Evelyn K. (anniekreads) - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
18 Seconds
18 Seconds
Author: George D. Shuman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 4/28/2008


Fast read - really enjoyed this book. Particularly liked how author brought all the characters together in an exciting conclusion.


The Abduction
The Abduction
Author: Mark Gimenez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 8/8/2013


This is the second book I have read by Mark Gimenez. I really could not put this book down. The mixer of the characters was extremely realistic. The plot had me intrigued, I usually can figure out mysteries, but this book had me rushing to see how the story ended. Gimenez is an excellent writer and I will look for more of his books.


Down River
Down River
Author: John Hart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 6/1/2012


Well written as characters vividly portrayed. Although I was sure I knew the anwwer to the mystery, I found myself doubting it because of some interesting twists and turns.
Good read.


The Harper's Quine (Gil Cunningham, Bk 1)
The Harper's Quine (Gil Cunningham, Bk 1)
Author: Pat McIntosh
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/6/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Had a little difficulty understanding some of the ancient terms, at the same time fascinated. The outcome of the book seemed to me to be very predictable. I most enjoyed descriptions of life in "old Scotland."


Heart and Soul
Heart and Soul
Author: Maeve Binchy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 9/6/2013


A heartwarming book, as most Maeve Binchy's are. Easy read, but I found the several storylines incorporated in the book easily figured out as to their conclusions. No surprises here.


The Last Templar (Sean Reilly and Tess Chaykin, Bk 1)
The Last Templar (Sean Reilly and Tess Chaykin, Bk 1)
Author: Raymond Khoury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 439
Review Date: 3/1/2010


At first I thought this book was a bit tedious in the beginning, but I am glad I did not give up on it. Very thought provoking, and I thought exceptionally well written.


The Memory Game
The Memory Game
Author: Nicci French
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/15/2009


Interesting read. Seemed a little slow in sections, but picked up speed. Definitely some suspense.


The Millionaires
The Millionaires
Author: Inman Majors
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/21/2012
Helpful Score: 3


I had a difficult time reading this book. The theme of the book to me, took too long to develop. I am not a fan of characters conversations written as prose. Not too sure of the purpose of portions of the book written as a screen play.


Mission Flats
Mission Flats
Author: William Landay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 5/26/2012


Fast paced read. Nice twist at end.


Room
Room
Author: Emma Donoghue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 1/12/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This incredible book describing the lives of a mother and son living in a "room" left me intensely thinking about the joys of living in our world. The impact of a mother's love for her child was expertly described in this book, as was the horror of the child's first 5 years of life. But the horror was unknown to the child and this, I believe, was the true value of the book. It made you understand that the "unknown" can give true meaning to the saying "what you don't have, you don't miss."


Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Author: Lisa See
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2108
Review Date: 10/31/2010


I found this to be a very informative about the life of Chinese women in olden times. I realized I was shuddering when reading about foot binding, as author, Lisa See, has a command of vivid description. Although not a dramatic book, I had a hard time putting this book down.


Son of Stone (Stone Barrington, Bk 21)
Son of Stone (Stone Barrington, Bk 21)
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 4/25/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Very disappointed in this latest Stone Barrington book by Woods. Read like a fairy tale about very wealthy people as the characters. Not much substance in plot. If Woods continues writing like this I doubt I will read any more of his books.


Still Life
Still Life
Author: Louise Penny
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/16/2014


I thoroughly enjoyed this book. First time I have read Louis Penny. I look forward to continue reading this series. A great study of the characters, some odd, eccentric, and quite captivating. Plot almost seemed incidental to the characters.


1 to 13 of 13