Beth G. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 73 - Page:
100 Days of Weight Loss: The Secret to Being Successful on ANY Diet Plan
Review Date: 5/10/2013


Interesting concept and a good resource for support as you're starting a weight loss program. Basic, common sense.


Addition (Import)
Addition (Import)
Author: Toni Jordan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/24/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I thought the book started slow and almost stopped reading it (something I rarely do). I stuck with it and am so happy I did. I really liked this book!!! Quirky with a message. Made me smile.


Battlefield of the Mind: Winning the Battle in Your Mind
Battlefield of the Mind: Winning the Battle in Your Mind
Author: Joyce Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 3/17/2013


Just not my type of book. Could not get into it.


Being Perfect
Being Perfect
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 5/9/2012


Short and sweet. Good info but i've enjoyed some of her other works more.


The Bell Jar (Modern Classics)
The Bell Jar (Modern Classics)
Author: Sylvia Plath
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 5/20/2010


Great book!! Absolutely riveting.


The Book of Virtues
The Book of Virtues
Author: William J. Bennett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 3/21/2011


Great book! Many interesting thoughts.


Born Standing Up: A Comic's Life
Born Standing Up: A Comic's Life
Author: Steve Martin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 8/29/2009


Very interesting and well written. I enjoyed it immensely.


Bossypants
Bossypants
Author: Tina Fey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 295
Review Date: 9/15/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book has some parts that made me laugh out loud and some parts that made me smile. Fairly quick read. I would highly recommend!


Bulls Island (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 9)
Bulls Island (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 9)
Author: Dorothea Benton Frank
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 10/21/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Fairly typical Frank book. But, I like her books and thought this was good.


The CalorieKing Calorie, Fat & Carbohydrate Counter 2009
The CalorieKing Calorie, Fat & Carbohydrate Counter 2009
Author: Allan Borushek
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/21/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Good reference book!


Cary Grant : A Biography
Cary Grant : A Biography
Author: Marc Eliot
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/14/2013


I was disappointed in this book. Lots and lots of gossip and rumors but weak on facts. No interviews, etc. yet Mr. Eliot interprets the thoughts and actions of the people he is writing about. It's an easy read and is interesting; just too much unfounded gossip for me.


Chop Wood, Carry Water
Chop Wood, Carry Water
Author: Rick Fields
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/27/2012


Not my cup of tea. I read about a third of the book and just felt I wasn't getting much of anything out of it. I understand it's a classic in this genre and so I'm sure many people would disagree with me.


C'mon America, Let's Eat! : Susan's Favorite Low-Fat Recipes To Fit Your Lifestyle
Review Date: 8/29/2009


Enjoyed this book and found good ideas and recipes but seem to be over the "no fat" phase.


Committed
Committed
Author: Elizabeth Gilbert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/17/2013


Good book!! Probably as good as her first!


Condoleezza Rice: A Memoir of My Extraordinary, Ordinary Family and Me
Condoleezza Rice: A Memoir of My Extraordinary, Ordinary Family and Me
Author: Condoleezza Rice
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/11/2012


This book is well written and extremely interesting. Thoroughly enjoyable!


Curves : Permanent Results Without Permanent Dieting
Curves : Permanent Results Without Permanent Dieting
Author: Gary Heavin, Carol Colman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/20/2010


Lots of good information!


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 249
Review Date: 8/29/2009


I am not a huge "novel" fan but I did enjoy this book and found it an interesting read.


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 861
Review Date: 8/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book immensely. I am not a big "novel" fan but this held my attention and even made me smile at times.


The Don't Sweat Guide to Weight Loss: Feeling at Peace with Your Body (Don't Sweat Guides)
Review Date: 12/28/2012


I was a little underwhemed with this book. It's a good, basic reminder of weight loss motivations but no new earth shaking info.


A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes : My Story
A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes : My Story
Author: Annette Funicello, Patricia Romanowski
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 11/12/2012


Great book! Very interesting and well written!


1 to 20 of 73 - Page: