Richard G. (rgray-numbersense) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 27 - Page:
Bad Blood (Virgil Flowers, Bk 4)
Bad Blood (Virgil Flowers, Bk 4)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 11/23/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Superb and shocking at the same time. A very thought-provoking story with some great dialog and characters. One of the best Sanford novels ever, and that is saying alot for such a talented writer. Not for the faint of heart or easily disgusted, though.


Brimstone (Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch, Bk 3)
Brimstone (Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch, Bk 3)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 10/15/2010


Good continuation of the series. Puts a nice wrap on a couple of story lines and reopens a couple of previous ones.


Bubbles Unbound (Bubbles Yablonsky, Bk 1)
Bubbles Unbound (Bubbles Yablonsky, Bk 1)
Author: Sarah Strohmeyer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 265
Review Date: 9/11/2011


As a 52 year old guy I thought that a book about "another dumb blonde facinated with sex, soap operas and gossip" was probably not my style. But once I gave it a try it was great fun. I did find myself turning down the cover of the book on my desk at work! The story moved along, she was an entertaining and believable heroine, and I will definitely read another. Hey guys, just consider it a guilty pleasure.


Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt
Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 5/16/2010


Fantastic both for its historical perspective and the wonderful internal self-analysis of the child Jesus. A must read.


A Cold Mind
A Cold Mind
Author: David L. Lindsey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/1/2010


Haydon makes an interesting, atypical character for a Houston police detective. Explores the full nature of many cultures and neighborhoods, while developing an interesting plot. The story is an excellent medical mystery/thriller, but missed 5 stars because some of the mystery was revealed a little too quickly and you are left with only the chase. I will be requesting more from this author.


The Confession
The Confession
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 230
Review Date: 11/14/2011


I have read every John Grisham book, and this was his worst. The characters are shallow and one dimensional, and that problem goes beyond just the lead characters to almost every actor in the book. The entire setting is a cliche, without any real understanding or effort at development or thorough description. The story line offers no real suprises or twists, just a steady drumbeat on a single theme.

In reading a book, I hope to be informed of new places, or to learn of new cultures, lifestyles, occupations, etc. Another potential is to be entertained, or taken away from worldly cares or concerns. This book fails from both a journalist's and a novelist's perspective.

I am opposed to the death penalty and would vote to abolish it if that option was presented as a straight option up-or-down vote. This book does not advance that cause, being nothing more than a preaching screed with ugly overtones and strong personal bias shallowly concealed as literature.

Here in his own words is a passage from the author's note that completes this lecture. "There are mistakes in this book, as always, and as long as I continue to loathe research, while at the same time remaining perfectly content to occasionally dress up the facts, I'm afraid the mistakes will continue. My hope is that the errors are insignificant in nature."

They were not, and were compounded by bad storytelling.

For a primer on how return to writing meaningful books about sensitive, complex issues in our lives, I would point Mr. Grisham to "Cast of Shadows" by Kevin Guilfoile. Or perhaps even "A Painted House".


Dark Harbor (Stone Barrington, Bk 12) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 6/18/2010


One of the better of the Stone Barrington series. Very enjoyable. Will be vacationing 4 miles from Dark Harbor, Maine in just a few months so the setting had a special interest for me.


Dead Watch
Dead Watch
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 304
Review Date: 2/24/2010


Excellent! Follows in the great character development and plot twists that make Sandford great. Doesn't dwell overmuch on the bloody violence that have slowed my enjoyment of the "Prey" series.


Garden of Evil
Garden of Evil
Author: Edna Buchanan
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/6/2011


Best of the Britt Montero series yet. I kept getting in trouble with my wife because I wanted to wear the headphones in the evening to finish this. A definite yes!


The Godwulf Manuscript (Spenser, Bk 1)
The Godwulf Manuscript (Spenser, Bk 1)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/7/2010


The classic that started the series that lasted 30+ years. A must read, along with nearly all of the other 35 (and counting).


Golf And God
Golf And God
Author: Fr. cedric Pisegna, C.P.
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/29/2010


Loved this book. Has equally sensible tips on the game of golf, and the even more difficult game of life. Have met the author, and he truely reflects his passion for both these topics in person and in print.


Grass Roots (Will Lee, Bk 4) (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 10/22/2010


The castion on this one was too predictable. All the characters with liberal or progressive viewpoints were flawed but basically likeable and sincere of heart. All the characters with conservative viewpoints were one-dimensional, disreputable, and universally to be scorned. The author even had to emphasis physical appearance differences to heap scorn on some. Really Mr. Woods, a huge pimple on the face of the preachers son? Certain you would catch the preacher with a choirboy? And every conservative is a stupid automaton? Perhaps to develop a fuller and more realistic sense of how those you disagree with think, you need to practice some of that acceptance and genuine love your was preaching throughout the novel.

I have always admired Mr. Woods story-telling abilities, but if many of his novels were this blatently partisan and sermonizing I would have to stop reading him. If you like a fanciful political yarn and are either of a more liberal viewpoint or don't mind being insulted while you read then this is the book for you.


Heat from Another Sun (Stuart Haydon, Bk 2)
Heat from Another Sun (Stuart Haydon, Bk 2)
Author: David Lindsey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/26/2010


As a native Houstonian I really enjoyed his portrayal of 1980's Houston with all its interesting and unique characteristics. Story line is riveting but just a little on the typical side. His characters are human, motivated and acting in believable ways. Will be trying "Requiem for a Glass Heart" next.


The Judas Goat (Spenser, Bk 5)
The Judas Goat (Spenser, Bk 5)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/7/2010


Another in a great series. Get hooked!


The Jury
The Jury
Author: Steve Martini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 12/7/2010


Loved this! It just reminded me that I haven't been keeping up with Steve Martini's books the last few years. Paul Madriani is just as interesting and human as ever, and his side-kick Harry is just as humorous. Mystery of the murder kept me in the dark until the very end.


The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1) (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 6/9/2010
Helpful Score: 1


An enjoyable book with tons of action and intrigue. Ending wrapped up just a little too neatly, so it only got three stars. Will be trying "The Apostle" next.


Lost Lake
Lost Lake
Author: Phillip Margolin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 3/29/2010


Well defined and interesting characters. The story line held together, but was very standard right-wing zealot/CIA/Vietnam conspiracy type stuff. Not quite as challenging to the reader as "After Dark" was, but still a good read.


A Man in Full
A Man in Full
Author: Tom Wolfe
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/24/2010


Excellent theme and some very interesting characters. Plot takes some zig-zags but holds together in the end. Some very graphic scenes described.


The O'Reilly Factor
The O'Reilly Factor
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/23/2011


A book review should not be about whether you agree with the author, but how well the book presents itself as both as literary art and as entertertainment.

Excellent book about his early years in the business and how his upbringing and experiences have influenced his views. Being read by him makes it just like one of his shows. If you love Bill O'Reilly's sense of self and wit, or just want to understand what makes him tick, this is for you.


Palindrome (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Palindrome (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Author: Susan Ericksen (Narrator), Stuart Woods
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/26/2011


One of his older books, before he took on such a political tone. I thoroughly enjoyed it.


1 to 20 of 27 - Page: