Brandie D. (Bennie-Leigh) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 49 - Page:
Bible Promises to Treasure for Moms: Inspiring Words for Every Occasion
Review Date: 6/16/2006


A devotional.


Blessings
Blessings
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 6/16/2006
Helpful Score: 1


If you've seen the tv movie, the book is better. As always.


Charlie Company: What Vietnam Did to Us
Charlie Company: What Vietnam Did to Us
Author: Peter Goldman, Tony Fuller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/4/2007


This book holds nothing back. It was difficult for me to read, not because of it graphic nature though that part is awful. What made it hard for me is that these boys had to endure it. I have always had respect for anyone who has been to war. The more I learn the deeper that respect grows. More so for those who have been to Vietnam and came home to a country who was unable or unwilling to give them the respect and dignity they more than earned. This book follows the men of Charlie Company from the jungles to the reunion in the FL Keys.


The Choice
The Choice
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 472
Review Date: 4/26/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I really like Nicholas Sparks. Overall I enjoyed this book. However, the ending seemed a litle rushed, which I have never noticed in his books before. I would not let this fact keep you from reading the book. As usual for Sparks it is a hit.


Cradle and All
Cradle and All
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 221
Review Date: 8/3/2006


A fast read. An ending that was not quite expected. I could do without some of the laguage used. Overall it was a good book.


Day by Day With Billy Graham
Day by Day With Billy Graham
Author: Billy Graham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/16/2006
Helpful Score: 1


a good devotional.


The Dead Don't Dance (Awakening, Bk 1)
The Dead Don't Dance (Awakening, Bk 1)
Author: Charles Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 2/11/2007


Loved this book! A look at how most of us at one time have to face tragedy(s) and the choices we make. Whether to live through them or die because of them.


Dear John
Dear John
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 803
Review Date: 10/15/2007
Helpful Score: 10


It is Nicholas Sparks what more needs to be said? No really, it is an awsome book. The more this man writes the more he is able to hit that bitter sweet nail right on the head.

For those who love Sparks' books you won't be dissappointed and for those who have never read one.....you are just missing out.


Detours
Detours
Author: Clark Cothern
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/16/2006


A book showing how unexpected detours can achieve God's purposes.


The Dwelling
The Dwelling
Author: Susie Moloney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 3/22/2007


A typical haunted house book, with a slight twist. I started reading this when we moved into our new house. It proved to be interesting as my imagination was working while reading at night. LOL


Everything We Had:  An Oral History of the Vietnam War
Everything We Had: An Oral History of the Vietnam War
Author: Al Santoli
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/2/2007


The men and women who share thier stories in this book, do so with honesty. They tell you how it was from thier eyes. The good and the bad. In a war that was so terrible it was nice to hear about some of the good that some of these individuals were a part of.


The Facts of Life : And Other Lessons My Father Taught Me
The Facts of Life : And Other Lessons My Father Taught Me
Author: Lisa Whelchel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 11/22/2006


A good book. Lisa Welchel sounds like she is very down to earth. Like sitting down and talking with a friend.


The Future Homemakers of America
The Future Homemakers of America
Author: Laurie Graham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 6/16/2006


A great book that tracks the lives of five Air Force wives in 1952, from newlyweds to divorced, widowed, etc.


A Gentle Thunder: Hearing God Through the Storm
A Gentle Thunder: Hearing God Through the Storm
Author: Max Lucado
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/16/2006


A book about the lengths God will go to to get our attention.


Gianna: Aborted... and Lived to Tell About It (Living Books)
Gianna: Aborted... and Lived to Tell About It (Living Books)
Author: Jessica Shaver
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 6/16/2006
Helpful Score: 4


Amazing to learn how this woman was aborted and lived to tell about it, and how her life has been used to help others.


Green Knight, Red Mourning
Green Knight, Red Mourning
Author: Richard E. Ogden
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


The story of a washington state smaller than average teen. How he goes off to war and how he grows from the poverty stricken child to war wisened man. A well written book.


Home Before Morning: The True Story of an Army Nurse in Vietnam
Home Before Morning: The True Story of an Army Nurse in Vietnam
Author: Lynda Van Devanter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/28/2007
Helpful Score: 3


It is not often that you hear about Vietnam from a women's perspective. Many boys were turned to old men in a years time. Vietnam turned young care free girls into old women long before thier time too. This book gives you a peek into the life of a nurse in a field hospital.


Home Buying for Dummies
Home Buying for Dummies
Author: Eric Tyson, Ray Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 4/13/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Great if you have to many people giving you advise and your not sure who is right. Was a great reference for us when we bought our first home.


The Hunchback of Notre Dame (Great Illustrated Classics)
The Hunchback of Notre Dame (Great Illustrated Classics)
Author: Victor Hugo, Malvina G. Vogel
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/4/2007


My 8 yr old daughter read this. She loves anything that is "scary". I guess this fit the bill for her.


I Am a Soldier, Too: The Jessica Lynch Story
I Am a Soldier, Too: The Jessica Lynch Story
Author: Rick Bragg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 8/9/2007


This book about Jessica Lynch left with tears of sorrow, and joy. For anyone who would like to know more about her story this is the book to read. It did leave me wondering how she is today. She was still in PT when the book ended.


1 to 20 of 49 - Page: