Kristin M. (MissKristin66) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 81 - Page:
All I Want Is Everything (Gossip Girl Novels (Sagebrush))
All I Want Is Everything (Gossip Girl Novels (Sagebrush))
Author: Cecily Von Ziegesar
Book Type: School Library Binding
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/30/2005


Great book! A guilty pleasure for teens and adults!


The American Heiress
The American Heiress
Author: Daisy Goodwin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 12/30/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This story is compelling and fun! I could not put it down and stayed up and read it in 2 nights!


At Play in the Fields of the Lord
At Play in the Fields of the Lord
Author: Peter Matthiessen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 4/25/2006


What a dissappointing book! I really expected much more, but it was really boring.


Autobiography of a Face
Autobiography of a Face
Author: Lucy Grealy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 3/14/2006


A poetic style adds to this story of perserverence over twenty years of failed surgeries. As a child growing into a teenager and then an adult, Lucy faces everything we do, and battles within hersledf to determine her personality. A truly humbling read.


Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Author: Dai Sijie, Ina Rilke (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 682
Review Date: 4/13/2006


Brilliant, touching and at times, quite funny! I loved this book!


Blow Fly (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 12)
Blow Fly (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 12)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 715
Review Date: 7/25/2005


Possibly the best from her!


The Bookseller of Kabul
The Bookseller of Kabul
Author: Asne Seierstad, Ingrid Christophersen (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 299
Review Date: 9/20/2006


What a vivid and sad tale. I Loved it!


Brick Lane
Brick Lane
Author: Monica Ali
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 1/3/2006
Helpful Score: 3


A brilliant, spicy story of longing and obligation. Characters are thoroughly original, and at times quite funny!


Candide
Candide
Author: Voltaire, Henry Morley (Translator), Lauren Walsh (Translator), Alan Odle (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 11/14/2005


This translation from the fench can be a little stodgy, but if you keep with it, it's actually a great read.


The Chocolate War (Chocolate War, Bk 1)
The Chocolate War (Chocolate War, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Cormier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 8/10/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This is a compelling story about the misuse of power and the futility of our social system. It is dark and a little depressing but a thought provoking book.


A Confederacy of Dunces
A Confederacy of Dunces
Author: John Kennedy Toole
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 5/26/2006


A little farce-like for me, but others might enjoy it.


The Confession of Joe Cullen
The Confession of Joe Cullen
Author: Howard Fast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/5/2005


actually a hardcover


A Cure for Dreams (Large Print)
A Cure for Dreams (Large Print)
Author: Kaye Gibbons
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 9/18/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Enthralling, familiar, hilarious, poignant and a quick read. one of Gibbons best.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4384
Review Date: 1/16/2006


This is a unique and strangely amusing story, told from the point of view of a young man with autism. It made me laugh and smile and I could not put it down! A fabulously fresh kind of mystery!


Dawn
Dawn
Author: Elie Wiesel, Frances Frenaye (Translator)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 4/30/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This short novel is compelling and haunting. The story of an 18 year old Jewish boy who survived the concentration camps and is now an executioner and terrorist and surprisingly human and empathetic. I challenge you to put the book down!


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1732
Review Date: 10/4/2005


I loved this book! I totally related to it, and loved the anecdotes. THis is a hilarious touching book!


Down and Out in Paris and London
Down and Out in Paris and London
Author: George Orwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 1/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A classic dark portrait of life in the twenties and thirties in Paris and London. THe main character, much like Orwell, is in Paris struggling for survival and thankful for the drugery of sixteen hour work days and four francs a night for drinks. Fascinating, amusing and powerful!


The Drowning Tree
The Drowning Tree
Author: Carol Goodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 7/28/2005
Helpful Score: 2


I read a lot, and out of the forty or so books I've read this year, this is the best! If you love mythology, art, or a great mystery, this book has all three!


Eleanor of Aquitaine : A Life
Eleanor of Aquitaine : A Life
Author: Alison Weir
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/25/2005


If you love history, you will love this book!


Empire Falls
Empire Falls
Author: Richard Russo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 624
Review Date: 11/11/2005


Empire Falls is a sometimes comical, sometimes heart-wrenching tale of a small town in Maine. Through flashbacks, we see several generations of the Whiting family which owns and controls most of the property and the citizens of the town. Facing rural decay and economic hardship with the closing of their manufacturing, the people of Empire Falls are slowly falling apart like the buildings they work and live in.

Miles, the main character, struggles with his appearance to his family and neighbors and his true self, presenting a fascinating dicotomy. Where others see him strong, he is actually weak, and where others find him weak, he actually finds great strength as he puzzles together the events of twenty plus years which have shaped him more than he ever realized.

Though sluggish in parts, the plot twists and excellent character development make this a great book that will stay with you long after yuo have finished it.


1 to 20 of 81 - Page: