Joan K. (survive) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 98 - Page:
Abandon the Night (Envy Chronicles, Bk 3)
Abandon the Night (Envy Chronicles, Bk 3)
Author: Joss Ware
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 8/25/2010


I really enjoy this series and it just keeps getting better. The premise is diffent from any other post-apocalypse world. This book gives us lots more information on where Zoe came from and why she is out for revenge against Raul. And her on-going affair with Quent is resolved very satisfactorily. Quent finally goes after his father, one of the Immortal Strangers who call themselves the Elite. Their name gives you a clue to their mind set. The connection to Atlantis is fascinating as is the reason for the "Evolution". Zoe and Quent team up for lots of action and adventure.

With wonderful female characters such as Remy and Marley and interesting males such as Fence, there are so many potential stories it's going to be hard waiting for the next book.


Alpha Female
Alpha Female
Author: April Christofferson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 12/4/2009


I got his book thinking it was paranormal about wolves which it is not.

It is a suspense mystery played out at Yellowstone National Park after wolves have been introduced into the park and involves Rangers, law enforcement and enviromentalists against Oil & Gas Co. schemers, a corrupt Congressman and poachers. I particularly liked Will McCarroll, the ranger. It is a good read with romance involving a young judge combined with murder/suspense and I wsn't sorry I got it.


Beast Behaving Badly (Pride, Bk 5)
Beast Behaving Badly (Pride, Bk 5)
Author: Shelly Laurenston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 6/3/2010


I agree with previous reviews, Shelly Laurenston always delivers the humor, the action and the heat and this keeper is no exception. Although it could stand alone, there are so many characters and references to previous books it could leave new readers with lots of unanswered questions about the packs, clans, hybrids and pure breds.
Blayne and her father take tough love to a whole new level. Blayne's "go with the flow" attitude and Bo's obsessive/compulsive behavior would seem to elimate any possible relationship but instead leads to such hilarious,laugh out loud situations that my family was looking at me like I was crazy because I was laughing until I was almost in tears. Blayne is such a do-gooder trying to fix everybody and make them happy.
I would have liked more information on the group that was trying to kidnap Blayne, instead they seemed to be an after-thought. But the actions was great as usual. I wanted to hear more about the Derby Girls championship since that was what Bo was helping Blayne train for but it was just skimmed over with no details at all.
All in all I loved this book and gave it 5 stars. Can't wait for the next one to be released. Since Dee and Ric are still dancing around each other maybe their story will be coming soon.


Beneath the Skin (Maker's Song, Bk 3)
Beneath the Skin (Maker's Song, Bk 3)
Author: Adrian Phoenix
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 2/8/2010


I am fascinated with this paranormal series but I'm not exactly sure why. It is interwoven with Vampires, mythology, Fallen, government plots and love. It is so different and sometimes difficult to read about things that were done by a secret government agency to rock star Dante when he was a child. His memories are returning, causing complete chaos and almost driving him insane, except there is Heather. She is an ex-FBI agent with a grim past of her own who loves Dante and gave up everyting to be with him and help him even when he scares her silly. There are so many players in this game who want Dante for their own. He is Vampire and Fallen. He is a destroyer and a creator. He is so unique there hasn't been anyone like him in thousands of years. Dante is searching for his missing father,Lucien, who cut all ties with Dante to protect him when Lucien was taken by Gabriel and the Fallen. Heather trusts Dante knowing that even in the midst of chaos he loves her and will never harm her. She must help him control his power that is growing stronger and wilder before he destroys everything. Their enemies are powerful and don't worry about collateral damage. Everyone has an agenda. This book had a satisfying finish but left me wanting more, wanting Dante to go after those who harmed all he loved and give them what they deserve. I am so looking forward to the next book.
This is not a stand alone story, you will be terribly lost without reading the first 2 books. It is on my keeper shelf with the rest of the series.


Beyond the Night (Envy Chronicles, Bk 1)
Beyond the Night (Envy Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Joss Ware
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 1/21/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is the beginning of a new series and I loved the story. It is a change from the werewolves, vampires, and such although there are immortal "Strangers" in this story. They are human's and have something to do with what happened to change the world. It is a post-apocalypse world where several men who were caught in a deep cave during the destruction of civilization woke 50 yrs. later and walked out of the cave into No Man's Land where Las Vegas is along the Pacific Ocean and the weather is tropical.
Elliott is one of those men, a doctor, who now has extraordinary powers to heal with his hands but it is a gift with a price. Jade was born into this new world and lives in Envy(New Vegas=NV)as a runner...think Kevin Costner in The Postman. She was a captive of the Strangers & now wants revenge. The story building is great and the interaction between Elliott and Jade is good. There is lots of information to learn yet and the next two stories follow quickly. Almost went on my keeper shelf but decided to put it up for adoption so others could enjoy it as much as I did. Looking forward to the next installments.

Beyond The Night
Embrace the Night Eternal -Feb 2010
Abandon The Night - March 2010


Beyond the Rain (Realms Beyond, Bk 1)
Beyond the Rain (Realms Beyond, Bk 1)
Author: Jess Granger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 9/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked this book. I tried this author due to a favorable book review. It is in the style of Susan Grant with space ships and lots of action and unusual characters. The action starts on page one and continues at a steady pace. A Union of different worlds, each with distinctive people very well drawn. A warrior heroine, Captain Cyani, with a don't touch me attitude who rescues a prisoner, Soren a Byralen with a need for touch to stay alive. An evil enemy who tries to enslave the unique people in the Union. During the rescue, they crash land on a remote Union outpost. Captain Cyani,needs to get back to her world, Azra, in order to keep her twin brother safe from the Queen of the Celibate Sisterhood who seems unusually harsh toward Cyani's family. Resolving the conflict was inevitable, it is a romance after all but gettting there was adventurous and fun. We meet Cyani's twin who is a complex man and I hope his story is next. With all the interesting people there are lots of stories to choose from for a great series.


Big Bad Wolf (Others, Bk 2)
Big Bad Wolf (Others, Bk 2)
Author: Christine Warren
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 2/11/2010
Helpful Score: 3


When this book came, it sounded so interesting I put down the book I was reading and started on this one. I finished it in a day, it was such a fun read. Not extremely indepth or complicated hero and heroine, a straight forward werewolf romance that I loved.


Blood Born (Vampire, Bk 1)
Blood Born (Vampire, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Howard, Linda Jones
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 8/3/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I am surprised I haven't heard more about this duo because I really liked this book. I have already put the next in the series on my wish list. Luca is the Blood Born of the title- the rare vampire with a mother & father who were vampires. It is all about the vampire community, politics, ruling Council and a rebellion brewing from the vampires who think they should subjugate the inferior humans of this world. The humans play a supporting role in this book, those that are important are the Conduits who are descended from Immortal Warriors who guard the human population. These Warriors live in a alternate world and must be called here by their descendants. That is what the Rebel Vampires don't want to happen so they are hunting and destroying the Conduits. Sara is one of these Conduits who is saved from Vampires by Luca, the Council's Enforcer. Luca is surprised to realize that Sara is able to remember him, humans always forget him as soon as he is out of sight. That makes her important to him, important enough for him to guard. The romance is not a major part of the story but is none-the-less satifying. There is a huge battle that does not really decide anyything but leads into the next book. There is a lot of background story in this book, so I think the rest of the series will be even better.


A Bride by Christmas: Home for Christmas / The Wise Virgin / Tumbleweed Christmas
Review Date: 5/13/2009


Home for Christmas was formula Heather Graham Civil War romance; I enjoyed Jo Beverly's The Wise Virgin and wished it was longer, with knights & castles & adventure. I didn't think Candace Camp was as good, with several glaring plot holes such as leaving her son, who from the story line I assumed was approx. 9 or 10, alone in a new home on a ranch as soon as she arrived and went to work at the house nearby for the day with no concern about where he was or what he was doing. I was surprised because I really enjoy her writing.


Burning Alive (Sentinel Wars, Bk 1)
Burning Alive (Sentinel Wars, Bk 1)
Author: Shannon K. Butcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 165
Review Date: 6/1/2009


This is a new series with a new take on the demon/monster vs immortal warriors. The Sentinels losing leaves off their life tree body art leading to the loss of their soul is the urgency to find mates. I was very fustrated with the heroine in this first book, the rational for the conflict with "her" warrior was a dream she has had for years that she is sure will come true. That premise very quickly grew annoying. The series seems like it will be interesting but I was halfway through the book before the Sentinel Wars was explained and only in bits and pieces so you actually had to fill in the blanks with your imagination. No wonder the heroine was confused. I will definitely look for the next book in the series because the Sentinals all seem very interesting. I hope the next book is Lexi's story because she seems like a real warrior woman.


Burning Dawn (Angels of the Dark, Bk 3)
Burning Dawn (Angels of the Dark, Bk 3)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 10/5/2015


I loved this book I ordered it not realizing it was connected to the Lords series which I was not a big.fan of

The story was a little more graphic then what I usually read but not obnoxious. I liked the interaction between Thane and Elin, any misunderstandings were cleared up without a lot of unnecessary angst. Elin was adorable and cold-hearted Thane melted after a brief resistance. The story was action packed from the first page and never let up. It was interesting reading about the different types of angels.

Since this is the third book of the Angels of the Dark, I now want to order the first 2 books and hopefully there is a 4th. Thank you Ms Showalter for another interesting series.


The Capture of the Earl of Glencrae (Cynster Sisters, Bk 3)
The Capture of the Earl of Glencrae (Cynster Sisters, Bk 3)
Author: Stephanie Laurens
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 3/6/2012


First there was Heather than Eliza and now Angelica Cynster who all fall victim to the kidnapper from the Highlands of Scotland. Finally we learn who is behind the kidnappings, the Earl of Glencrae, Domonic, and why he is so determine to get one of the sisters. It is a very enjoyable romp, if a little too wordy at times. Angelica is so intelligent and spirited, she is the perfect match for Domonic, the poor man doesn't realize what hit him. If you read the other 2 stories you will recognize the interminal journey to Scotland....again. Enough already, been there-done that twice before. About two-thirds of the way through the book the good story starts and then it is a rush to the end, too rushed.
But now the next Cynster daughter gets the jewelry, so supposedly we will be off on a new adventure soon.


Cat's Lair (Leopard)
Cat's Lair (Leopard)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 5/19/2015
Helpful Score: 5


Biggest disappointment of all MS. Feehan's books. I enjoyed most of the Leopard series but this was a complete waste of money.

The beginning was interesting enough that I continued reading, the book is over 400 pages. The heroine is a young girl living off the grid and hiding from the scary, Leopard bad man, taking self-defense classes and working in a coffee shop. The hero, a Leopard shifter, teaches self defense classes and is interested in the heroine, Cat. It turns out the DEA is also searching for her and they find her first, terrifying her. The hero kidnaps Cat and takes her to his ranch. It turns out Cat is also a Leopard shifter but she doesn't know it.

And for the next 300 pages there is dominant sex on the floor, the table, the kitchen counter, the wall, the bathroom and even the bed occasionally. Really did a lot of skimming because it was the same sex scene word for word over and over and over again. I have nothing against sex scenes as part of a good story but not at the expense of the plot.

Finally got to the expected big fight scene at the end of the book and it was over. finished. the end.

There was an unbelievable lack of plot or story in this book.


Chains of Ice (Chosen Ones, Bk 3)
Chains of Ice (Chosen Ones, Bk 3)
Author: Christina Dodd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 175
Review Date: 9/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I liked this latest edition to the Chosen. In the beginning Genny was very annoying and I wanted her to grow a backbone which she eventually did, thankfully. John was the strong silent type but he also had to deal with the issues that sent him into hiding and I really liked him. The H/H took a while to deal with their problems and I would have liked more interaction or closeness between them. The final wrap-up seemed rushed.
It would be a good idea to read books 1 & 2 or you might be a little lost since the back story regarding the destruction of the other Chosen was not told until well into the story.


Crown of Crystal Flame (Tairen Soul, Bk 5)
Crown of Crystal Flame (Tairen Soul, Bk 5)
Author: C. L. Wilson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 2/15/2011


I absolutely love this series and all the books are keepers for me. The final book was not the best but was still a great story - the battle of Light over Darkness. Ellie came such a long way from the frightened young person to the capable mature woman-warrior. I thought after all the angst with Ellie not able to truemate with Rain, it all happened so smoothly in the end I wondered what all the fuss was about.

SPOILER ALERT

It didn't tie up all the loose ends in the final chapter so I am guessing there have to be more stories coming particularly Milliandra and Nicolene and the babies.


Dagger-Star (Epic of Palins, Bk. 1)
Dagger-Star (Epic of Palins, Bk. 1)
Author: Elizabeth Vaughan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 6/4/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I really liked this book and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys magic, mages and strong female characters. I hope there are more books coming in this series. Very interesting secondary characters and I'm sure there is a story behind those magic goats. The Red Glove thing seemed a little contrived, why not black, etc.? My only problem with the story was why so many had the mark of the Chosen? I read all the Warprize books and have put this author on my list to watch for.


Dark Predator (Dark, Bk 22)
Dark Predator (Dark, Bk 22)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 10/24/2012


This series has been hit or miss for me lately but I could not say I hated this book. It was waaay too wordy and could have used some better editing.
Since Margarita could not speak we got lots and lots of her thoughts. Zacharias is one of the oldest Carpathian hunters and is very dark and grouchy. And he can hear her thoughts which makes for some of the only light-hearted moments - he refers to her as his beautiful lunatic. He expects instant obedience and Margarita will obey as long as she doesn't disagree with him. The have an entirely different dynamic than other lifemates. Zacharias is very close to turning so he doesn't see in color or feel emotions unless he is connected to Margarita. And he has forgotten what love and cherish means so he has a lot of catching up to do as a hunter with a lifemate to please. This story picks up immediately after the last one in the series but it is strickly about these two only with very little action or advancing the story line which was very disappointing.
I no longer buy this series but wait to get a used copy.


Dark Slayer (Dark, Bk 20)
Dark Slayer (Dark, Bk 20)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 9/7/2009
Helpful Score: 6


I loved this book. It is Razvan's story which I have been so looking forward to. But it is mostly Ivory's story and I think it is the best book yet. It is very emotional about two tortured souls, both mentally and physically, and how they find each other. The bonding of Ivory and Razvan as they learn to trust each other is heartwrenching and wonderful. It takes the two of them working together to go after and defeat the evil mage.


Dark Warrior Unbroken (Talions, Bk 2)
Dark Warrior Unbroken (Talions, Bk 2)
Author: Alexis Morgan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 9/8/2009


I have been following this series, the Talions, and this book is a little different. Although it is about a Talion warrior and his mate, it adds more to the history and future outlook of this species. It does not have the violence of other books but does continue the storyline directly from the previous book. This mate is human and is investigating the death of her mentor using her enhanced senses and the Talions are trying to block her investigation because the murderer was one of their own and already disposed of. Her warrior is hunting renegades preying on humans. Although it is a stand alone story, it would be more interesting if you already read the previous books. I enjoyed this book and put it with my "keepers".


Dark Warrior Untamed (Talions, Bk 3)
Dark Warrior Untamed (Talions, Bk 3)
Author: Alexis Morgan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 12/18/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I agree with everything Stacy said except I took 1 star off for the grammar errors. They were so distracting for the first 100 pages that I had to reread lots of sentences just to make sense of what was being said. Grey and Piper were not as intense as most of the Talion couples. But I enjoyed the story line, it was a quick read. I am glad I didn't buy this book instead swapped for it. I will be looking for more Paladin and Talion stories since I enjoy both series.


1 to 20 of 98 - Page: