Sarah R. (brianslittlegirl) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 50 - Page:
Alice in Wonderland (Fairy Tale Classics Storybook)
Alice in Wonderland (Fairy Tale Classics Storybook)
Author: Landoll
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/3/2007


Cute little adaptation of the classic tale. Lovely, colorful illustrations.


Candide
Candide
Author: Voltaire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/4/2007


Political satire doesn't age well, but occasionally a diatribe contains enough art and universal mirth to survive long after its timeliness has passed. Candide is such a book. Penned by that Renaissance man of the Enlightenment, Voltaire, Candide is steeped in the political and philosophical controversies of the 1750s. But for the general reader, the novel's driving principle is clear enough: the idea (endemic in Voltaire's day) that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and apparent folly, misery and strife are actually harbingers of a greater good we cannot perceive, is hogwash.
Telling the tale of the good-natured but star-crossed Candide (think Mr. Magoo armed with deadly force), as he travels the world struggling to be reunited with his love, Lady Cunegonde, the novel smashes such ill-conceived optimism to splinters. Candide's tutor, Dr. Pangloss, is steadfast in his philosophical good cheer, in the face of more and more fantastic misfortune; Candide's other companions always supply good sense in the nick of time. Still, as he demolishes optimism, Voltaire pays tribute to human resilience, and in doing so gives the book a pleasant indomitability common to farce. Says one character, a princess turned one-buttocked hag by unkind Fate: "I have wanted to kill myself a hundred times, but somehow I am still in love with life. This ridiculous weakness is perhaps one of our most melancholy propensities; for is there anything more stupid than to be eager to go on carrying a burden which one would gladly throw away, to loathe one's very being and yet to hold it fast, to fondle the snake that devours us until it has eaten our hearts away?"--Michael Gerber

I REALLY enjoyed this book! The translation is great, and the pictures are just fantastic. I greatly recommend it. :)


Ceremony
Ceremony
Author: Leslie Marmon Silko
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 2/13/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Great book. Very interesting look at modern Native Americans, looking espescially of the effects on the psychy after WWII.


Come Back, Amelia Bedelia! (I Can Read Book)
Review Date: 3/13/2007


Great little book! Amelia Bedilia is always a fun read, and this book is just as fun as the others. :)


Cracking India
Cracking India
Author: Bapsi Sidhwa
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/30/2007


Beautiful and moving book. I really enjoyed this book's inside look at India's partition.


Halos
Halos
Author: Kristen Heitzmann
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 5/3/2007
Helpful Score: 2


It's been awhile since I read this one, but I know that I really enjoyed it. It's got a basic Christian base to it, but is one of those novels that isn't preachy and could be enjoyed by just about anyone. It's categorized as "romantic suspense," but I somehow just can't put it in the romance category, perhaps because of my own preconceptions. Really, this is a well written and touching story. Some bits may be a bit "overwritten," but mostly it's very good.


I Am Not Going to Read Any Words Today! : Learn About Rhyming Words (Beginner Fun Books)
Review Date: 3/13/2007


Very cute Seuss inspired reading workbook.


Indian Captive: The Story of Mary Jemison
Indian Captive: The Story of Mary Jemison
Author: Lois Lenski
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 5/5/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Newbery Honor Book! This is a fantastic story by Lois Lenski, writer and illustrater extrordinare. I loved this book, a fictionalized story based on a the true experiences of Mary Jemison, who was abducted by a group of Senecas (Native American tribe, Iroquois) and "adopted." The story real is very interesting and, I felt, eye opening, as it is a view of real life inside of a tribe known for violence, a look at why they do things and the true spirit of the individuals. Absolutly lovely book, and one that I think everyone should read.


The Indian in the Cupboard (Indian in the Cupboard, Bk 1)
The Indian in the Cupboard (Indian in the Cupboard, Bk 1)
Author: Lynne Reid Banks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 222
Review Date: 4/23/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This is a great book! The movie just does not do it justice.


It Takes Two
It Takes Two
Author: Nancy Krulik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/5/2007


Cute book representation of the Olson Twin movie. Not my thing, nor ever was... but maybe someone out there would just love it.


James and the Giant Peach
James and the Giant Peach
Author: Roald Dahl, Nancy Ekholm Burkert (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 5/5/2007


Roald Dahl never fails me. :) This book, like all the others of his that I have read as of yet, is just faboulous! The imagery and creativity is just spellbinding. Now I really want to watch the movie and see if it begins to do the book justice. Really a terrific read!


Justin Morgan Had a Horse
Justin Morgan Had a Horse
Author: Marguerite Henry, Wesley Dennis (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 5/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a wonderful classic! Certainly a book that should be in any horse lover's library.


The Kitchen God's Wife
The Kitchen God's Wife
Author: Amy Tan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 362
Review Date: 1/26/2007


This is a GREAT book. I absolutly loved reading it. Very interesting, unique, and just an all-around great read. I would recommend this book to anyone, serious reader or just casual readers.


The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia)
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia)
Author: C. S. Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 241
Review Date: 3/5/2007


Fantastic book! This is the first book in the Chronicles of Narnia, written by a genius, C.S. Lewis.


A Little Princess
A Little Princess
Author: Frances Hodgson Burnett, Tasha Tudor (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 3/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Great book! I read and reread this book so many times growing up.


Matilda
Matilda
Author: Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 4/23/2007


A lovely book by the genius writer, Roald Dahl. This book is a sure favorite for children everywhere! Matilda is a bookworm in a tv watchers world. Perhaps you can relate? Very creative and great imagery.


Maus a Survivors Tale: My Father Bleeds History
Maus a Survivors Tale: My Father Bleeds History
Author: Art Spiegelman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 3/22/2007


A powerful and touching tale. This graphic novel is definetly one above the rest.


Maus II : A Survivor's Tale: And Here My Troubles Began (Maus)
Maus II : A Survivor's Tale: And Here My Troubles Began (Maus)
Author: Art Spiegelman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 3/22/2007


A touching and powerful tale of the Holocaust. This graphic novel is one far above the rest. Pulitzer Prize winner.


Meet Jonathan Taylor Thomas
Meet Jonathan Taylor Thomas
Author: Jessica Barnes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/5/2007


Not really my cup of tea... I found this in a box of books I received from a friend. Any fans out there?


The Mystery of the Campus Crook (Home School Detectives)
The Mystery of the Campus Crook (Home School Detectives)
Author: John Bibee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/5/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Great little mystery, esp. for homeschool students. In a sea of public school teen books, it's fun to find one where the main characters are homeschooled!


1 to 20 of 50 - Page: