Kimberly B. (mskimmyb) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4) (Unabridged Audio CD)
Review Date: 9/23/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A really good addition to the Women's Murder Club series - this was a can't put it down murder mystery wrapped around an edge of your seat court case. I loved the change in format from the previous offerings, although it did get a little slow in the middle. This was fun to listen to.


Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 6/11/2010


This is a clever collection of short personal stories from Chelsea Handler, of Chelsea Lately. It's rude and crude, and sometimes you wonder how she still has friends, but each story is funny and can make a long commute pretty enjoyable. I wish the stories would have had more of a connection, or even some sort of point to them, but each one is funny in its own right.


the beach house
the beach house
Author: james patterson
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/26/2011


This is a quick, interesting read. The story develops well and is engrossing. I got this on CD for commutes, and the reader and the story made the commutes go very quickly. I recommend. :)


Bridal Bargains: Secrets to Throwing a Fantastic Wedding on a Realistic Budget
Review Date: 12/23/2009


Great tips on saving money. I found it really helpful during the planning of my wedding, and have since given it as a gift to several friends who were getting married.


Dark Demon (Carpathians, Bk 13)
Dark Demon (Carpathians, Bk 13)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 813
Review Date: 7/29/2006


An interesting, exciting read. Fast, easy to follow, sometimes redundant, but a quick read.


Dark Horse (Elena Estes, Bk 1)
Dark Horse (Elena Estes, Bk 1)
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 442
Review Date: 7/29/2006


Interesting, twisty, nicely written. I enjoyed this book.


Deception Point
Deception Point
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 8/14/2006


An interesting, exciting mystery about deception in NASA and the government. I enjoyed it and would recommend.


The Fountainhead
The Fountainhead
Author: Ayn Rand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 369
Review Date: 7/29/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A bit repetitive, but overall pretty good (if you like Ayn Rand). An interesting look at her political views through architecture.


From the Corner of His Eye
From the Corner of His Eye
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 253
Review Date: 7/31/2006


Fast-paced and a quick read, I just wish the ending of some of Dean Koontz's books didn't wander off aimlessly. However, the first 3/4 of the book make it well worth the read.


The Host
The Host
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1190
Review Date: 2/3/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Body snatchers from the snatchers point of view. This is another supernatural teen-like romance from the Twilight creator, which is pretty well written and I found myself very engrossed in. It took me only a week to tear through almost 700 pages, and I wanted more at the end. I loved it.


The Poisonwood Bible
The Poisonwood Bible
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 430
Review Date: 7/29/2006


I enjoyed this book, although at times it is hard to read (emotionally). You do get drawn into the characters. The end is a bit drawn out, but overall a pretty good read.


Prodigal Son (Dean Koontz's Frankenstein, Bk 1)
Prodigal Son (Dean Koontz's Frankenstein, Bk 1)
Author: Dean Koontz, Kevin J. Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 588
Review Date: 11/13/2011


Great start to the Frankenstein series by Dean Koontz. It's a bit wordy at times, but it's fresh and fun and a great read otherwise.


Red Lily (In the Garden, Bk 3) (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 7/26/2011


This is a sweet little romance with a paranormal slant that was quick, engrossing, and well written. It's easy to get sucked into the character's lives, and (for the audio book), the reading is smooth and flows well. It's a pleasant book to listen to on long drives.


Sandra Brown CD Collection 3: Slow Heat in Heaven, Best Kept Secrets, Breath of Scandal
Review Date: 5/20/2012


These 3 books were not exactly what I had anticipated from Sandra Brown - characters, particularly male ones, that were hard to like, much less hope for a happy ending for them with the female protagonist. I have to say I wasn't the biggest fan of these books.


She's Come Undone
She's Come Undone
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1451
Review Date: 7/29/2006


A bit depressing, but overall quite an interesting read.


Shopaholic & Baby (Shopaholic, Bk 5) (Abridged Audio CD)
Shopaholic & Baby (Shopaholic, Bk 5) (Abridged Audio CD)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 8/28/2010


A fun addition to the shopaholic series, following the drama of Becky as she and her husband prepare for the birth of their baby. It's fun and lighthearted and easy to listen to.


Skinny Bitch
Skinny Bitch
Author: Kim Barnouin, Rory Freedman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 601
Review Date: 4/11/2009
Helpful Score: 5


This was a very questionable book. I liked some of the ideas - thinking more about what you put in your body, getting real about that kind of stuff. But, some of the information is blatantly, and possibly dangerously, incorrect. And the hammering of the USDA, meat industry, etc., and references to 'rotting meat', are tiresome and disgusting. I know they're trying to get their points across, but some of their advice and suggestions are potentially very dangerous in this society. I found some of their advice to be bordering on encouraging eating disorders (fast for up to 7 days, get used to and enjoy the feeling of being empty, eat only fruit for breakfast, if possible). The menus at the end are actually pretty good - if they could have presented their approach to veganism without the whole chapter on how animals are tortured and the government is just in it for $, I could have been more positive about the book.


Something Borrowed (Darcy & Rachel, Bk 1)
Something Borrowed (Darcy & Rachel, Bk 1)
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 6/19/2011


I guess I'm just not a fan of a book that celebrates, and rewards, infidelity. While the book is well written, I didn't find any of the characters to be likeable, and I found it difficult to finish. If I didn't have to read this for book club, I probably would have stopped reading it before I finished. However - it is a best-seller, so I imagine some people like it. I'm just not one of those people.


The Undomestic Goddess (AudioCD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 6/21/2010


This is another great read from Sophie Kinsella. Cute, witty and fun, this book is quick and easy. Great for the beach or the airport.


Velocity
Velocity
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 497
Review Date: 7/29/2006


Very good, very fast, twisty and turny and fascinating to read. I'm a big Dean Koontz fan, and this one did not disappoint.


1 to 20 of 20