Pamela L. (grandpam) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 60 - Page:
An Accidental Murder: A Yellow Cottage Cosy Mystery (The Yellow Cottage Cosy Mysteries) (Volume 1)
Review Date: 1/4/2017


More...more I say. The lovely person who sent me this novella also sent along a copy of the short story that explains it all. I am including it along with the book. I love it. A short enjoyable read and with a little more character development I can see this turning into a delightful series. At least I hope it does. Give it a try.... Neat premise, delightful sidekick with a little surprise.


The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
Author: Mark Twain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/14/2010


A "must" read. Most of us had to read it at one time or another in school but it never loses it charm. Tom, who really is quite an upright little man even if Aunt Polly constantly despairs of him and Huck who has just been thrown away by his "paw." Becky has already acquired her femal wiles and they all have their great adventure in the cave with a real live honest-to-good mean Indian who would just as soon kill you as see you. Always a good read and then go on to read "Huck Finn" and "Puddinghead Wilson" and "An American Yankee in King Arthur's Court." Oh heck read them all, Mark Twain was, is and will be an American treasure with a sense of irony and humor to laugh at ourselves.


The Amber Room
The Amber Room
Author: Steve Berry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 10/14/2010


Mr. Berry never ever disappoints. I think this is the second book I have read of his and I have gone on to read them all. The one particularly caught my attention because of the detailed description of the opulence of Russia under the Romanoff's and what became of their treasures. Read it, it's a great read.


The American Heiress
The American Heiress
Author: Daisy Goodwin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 6/2/2013
Helpful Score: 2


I really wanted to like this book...but I didn't. Ms. Goodwin certainly has the credentials to be a wonderful author but this read like a junior in high school dashed off a book on a whim. You do like Cora but she is the only one that appears likeable. None of them are fleshed out enough to even care about. Even her loyal maid is unexplainable. Characters do things that make no sense and then the consequences, if they are explained at all do not meet with what has happened previously. Seriously, pass on this one.


The Angel (BPD-FBI, Bk 2)
The Angel (BPD-FBI, Bk 2)
Author: Carla Neggers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/14/2010


Quite an intriguing tale dealing with the past and present and old-wives tales and ghost stories that put a chill down your spine. You know there is no such things as ghostly hauntings and evil lurking from the past, don't you. Good read.


Angel's Verdict (Beaufort & Company, Bk 4)
Angel's Verdict (Beaufort & Company, Bk 4)
Author: Mary Stanton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 7/4/2011


"'Two puppies shy of a litter' EB said with a little touch of indignation." Bree's secretary in her paying office is a love of a woman and needed to lighten the atmosphere occassionally with a little bit of silly. Loved this book. Ms Stanton is going from strength to strength in this series. This fourth books does not focus so much on family history-which is never fully explained-and more on Bree's personality and developing the characters. I did not guess the ending and it did not appear out of nowhere but is logically explained. I am not a regular follower of her Hemlock Falls mysteries although I have read a good many of them but Bree and company are always on my wish list. I am not particularly involved with the vampire/ghosts/ghouls genre prevalent just now in the mystery world but this one is special. Take a chance, you will like the "gang."


The Babylonian Codex (Tobie Guinness/Jax Alexander, Bk 3)
The Babylonian Codex (Tobie Guinness/Jax Alexander, Bk 3)
Author: C. S. Graham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/2/2011


Suspend belief and you could possibly enjoy this book. C.S.Grahan explains several of the organizations portrayed in this book actually exists and of course several are fictional. Sorry Dan Brown/Steve Berry wannabe. Some exciting passages, nice summer read, overall, just mediocre.


Bishop to Queen's Knight (Garfield Falls, Bk 1)
Bishop to Queen's Knight (Garfield Falls, Bk 1)
Author: Bartenn Mills
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/15/2017


This certainly is not my usual cozy read; however, after saying that I absolutely loved this book. The plot is a tad dark and the hero is flawed, but it caught my attention immediately and I could not put it down. The characters are rich and interesting and some of the types I am sure you know. I read it in one sitting, till 1:30 a.m. this morning. I adore English country-side mysteries and any Southern mystery is always first on my list. Give this a try, you will be pleasantly surprised.


A Brush with Death (Penny Brannigan, Bk 2)
A Brush with Death (Penny Brannigan, Bk 2)
Author: Elizabeth J. Duncan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/9/2011


Puzzling - I find Penny a most attractive character; However, I am not very sure why she and Victoria are best friends. Oh, I know but they seem to be at odds with each other and although that doesn't take away from the friendship (who's going to tell that you have brocolli in your teeth) but Victoria seems disapproving at alot of Penny's behavior. Anyway, this second is a little long-winded and could have used a better edit but that is the only reason I am not giving it five stars. I am anxiously awaiting the Christmas one and I hope Penny gets her house in order and stops being so melancoly about Emma. Enjoy


Cinderella Six Feet Under (Fairy Tale Fatal, Bk 2)
Cinderella Six Feet Under (Fairy Tale Fatal, Bk 2)
Author: Maia Chance
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/17/2015


Remember Scooby-Do and The Mystery Machine? This book could well be a episode, it would be more enjoyable with Scooby and the Gang. Sophomoric, rambling unimportant pages with no purpose in mind, weak mystery, boring, and I did not even like the characters. I skipped about 50 pages and read the last chapter and learned all I needed to know. Great idea for a series, but pass on this one.


The Cold Light of Mourning (Penny Brannigan, Bk 1)
The Cold Light of Mourning (Penny Brannigan, Bk 1)
Author: Elizabeth J. Duncan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 6/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I absolutely adored this book. I have been looking for a new favorite author and heroine and I do believe I have found her in Elizabeth Duncan and Penny. I really liked her. I don't really understand her, a flawed but glorious heroine. The village in Wales with the quirky but necessary inhabitants are spot on and the mystery although I guessed who it just "had" to be flumoxed me as to the how and why. Perhaps a new friendship with a nice man and a new friend to replace her unlikely but dear departed friend is a little disengenuous, but hey we're in a small village in Wales. Try it, the second is already on my list as is the Christmas one that is not to be released till October. If you like Dorothy Cannell, Carolyn Hart, of course Dame Agatha, Marion Babson, Dorothy Sayers run and get this one!


The Columbus Affair
The Columbus Affair
Author: Steve Berry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 6/17/2013


Oh no Mr. Berry. I have loved the earlier books especially The Amber Room and The Romanoff Prophecy; however, this book was boring. They told the story of Columbus' name changes and why and where he was from and what he did with the treasure about five times. Really, I got the storyline the first time it was told. The book could have been cut by about two-thirds.

I was disappointed in the last two books, I am very much afraid that Mr. Berry has gone the way of so many of our successful writers - he has an outline and he fulfills it completely making his most recent books formulatic.

Not even sure I will purchase the new one, that is how disappointed I have been in the last three.


Cross Stitch Before Dying (Embroidery Mystery, Bk 6)
Cross Stitch Before Dying (Embroidery Mystery, Bk 6)
Author: Amanda Lee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 4/14/2014


Disappointed. I really enjoy this series and wait for the next book to come out. After having said that, there is a however. The book seemed to never get started. It was so dull, the plot only had a few clues and they were repeated time after time after time. Yes I know for the 15th time you are worried about your Mother. Yes, we know you think he was having an affair with her and the baby must be his. The only really bright spot is her sweet Angus and her Marilyn look-alike mannequin and one of the most delightful passages in the book are when she discusses the clues with Jill. I hope she gets her mojo back, this was a poor addition.


Delicious and Suspicious (Memphis Barbeque, Bk 1)
Delicious and Suspicious (Memphis Barbeque, Bk 1)
Author: Riley Adams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 1/24/2011
Helpful Score: 5


Memphis, the Blues, Barbeque a perfect combination; however, this book does nothing to make you care about any of it. The characters could be eccentric and fun but you don't get to know enough about them to get involved. The mystery was pretty obvious, a little bit of a spin but very transparent. I really wanted to like this book and I kept on reading, but...there are too many mysteries I want to read to waste any more of my time on this one.


Dixie Divas
Dixie Divas
Author: Virginia Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/17/2011


De-Lite-Ful! The only reason I did not give this crazy- lady book five stars is for the poor editing. I know, I know but it breaks the flow of the joke when the wrong tense is used or it needs a comma or whatever.
Anyhow, these ladies are great fun, absolutely outrageous, honest (to a point,) supportive, loving, kind, mean, revengeful, tale-no-prisoners in your face but with Southern charm and steelyness. Read, read, read it! Laugh out loud funny and you really get to like these women...loved it.


The Egyptologist
The Egyptologist
Author: Arthur Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 3/3/2016


Worst bunch of nonsense I have tried to read in a long time. Ignore the reviews...I believe someone said that this was a book for the intelligent and reviewers were afraid to admit they did not get it. I do not think unless you are from England you would get much of the humor...and even then I'm not sure you would understand. Wordy, boring, endless. Seriously pass.


English Tea Murder  (Lucy Stone, Bk 18)
English Tea Murder (Lucy Stone, Bk 18)
Author: Leslie Meier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 2/8/2016


Boring...oh my goodness. I did not like any of the characters in this book. Even the heroine is rather sad. Her friends are snarky and mean with each other, no empathy, no compassion, no willing to do something for the other. Lucy caves in most of the time. I believe she is a nice lady; however, on her very first trip out of the country and to England, no less, she gets sad about The Tower of London instead of celebrating the history and the age that it has survived. The lack of caring on Lucy's part when she hears physical abuse to a student is pitiful. The only reason I gave it one star is because Ms. Meier actually wrote a wonderful descriptive travelogue on the beauty of England. Run...I realize she has a lot of fans, I will never read another.


Foxy Roxy (aka Our Lady of Immaculate Deception) (Roxy Abruzzo, Bk 1)
Foxy Roxy (aka Our Lady of Immaculate Deception) (Roxy Abruzzo, Bk 1)
Author: Nancy Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 11/20/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Ms Martin, you made a detour along the way! This lady really knows her Pittsburgh and the unique personalities of some of the inhabitants. Roxy is a far cry and a perfect diversion from "the sisters." Much gritier, sexier, and flawed but you will like her. I guessed the end but I'm quite good at it and I still didn't want to stop reading. Purchased at the Mystery Bookstore in Oakmont Pennsylvania and it is a signed copy. Ms Martin lives and works in Pittsburgh and even though I have moved South, she hit my Pittsburgh roots with perfect accuracy!


The Ghost and the Bogus Bestseller (Haunted Bookshop, Bk 6)
The Ghost and the Bogus Bestseller (Haunted Bookshop, Bk 6)
Author: Alice Kimberly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/16/2015


I think this is absolutely shameful...if they have lost interest in these characters well that is their prerogative. Do not write what doesn't delight you. However, to just keep saying that it is coming, soon, next year., etc. is irresponsible. I don't know at this point if I would read this book. I feel used and abused. I don't think I will read any more of the coffee shop mysteries either.


Ghost Ship (Port Chatham, Bk 2)
Ghost Ship (Port Chatham, Bk 2)
Author: P. J. Alderman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 5/25/2011


And then there were more...and more...and more. The ghost population just keeps growing until Jordan is having a difficult time driving cause she is afraid of running into/over a ghost. Now, I think if she ran into a ghost she would go right through? Never mind, that's just the way my mind works.

I really enjoyed this second installment although it was a little slow in parts and a little vague in others. I would think that the fault of the editor to tighten up and eliminate. Jordan's friendship with Darcy the sheriff continues to grow and the romance between Jase and Jordan is slowly heating up. I guessed the culprit but not until about the last fifty pages. Interesting history and a good all around mystery.

Jordan finally accepts that she is not crazy and that she may have a real talent for helping people, which I think we can all understand. I would try to talk myself out of seeing/talking to ghosts or take mediciation. The population of Port Chatham is completely enthralled with the fact that she can see/talk to the past residents and she is developing quite a friendly following - for the most part.

Spoiler: I want to know where the money went....


1 to 20 of 60 - Page: