Rose T. (WhiskeyBat) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
Abundance: A Novel of Marie Antoinette
Abundance: A Novel of Marie Antoinette
Author: Sena Jeter Naslund
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 2/23/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I'm not usually a huge fan of historical fiction, but really enjoyed this book. The characters suck you in, and it does not get too bogged down with historical details.


The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
Author: Mark Twain
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 416
Review Date: 3/24/2007


A classic!


Alphabet Of Thorn
Alphabet Of Thorn
Author: Patricia A. McKillip
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 2/23/2010


beautiful, intriguing story, especially for bibliophiles :)


Armageddon Summer
Armageddon Summer
Author: Bruce Coville, Jane Yolen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 3/25/2007


great YA book


As I Lay Dying
As I Lay Dying
Author: William Faulkner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 269
Review Date: 3/24/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Definitely not for everyone, I read it for school and was actually able to get into it and enjoy it, but not everyone can.


Black Beauty (Watermill Classic)
Black Beauty (Watermill Classic)
Author: Anna Sewell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/26/2007


wonderful children's classic!


The Client
The Client
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1082
Review Date: 3/24/2007


I'm not a fan of "crime thrillers", but if you are, Grisham's good!


Deep Wizardry (Young Wizards, Bk 2)
Deep Wizardry (Young Wizards, Bk 2)
Author: Diane Duane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 6/12/2007


This is my favorite of this WONDERFUL series... started reading them in jr high, and have re-read several times since, they're still very enjoyable!


Ella Enchanted
Ella Enchanted
Author: Gail Carson Levine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 206
Review Date: 2/23/2010


one of my absolute favorite books from when i was younger. a fun, unique, and empowering twist on the old fairy tale. definitely better than the movie! if your daughter liked the movie, encourage her to read the book, there is a lot more to it.


Even Cowgirls Get the Blues
Even Cowgirls Get the Blues
Author: Tom Robbins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 7/16/2007


fantastic! tons of fun, but will make you think, too!


Fingersmith
Fingersmith
Author: Sarah Waters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 232
Review Date: 2/23/2010


Dickens does lesbians fiction... gripping and enticing!


Flowers for Algernon
Flowers for Algernon
Author: Daniel Keyes
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 254
Review Date: 3/24/2007


Wonderful, read it for school


Frankenstein
Frankenstein
Author: Mary Shelley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 3/24/2007


A classic!


Good Omens
Good Omens
Author: Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 589
Review Date: 3/23/2010


Loved it! Absurd and profound at the same time.


Jitterbug Perfume
Jitterbug Perfume
Author: Tom Robbins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 2/24/2009


Effing brilliant. Utterly ridiculous, but on every page you will find a truth that makes perfect sense. Or scents. Either way!


King's Oak
King's Oak
Author: Anne Rivers Siddons
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 3/24/2007


Not for everyone, but I really liked it. A little overlong sometimes, but if you enjoy rich descriptions that really get you into the setting, not too much.


Kinship
Kinship
Author: Trudy Krisher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/25/2007


very good jr. high book


The Maltese Falcon
The Maltese Falcon
Author: Dashiell Hammett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 3/24/2007


I'm not a huge fan of the crime/mystery genre, but this is definitely one of the best!


Night Secrets
Night Secrets
Author: Kat Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 8/6/2007


Fun but predictable story, if not the best writing. Good mindless fun for vacation or beach.


One-Eyed Cat
One-Eyed Cat
Author: Paula Fox
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/25/2007


ISBN also applies to an older paperback edition of this book


1 to 20 of 29 - Page: