Laura R. (starwolf) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 121 - Page:
All Things Wise and Wonderful
All Things Wise and Wonderful
Author: James Herriot
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 2/11/2010


I love all the James Herriot books. Even though the veterinary medicine used then mostly no longer applies now these books still give a wonderful feel for the life of a mixed practice veterinarian.


Animosity (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Animosity (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: David Lindsey
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/16/2006


Audio Tapes approx 6 hrs.
Ross Marteau makes a handsome living sculpting female nudes from glamorous live models. After a bad breakup in Paris, he returns home to San Rafael a chic, artsy enclave in the Texas hill country for his next commission. Upon his arrival, exotically beautiful newcomer Celeste Lacan seeks him out and persuades him to sculpt her sister, Leda. Leda is striking in a photograph Celeste shows Ross, but Leda, Celeste hints, is not an ordinary beauty she will be a unique artistic challenge. As Ross soon discovers, Leda is a hunchback, stunning from some angles and startling from others. As Ross begins sketching her daily, and he and Cleste become romantically involved, he glimpses details of the sordid arrangement that binds the sisters to each other and to Cleste's abusive husband. There is an eerie tension among Ross, Celeste ,and Leda, which heightens when a murder disturbs the calm of San Rafael.


Antiquing for Dummies (Miniature Editions for Dummies (Running Press))
Review Date: 2/25/2010


This book is 1.5 by 2.5 inches in size - not worth the effort!


THE BEAST MASTER
THE BEAST MASTER
Author: Andre Norton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/24/2010


First in the Beastmaster series. I love Andre Norton books! She wrote the 'old school' scifi stories. Her storyline and character type you just can't find in modern books now. Great writer. Great series.


Beautiful Lies
Beautiful Lies
Author: Emilie Richards
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/16/2006


Divorced parents Liana Robeson and Cullen Lewellyn are forced together once again when their son, 14-year-old Matthew Lewellyn, runs away from home. Their search takes them from San Francisco to Australia, as a multigenerational saga of strife between two families unfolds. At its crux is the Pearl of Great Price, a marble-sized perfect pearl. Many flashbacks reveal the desperate actions of those who have tried to possess the pearl (beginning when, in the early 1900s, Archer Lewellyn murdered his partner, Tom Robeson, rather than share the wealth). Presently, someone seeking revenge is after Matthew. Adding suspenseful tension, all diversions are but a backdrop to the eventual romantic reunion of the missing boy's parents.


Bijapur (Blood of the Goddess, No 2)
Bijapur (Blood of the Goddess, No 2)
Author: Kara Dalkey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/16/2006


A microcosmos of India assembles in two competing caravans to seek the Blood of the Goddess, among them Thomas Chinnery, English prisoner of the Portuguese Inquisition. The Goddess is reputed to live near Bijapur, and so the two parties make their way there--to be united inextricably by the hospitable and wily Sultan Ibrahim of Bijapur. Prophecies, Sufi mysticism, herb lore, and legends gild this exotic historical novel.


Bloodfever (Fever, Bk 2)
Bloodfever (Fever, Bk 2)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 500
Review Date: 3/10/2010


I love Karen Moning and this book is excellent!
First in the Fae series - southern gal MacKayla Lane begins the search for her sister's killer with the help of very hot, sexy Jericho Barrons. Searching through the streets of Dublin, Mac finds a world she didn't know existed. From death-by-sex fae to the mysterious group that can see the fae like no other humans. A fast, hot sexy series!


Born in Death (In Death, Bk 23) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 4/24/2010


Another excellent Eve Dallas story! Gotta love J. D. Robb (aka Nora Roberts)!! And Susan Ericksen is fantastic!!! She does great voices!! I think she really makes the audio something special!


The Boy Who Drew Monsters
The Boy Who Drew Monsters
Author: Keith Donohue
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/21/2015


This book is very creepy. Even when you think you know where the story is going.... Well read to the end for an interesting twist. The audio version is nicely creepy as well. #PaperBackSwap Facebook page


The Bride of Black Douglas (Mira (Audio))
The Bride of Black Douglas (Mira (Audio))
Author: Elaine Coffman
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/24/2010


Great romance, great story line.


A Caress of Twilight (Meredith Gentry, Bk 2)
A Caress of Twilight (Meredith Gentry, Bk 2)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 652
Review Date: 4/24/2010


I love Hamiltion's Anita Blake series but I'm just not sure I like Meredith Gentry. This series is very similar in characters but set in a totally different world. This is the second book in the series. If you like lots of rough sex scenes then you may like this series. I just wish it had more plot action with less emphasis on the sex...


Ceres Storm (Daric)
Ceres Storm (Daric)
Author: David Herter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/16/2006


the far future, young Daric lives a simple life on terraformed Mars, caring for plants and listening to his ancient grandpapa's stories about the amazing exploits of the long-dead Emperor Darius. Then Daric learns that he and his small family are clones of the Emperor Darius; Daric is the most successful of the batch. Unfortunately, an unscrupulous company run by the Krater-Tromon clan wants to exploit Daric's knowledge by using him to open Darius's long-ago sealed complex on Earth. When Kay-Tee agents kidnap him, the boy must marshal his newfound skills and information to escape and prevent them from taking over the solar system.


Certain Girls (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 2)
Certain Girls (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 2)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 365
Review Date: 4/24/2010


Another excellent book by Weiner! I'm not a mom but I can really get in to her characters. My sister has teenage daughers and I can still remember what it was like to be 'almost' a teen. Great book for mothers and for their daughters! I laughed out loud, I cried, and my husband now thinks I'm nuts. And what a twist at the end! Never saw THAT coming!


Chariots of the gods
Chariots of the gods
Author: Erich Von Daniken6
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/24/2010


An old book but Von Daniken was the first to propose the idea that aliens have not only visited earth but may have seeded humans here to start with. Interesting read.


Considering Kate (Stanislaskis, Bk 6) (Silhouette Special Edition, No 1379)
Review Date: 9/8/2009


Considering Kate is a one of the Stanislaski series. Kate Kimball, the daughter of Natasha and Spencer (from Taming Natasha), is a ballet dancer, who has come home to open a dance school. Brody O'Connell is the contractor who fixes up the building for Kate's school. Kate and Brody automatically hit it off, but Brody is leary of a relationship because he is a widower with a 6 year old son. Kate is flirtatious and pushes Brody to take her out, Brody on the other hand is trying to resist her, although he wants her. Another winner from Nora Roberts.


Contract with an Angel
Contract with an Angel
Author: Andrew M. Greeley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 9/8/2009


I thoroughly enjoyed this book! An angel - looking like Micheal Jordon - intercedes in the life of Mr. Raymond Neeman. Mr. Neeman is given a chance to redeem his soul by trying to undo all the pain he has caused in his life. The surprise ending has you cheering for him. Humorous, complicated, and uplifting - a great book for anyone.


Corralled (Blacktop Cowboys, Bk 1)
Corralled (Blacktop Cowboys, Bk 1)
Author: Lorelei James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 6/26/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Terrible terrible book! Pure hardcore porn. I have nothing against porn if its done well but this is terrible. A very loose excuse of a plot. I suspect it is written by a man since the sex scenes are definitely NOT how a women would view them. Mostly bondage and domination sex. And that is even boring! Not worth the read definitely not worth buying!!


Dark Reunion (Redstone, Incorporated, Bk 6) (Silhouette Romantic Suspense, No 1452)
Dark Reunion (Redstone, Incorporated, Bk 6) (Silhouette Romantic Suspense, No 1452)
Author: Justine Davis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 1/24/2007


Brandnew - never read


Darkfall
Darkfall
Author: Dean R. Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 9/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I loved Darkfall.The premise of the book is a Voodoo vendetta against a Mafia Drug family by a Haitian drug dealer who wants revenge for the death of his brother. How he kills his victims is very interesting, sending out an army of goblin like creatures with large claws that are virtually indestructable.
The police officer assigned to the case gets involved and the Voodoo army turns thier sights on to his family. With that being said, the chase is on. The last 3rd of the novel is pure chase and breakneck speed, and it is fun to follow along.


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2409
Review Date: 1/28/2011


Starts out kinda silly but by the end you want to read more... I guess that's what makes a good storyline written by a good author.


1 to 20 of 121 - Page: