Misty C. (alaskaiceyrider) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 30 - Page:
the art of landscape painting
the art of landscape painting
Author: walter brooks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/2/2012


A beautiful book. Very helpful.


Bath Tangle
Bath Tangle
Author: Georgette Heyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/16/2011


A quintessential Heyer. A charming, sweet period romance.


Beautiful Borders
Beautiful Borders
Author: Jane Maday
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/2/2012


A beautiful book. Very helpful.


Bravissimo (Design Originals Can Do Crafts)
Bravissimo (Design Originals Can Do Crafts)
Author: Cathy Booth
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/26/2011


Not what I was expecting. Needs very specific materials.


Carl's Afternoon in the Park
Carl's Afternoon in the Park
Author: Alexandra Day
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 6/14/2011


The "Good Dog, Carl" books are among the very best picture books I have ever found. I am a teacher and I use them constantly with my reluctant and struggling readers. They are great for teaching story retell, picture clues, prediction, and inferences.


Carl's Christmas
Carl's Christmas
Author: Alexandra Day
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/23/2011


Any book by Alexandra Day is worth owning, but the Carl books are outstanding. As a teacher I use them with reluctant and at-risk readers; as a (hopefully) soon to be grandmother I am collecting them all for my son's future contributions to the family.


Charity Girl
Charity Girl
Author: Georgette Heyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/25/2011


Another Heyer gem!


Collage (Step-By-Step)
Collage (Step-By-Step)
Author: Jim Robins, Philip Steele
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/2/2012


A beautiful book. Very helpful.


December: Making Books with Pockets: Grades 1-3
December: Making Books with Pockets: Grades 1-3
Author: Michelle Noble Barnett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/9/2016


Lots of fun and educational projects.


Derelict for Trade (Solar Queen, Bk 6)
Derelict for Trade (Solar Queen, Bk 6)
Author: Sherwood Smith, Andre Norton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/1/2012


I grew up on Andre Norton and was really looking forward to reading some new ones. I was very disappointed by this book, and the others I ordered with Sherwood Smith. They are terrible. They are so consciously PC that they border on the idiotic (frontier traders constantly finding themselves in life-threatening situations that don't carry weapons?), the characters are completely out of character, and the excitement of exploring the unknown has been replaced by the melodrama of the soap opera.


Diggers (Bromeliad, Bk 2)
Diggers (Bromeliad, Bk 2)
Author: Terry Pratchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/8/2016


If you are a Pratchett fan you know this trilogy will delight and amuse. If you are new to his work you are in for a treat. Like P.G. Wodehouse, Terry Pratchett is one of a kind, blending unparalleled humor with a delightful mixed-up jumble of philosophy, science, and fairy tale. As always, pick up a Terry Pratchett novel and prepare to laugh.


Echoes in Time (Time Traders, Bk 6)
Echoes in Time (Time Traders, Bk 6)
Author: Sherwood Smith, Andre Norton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/2/2012


Not up to solo Norton, but a semi-fun read.


Fatal Terrain
Fatal Terrain
Author: Dale Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/1/2015


Fatal Terrain is a 1997 techno-thriller novel written by Dale Brown. It is set a few weeks after the ending of Shadows of Steel.

Despite the liberal posters and armchair military experts, I loved this book! Sure, many of the weapons and situations are fictional .
The excessive military jargon was almost humorous and actually fun to read. Brown makes sure you know what all the acronyms mean. The situations and flight duals with jets and missiles were great. The plot had some great twists.It had me looking up all the different aircraft used. A fun and hard to put down book, I would highly recommend it!


Footsteps in the Dark
Footsteps in the Dark
Author: Georgette Heyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 9/25/2011


Heyer is always a delight. A wonderful cozy mystery.


Forest Animals Coloring Book (Dover Coloring Book)
Forest Animals Coloring Book (Dover Coloring Book)
Author: Dianne Gaspas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/2/2012


A beautiful book.


Golden Buddha (Oregon Files, Bk 1)
Golden Buddha (Oregon Files, Bk 1)
Author: Clive Cussler, Craig Dirgo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 6/14/2011


A typical Cussler rolicking adventure. My husband loves them.


Good Dog, Carl
Good Dog, Carl
Author: Alexandra Day
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/30/2011


Excellent book.


Good Dog, Carl
Good Dog, Carl
Author: Alexandra Day
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/26/2011
Helpful Score: 1


The Good Dog, Carl books are excellent!


Great Rubber Stamping : Ideas, Tips and Techniques
Great Rubber Stamping : Ideas, Tips and Techniques
Author: Jamie Kilmartin, Judy Ritchie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 4/23/2011


This is a gorgeous book. Lots of very creative ideas.


I Bought My Love a Tabby Cat
I Bought My Love a Tabby Cat
Author: Colin West, Caroline Anstey (Illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/19/2016


The illustrations are cute, though nothing special. I was disappointed in the book,overall. I got it to use with my kindergarten class, but probably won't read it again. There really isn't any lesson or skill I can tie it to.


1 to 20 of 30 - Page: