Tiffany L. - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Blow Fly (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 12)
Blow Fly (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 12)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 717
Review Date: 8/5/2007
Helpful Score: 6


Patricia Cornwell is going downhill fast, or should I say she's gone downhill fast. Her early books were entertaining and well written, this book is full of poor grammar and written at such a juvenille level that I found it laugh out loud funny. I used to be a huge fan of the Scarpetta series, but with this latest book, I'm off the bandwagon. The good news that if you get it here, you won't have spent any money. I belive this book would be great for leveling a crooked table.


Collapse : How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed
Collapse : How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed
Author: Jared Diamond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 5/9/2010


I was intimidated to read this book, due to its heavy educational bent, but the book is well written, easy to read and a must read for anyone and everyone who plans on having a future on this earth.


Falling Leaves : The Memoir of an Unwanted Chinese Daughter
Falling Leaves : The Memoir of an Unwanted Chinese Daughter
Author: Adeline Yen Mah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 294
Review Date: 5/9/2010


Every Chinese descendant has skelatons in their closet. Sometimes they're better off left there. This author lived a life of privilege and luxury, whining all the while. Many more were not as fortuante as her. The Author's embitterment did benefit her via a sweet book deal. While it's easy to feel sorry for her, the "poor me theme" can only carry the book so far.


Housekeeping
Housekeeping
Author: Marilynne Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 200
Review Date: 8/5/2007
Helpful Score: 9


Blech. I had to read this for my bookclub, and then the lady who chose it decided NOT to select this book. One good thing about book club is that it forces me to choose books outside my comfort zone. A bad thing is that I waste time reading garbage like this. Other reviewers say the author's writing is lyrical. I disliked the story so much, that I could not get around to enjoying anything about the writing style. Over and over instead of feeling sorry for the two sisters, I just felt like they were whiners who couldn't get their lives together. I have little tolerance for people who only complain about their unhappiness and want to do little to improve their lots in life.


The Known World
The Known World
Author: Edward P. Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 477
Review Date: 1/3/2009
Helpful Score: 15


Just because a book has won a pulitzer prize and everyone around you says its a great book does not make it a good read. I found the prose hard to digest and the story drawn out and frankly boring. The characters seemeed one dimensional and there far too many tangents.


Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Author: John Grogan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1402
Review Date: 5/9/2010


A fun memoir that will entertain any animal lover. A very easy and quick read. Grogan hit it out of the ballpark with this book. I wouldn't waste my time or money on his other novel, The Long Road Home.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5403
Review Date: 8/5/2007
Helpful Score: 84


I found this book, trite, predictable and overly wrought with sentimental platitudes. The story isn't that original or exciting, and the characters are shallow and easy to dislike. Although many others really enjoy this book-as it has been on the best sellers list, i just couldn't stand it. If you like the Hallmark channel and Little House on the Prairie, you'll probably like this.


Stingray Bit My Nipple!: True Stories from Real Travelers
Stingray Bit My Nipple!: True Stories from Real Travelers
Author: Erik Torkells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 5/9/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A quick read, a compilation of short stories submitted by readers of the budget travel magazine. Hysterical, endearing, and at times flat out gross.


Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5134
Review Date: 5/9/2010


Abhorrantly and patheticly written, so much so that I couldn't get past the poor grammar and sentence structuring. The watered down story is suitable for levelling a wobbly table. I couldn't make it past chapter 3.


1 to 9 of 9