Irene L H. (NonExistence) - - Reviews

21 to 40 of 240 - Page:
Brighid's Quest (Partholon, Bk 2)
Brighid's Quest (Partholon, Bk 2)
Author: P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/27/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Elphames Choice Book 1 and Brighids Quest Book 2

IF YOU LIKE FANTASY, MYTHOLOGY, AND STRONG INDEPENDENT FEMALE CHARACTERS, THIS IS A BOOK FOR YOU.

Very well written story, with solid character development and plot. This novel is escapist entertainment and geared for teens/young adults. Melodrama comes with the territory! It can stand alone or carry along the adventure as in the series.

Although published by Harlequin Teen, I believe the content may be more appropriate for older teens/young adults. As is expected with a Harlequin Teen novel, this one includes more naughty bits but is no more graphic than what can be seen on T.V.

None of these novels are what I would call literary, but they are entertaining and fun to read. I think there is value in books that are purely for entertainment.


Burning Lamp (Arcane Society, Bk 8) (Dreamlight, Bk 2)
Burning Lamp (Arcane Society, Bk 8) (Dreamlight, Bk 2)
Author: Amanda Quick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 7/9/2010
Helpful Score: 2


BURNING LAMP is the eighth title in the Arcane series and the second entry in the Dreamlight trilogy. Amanda Quicks phenomenal imagination, wonderfully flawed characters, witty repartee, and astounding narrative will keep the reader spellbound as Ms. Quick brings the Lamp from the seventeenth century to the nineteenth century in this wickedly humorous and interesting tale.

Author Amanda Quick (Jayne Anne Krentz) brings her consistently high quality prose to a charming romance. Adalaide is Quick's usual spunky heroine. With her wild-west background, she's a match for the dangerous and brooding Griffin. Griffin is a crimelord who has nothing to do with prostitution and drugs, preferring to deal in gambling. Still, Griffin has lost at love before and knows that a leader in the London underworld can never be safe in a relationship. A fling is possible, but marrying Adelaide will put both of them in danger, and Adelaide is in enough danger as it is.

I view a Quick novel as a sure thing. I'm not always blown away, but I'm always entertained, and before I know it, the book is over. This is not one of my favorites, but it was pretty good.


Casting Spells (Sugar Maple Chronicles, Bk 1)
Casting Spells (Sugar Maple Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Barbara Bretton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 3/21/2011


Not a lot was happening, but the book was full of fantasy paranormal activity, friends shape shifting, along with other unusual happenings..but as a reader I was not drawn into the world enough in the beginning for any of these things to be of interest.

One can't help but be thoroughly enchanted by the delightful ambiance of the story as Ms. Bretton sets a smooth pace for the story, gradually building up to the grand finale. CASTING SPELLS alternates perspectives as the story is told from both Luke and Chloe's points of views. The side story of Gunnar is a poignant one and only adds to the overall mystique as we see it unfold from the perspectives of Luke and Chloe.

I will read the next book to see how it fares.


Casual Hex (Hex, Bk 3)
Casual Hex (Hex, Bk 3)
Author: Vicki Lewis Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 4/1/2010


This entertaining charmer, third in the Hex series (see OVER-HEXED and WILD & HEXY), the latest trip to the eerie hex
capital of the world is funny, clever and delightfully sexy. The cast of mystical characters includes the amorous,
matchmaking duo of Dorcus and Ambrose. Where they work there loving magic with the usual amusing side consequences;
this time a royal hex of a mess. The lead human couple is a likable pairing. They get along from the onset with the strife
coming from the pushy prince. Whispering Forest denizens George the poker-playing dragon, trying to earn his golden
scales, and a group of beer-guzzling raccoons. The storys explanation of the origins of Big Knob, Indiana is absolutely
hilarious.
Dont miss this one!

A terrific romance filled with a wide variety of zany characters, including an ADD dragon The story is very well
written and the plot flows smoothly throughout the book. In a word: Magical.

Love the series. I read it just to see what the characters will be doing next.


The Challenge (Rystani, Bk 1)
The Challenge (Rystani, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Kearney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 9/14/2009


As the two cultures collide, Tessa and Khan will find much to admire and respect in each other's customs. The greatest
challenge after all is of the heart. When you throw an alpha male and an alpha female together there are bound to be
fireworks, and that's what makes this story so much fun to read. Sparks fly as the two go from being combatants to becoming
soul mates. The Challenge is all that and more! Tessa and Kahn are the most three dimensional characters I've seen
in a while and both couldn't be more opposite if they tried--background, species, temperaments, beliefs. It's exactly
why they're perfect for each other and watching them come to the same conclusion was an adventure not to be missed.
I really truly wanted to hate Susan Kearney's "The Challenge." To my consternation, it was written rather well and the
story was genuinely interesting. At the end of the story I found that I did not hate the story so much as I loathed the hero
of the book for being such a "me big strong man, you weak woman" kind of guy. In the end, I not only loved the hero, I
was rooting for the little bugger. You have to read it to understand.

A sequel featuring a secondary character from this story. I am anxiously awaiting Dora's story!


Charmed & Dangerous (Bronwyn the Witch, Bk 1)
Charmed & Dangerous (Bronwyn the Witch, Bk 1)
Author: Candace Havens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 216
Review Date: 2/14/2009


Good Read.
Smart, funny, everything you want in a book that takes you away from it all.
A litle mystery and great guys. Who will win in the end.


Chick with a Charm (Babes on Brooms, Bk 2)
Chick with a Charm (Babes on Brooms, Bk 2)
Author: Vicki Lewis Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 4/11/2011
Helpful Score: 3


Dorcas and Ambrose Lowell have shown up from the tiny town of Big Knob, Ind., to give some advice and Daisy the dog is adorable, they all lend a touch of whimsey to the story.

I'm not in favor of the plot line that takes away someones TOTAL free will. Maybe the sex for me was just a tad to much also you can decide for yourself. But . . . .

Griffin knows he's been drugged and desperately wants his free will back, yet Lily keeps him ensnared. That's not romance--not at all. While the characters are wonderful and the writing superb, I am going to have to recommend you find a better romance book. One with two consenting adults.


Chosen (Anna Strong, Bk 6)
Chosen (Anna Strong, Bk 6)
Author: Jeanne C. Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 4/30/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Anna Strong, vampire and bounty hunter, is about to reach the one year anniversary of being a vampire. Legend says that she is the Chosen One. However, she refuses to believe it. After all, what is so special about her that she would be deemed the Chosen One?

I find it very frustrating that she hasn't told David what she is. I love their working relationship.

Anna takes some nasty shots emotionally and physically as she begins to comprehend how treacherous being the Chosen One can be when you're even unsure of your friends.

So many questions were answered that have been building throughout the series. The twists in this book and the fallout from those events should make the next book really interesting.


Chosen (House of Night, Bk 3)
Chosen (House of Night, Bk 3)
Author: Kristin Cast, P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 869
Review Date: 3/21/2011


I did like where the Casts went with Stevie Rae. The fact that the authors obviously cared not only about her character but about her friendship with Zoe really showed.

The worst part about this whole three boyfriends mess is the fact that Zoe spends nearly the entire book lamenting about how she's a "ho" and doesn't deserve any of them.

And the rivalry between Neferet and Zoe that I had been anticipating? Almost non existent.

It's still fun, self-indulgent, and kind of lightweight. I'll be reading the next one when it comes out.


Collecting Dead Relatives
Collecting Dead Relatives
Author: Laverne Galeenerg-Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A book geared to the lighter side of genealogy! This book if a fun read.

This book will not however, give you very much help in where to or how to go about looking up any information you may need for genealogy information on your ancestors.

This book will bring back memories of stomping through cemeteries, days spent in hot musty libraries, and the days you waited anxiously for the mailman.


Coyote Dreams (The Walker Papers, Bk. 3)
Coyote Dreams (The Walker Papers, Bk. 3)
Author: C. E. Murphy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 5/21/2010


In Coyote Dreams, Joanne makes a comeback. No, she's not perfect, and still gets into trouble, some of it embarrassing,
but she's generally thinking before jumping. More importantly, she has to face the consequences of her previously poor
judgment, and takes responsibility. In short, character growth. Let me repeat that - CHARACTER GROWTH. Now that's
refreshing. Bravo to the author.

Bravo also to the author for her obvious respect of men. Eye-candy cartoon cut-out gigolos are not her shtick, she gives
every major male character a personality, a strength, an identity of his own, regardless of his romantic potential. Gary,
a dominate character in all three books thus far, is allowed to be sexy, romantic, physically strong, solid, dependable,
wonderful, even in his seventies. Morrison (her boss) can be a bit of a stick in the mud, and still have attractive
depths of personal honor and integrity worth exploring. The sexy new man introduced in the first chapter of the book has
common scholastic interests that attract our heroine. Thor, the mechanic who took over Joanne's garage position, adds a
few words of commonsense wisdom that Joanne needs to hear. Her quirky (cross-dressing) friend and co-worker, Billy, has a
depth of passion for his wife that is stunning. Coyote, in his brick red skin, becomes more than just a teacher, but a friend
and protector you can love.

It's a terrific addition to the series, moves the plot forward, and is more than worth your time. But, for me, it's the
characters that make the adventure special.


Cryoburn (Miles Vorkosigan, Bk 14)
Cryoburn (Miles Vorkosigan, Bk 14)
Author: Lois McMaster Bujold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 5/27/2011


This is really an outstanding series.

This last book may not have all the thrills and chills that all the other books have, it is still a good book and I'm glad to have it to read and add to my collection.


Dagger-Star (Epic of Palins, Bk. 1)
Dagger-Star (Epic of Palins, Bk. 1)
Author: Elizabeth Vaughan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 8/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Dagger-Star the much-awaited new series by Elizabeth Vaughan, after the super successful "War" series. While this story
takes place in the same world as the Warlands trilogy, it is far removed geographically and tonally. Ms Vaughn is also very
astute in developing real characters that you will laugh and cry with. This is a rousing fantasy tale. The action heats up
quickly and does not let up. The author builds some strong and interesting characters with some very powerful female leads
and there is a gentle vein of humour that runs through the book. This book is a good fit for fans of both fantasy and romance.
There are a number of twists and turns in this first story that I didn't see coming. While this story will not go on my keeper
shelf there was just some spark missing for me and I am not sure what it was, it was a solid offering. I will continue to look
for the next offering by Ms. Vaughan.
White Star Book Two in the series.


Damned (Witch Hunt, Bk 3) (Silhouette Nocturne, No 22)
Damned (Witch Hunt, Bk 3) (Silhouette Nocturne, No 22)
Author: Lisa Childs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 7/25/2009


A trio of stories dealing with three witch-sisters seperated by circumstances beyond their control.
Witch Hunt: Haunted (Book 1)
Witch Hunt: Persecuted (Book 2)

An exciting urban romantic fantasy that will appeal to readers of both genres. This bewitching tale centers on two
downtrodden, both beautiful but flawed people who find each other at a time when each has a personal crisis, who manage
to find redemption for themselves and the ones who love them and need to bring them home. Although in Irina's case hers
is deadly. There is plenty of action as someone tries to kill Irina while Ty tries to keep her safe. The changing
relationship between Irina and Ty enhance an exhilarating thriller in which love might not prove strong enough to defeat evil.


Dance with the Devil (Dark-Hunter, Bk 4)
Dance with the Devil (Dark-Hunter, Bk 4)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 976
Review Date: 1/19/2011


This is one of her older books [2003] that still can get you revved up. Has all the action, drama, love, mystery you ever want in a book.


Dark Celebration (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 14)
Dark Celebration (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 14)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 454
Review Date: 6/9/2009


Christmas is never safe. Mages, and Vampires oh my.
Plots, and plans, to rule all come forth.
Enjoy the yuletide.


Dark Embrace (Masters of Time, Bk 3)
Dark Embrace (Masters of Time, Bk 3)
Author: Brenda Joyce
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 317
Review Date: 12/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The third book in a series, DARK EMBRACE would best be enjoyed if the two previous books in The Masters Of Times series have
been read -- readers need to be familiar with Joyce's alternate universe to fully appreciate the very rapid actions
of characters and plot development. That said; you will no doubt enjoy DARK EMBRACE!


Dark Magic (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 4)
Dark Magic (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 4)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 287
Review Date: 5/28/2009


Like all her books this is just as good.
The DARK Series is now up to about 23 books,
I [me] have finally come to an end.
Although I like her books this is a little much.
The series may have worn a little thin.


Dark Possession (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 15)
Dark Possession (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 15)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 319
Review Date: 6/9/2009


What Can I Say!
There is always a little something extra, that unexpected twist.
Carpathian meets Wolf. He vs She can they merge.
Plots and counter plots abound. Good read all around.
This leads into the next book of Solange and Zacarias.


Dark Slayer (Carpathians, Bk 20)
Dark Slayer (Carpathians, Bk 20)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 12/19/2010


My appreciation for this series has been lagging for some time so I was pleasantly surprised to enjoy this latest installment as much as I did. I do feel like there are to many unanswered questions about the Carpathians I have grown to love. Maybe Ms Feehan will start to pull it all together and give us the *ending* we all deserve on this series.

The love story is touching and well-linked to the story line. Familiar Carpathians and vampires return in this book. All of the characters are consistent with prior novels and show real personal growth.

I'm not convinced that the new elements [extra Carpathian language] make them any more interesting than the early paperback offerings. I still miss the simple love stories we had in the first half of this series. But I am glad I didn't miss this one with Ivory and Razvan and their family of wolves. There were some really cool aspects to Ivory's wolf pack and her magical connection to the wolves.


21 to 40 of 240 - Page: