experiencing the Comfort of Abba's Love
I Am His: Experiencing the Comfort of Abba's Love
Author: Rita J. Platt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/11/2011


What happens inside your heart when you hear the word father? Some women feel indifference or pain, while others become wistful or sense an aching void. Still others recall their dads with fondness. Whatever your experience with your earthly father, I Am His invites you to know the comfort of dwelling in the arms of a tender, wise, and powerful Abba Father. Through personal stories, creative interaction with Scripture, quiet reflection, and guided responses, the wonder of living as a child of God will come alive and be more accessible to your heart. Do you ever wonder if God really loves you, even though you know you are forgiven, that He saved you and you will live forever with him? In this 8 week Bible Study, Rita J. Platt explains how we can Experience the Comfort of Abbas, our Heavenly Fathers love for us. The chapters in this study are: Abba Father; Chosen to Belong; The Fathers Love; In His Arms; Under His Wings; Through Abbas Eyes; A Generous Father; and A Daughters Inheritance. When going through a difficult time, and at other times, for no apparent reason, I wonder if God really loves me like the Bible says. It sounds really ungrateful, but these feelings happen to so many people. Reading and studying through this book, the author gives scripture after scripture, as well as phrases, sentences, and statements concerning Gods real love for His children. You can feel Rita Platts heart in this study, in what she is teaching. This is a great study for those who long to become closer to God. This devotional will give you a loving view of God the Father.


Just Breathe
Just Breathe
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 386
Review Date: 4/23/2010


This was a very good book. I had a hard time putting it down and read it in a few days.


Left Behind (Left Behind, Bk 1)
Left Behind (Left Behind, Bk 1)
Author: Jerry B. Jenkins, Tim F. LaHaye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 988
Review Date: 5/1/2010


The series had been out for a while but I began to read book one. WOW, although it is fiction a part can be true. It really made me stop and think how I was leading my life. This book got me going to read the next series. This book was very hard to put down.


Live Like You Mean It: The 10 Crucial Questions That Will Help You Clarify Your Purpose / Live Intentionally / Make the Most of the Rest of Your Life
Review Date: 2/4/2011


Very good book, easy read.


Loving God With All Your Mind
Loving God With All Your Mind
Author: Elizabeth George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 1/28/2011


Absolutely a good book. I found all kinds of time to read this as I did not want to put it down. If you are a women and want to be inspired by the what the title of this book says, it is for you. I love God with all my mind, but as I read the book, there was things I could change to love God more and have Him be more part of my life than I have given to Him. God Bless.


The Mark: The Beast Rules the World (Left Behind, Bk 8)
Review Date: 5/1/2010


Another good read in the series.


Nicolae: The Rise of Antichrist (Left Behind, Bk 3)
Nicolae: The Rise of Antichrist (Left Behind, Bk 3)
Author: Tim F. LaHaye, Jerry B. Jenkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 711
Review Date: 5/1/2010
Helpful Score: 2


The series is hard to put down, glad there are a few more to read in the series.


Nicolae: The Rise of Antichrist (Left Behind, Book 3)
Nicolae: The Rise of Antichrist (Left Behind, Book 3)
Author: Jerry B. Jenkins, Tim F. LaHaye
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 174
Review Date: 4/23/2010


Have to continue on to book 4 for sure. Great series so far and more to come.


1 to 20 of 36 - Page: