June E. (junie) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 432 - Page:
The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared
Review Date: 5/8/2016
Helpful Score: 1


A quirky book about a quirky old man and his adventures as he escapes from his 100th birthday party by climbing out the window. Funny at times, a little boring somewhat, but I do think it was the translation which seemed to miss something.
Enjoyable read though.


11/22/63
11/22/63
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 265
Review Date: 8/14/2012


I am not a Stephen King fan, but there was so much hype about this book I just had to read it,since I won it in a swap. I found that once started, I couldn't wait to pick it up again and read all 850 pages in only 3 days. Don't let the size of the book intimidate you. I loved it, thought it was fastinating and I highly recommend it.


12th of Never (Women's Murder Club, Bk 12)
12th of Never (Women's Murder Club, Bk 12)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 8/9/2013


The Master has done it again! Great Book. Very fast read and the end has me panting for the next installment!! Loved it.


14th Deadly Sin (Women's Murder Club, Bk 14)
14th Deadly Sin (Women's Murder Club, Bk 14)
Author: Maxine Paetro, James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 8/24/2015


This 14th Women's Murder Club was a good one, the ending left hanging but to be solved in #15! This is my favorite of Patterson's Series, right next to Alex Cross.


15th Affair (Women's Murder Club, Bk 15)
15th Affair (Women's Murder Club, Bk 15)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 8/21/2016


I can't believe I gave a WMC by Patterson only 3 stars! (It's more like 2-1/2 stars).

This 15th sequel was only mediocre and was more like a Lindsay and Joe soap opera. I hated the "mommy" part of Lindsay and got tired of hearing about "my baby girl" over and over!

Joe's conduct was inappropriate for him, but Lindsay should have had faith. However, doubts seeped in and she was rattled.

The ending wasn't an ending at all! We just have to wait for the 16th WMC to come out!


The Accident
The Accident
Author: Chris Pavone
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/23/2017


This was a pretty good thriller with lots of twists and turns to,keep the story interesting. It's about a book in a book, a manuscript which will ruin the lives of the a lot of powerful people if it gets published.

The author of the manuscript is one of the narrators, and he tells his story about what he and his best friend Charlie Wolfe did while in college. Anyone who managed to get a copy of this manuscript is in danger of their lives. CIA and big shot politicians will do anything to make sure this book never gets published.

Fast reading and a good ending made for a great read.


Accused (Rosato and Associates, Bk 12)
Accused (Rosato and Associates, Bk 12)
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 4/2/2014


Mary finally made partner in her firm and took it upon herself to solve a murder to help a innocent client! It started when a 13 year old young lady hired the firm to find her sister's killer saying the convicted man was not guilty. This story was not credible, and Mary's family consisting of mom and pop, mom and pop, to be, fiancé, and the four Tonys was just too much! They all got in the way of the storyline, making a mockery of it. Not one of this authors best!


After the Storm (Kate Burkholder, Bk 7)
After the Storm (Kate Burkholder, Bk 7)
Author: Linda Castillo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 12/27/2015


I love the Kate Burkholder series and this one is full of exciting, non stop incidents. A lot of personal life is shared with hunky John Tomasetti which I enjoy, unlike one of the reviewers here.

SPOILER
Kate has a lot going on after a devastating tornado hits, and she finds herself in implausible situations she shouldn't have attempted due to her pregnancy,

She and Tomasetti try outrunning the tornado while trying to help others and they barely make it back to the Police Station. She crashes into a tree as someone takes shots at her, she climbs to top of a barn and falls five feet into a hogpen full of hungry hogs, she takes another fall chasing someone, all this while trying to solve a 30 year old mystery which makes for a very interesting story.

If you're following the Kate series, you'll definitely want to read this one.


Airtight
Airtight
Author: David Rosenfelt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/5/2014


I love David Rosenfelt's Andy Carpenter Series, but he also writes awesome stand-alone books. Airtight is one of them. I read it in one evening, just had to see how it ends! Great thriller you simply cannot put down!


Alert (Michael Bennett, Bk 8)
Alert (Michael Bennett, Bk 8)
Author: Michael Ledwidge, James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 9/27/2015


I enjoyed this Michael Bennett book and I thought the story about some nut cases trying to destroy NYC was exciting and kept me glued to the end. However, it is time Michael and Mary Catherine got married already.


The Alice Network
The Alice Network
Author: Kate Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/3/2017


I love a story that combines fact and fiction and this book does it beautifully.
This is about how Eve, an English spy during WW-1 and Charlie, a precocious American girl in 1947 meet under unusual circumstances! And the odyssey begins.

Eve's story is fascinating, searching for the Nazi collaborator who ruined her, and her need to kill him. Charlie searching for her cousin who disappeared during the occupation of France.
Their stories come together in a satisfactory conclusion, a story that you will remember for a long time.

Excellent book!


All the Light We Cannot See
All the Light We Cannot See
Author: Anthony Doerr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 216
Review Date: 11/14/2015
Helpful Score: 4


Beautifully written with characters you care for immediately. Marie is a blind French girl and her story is told in alternating short chapters along with a very intelligent German youth named Werner during the occupation of France in WW2.

The only problem I had was the time shifts, as I found myself having to go back to see which time period I was reading about. Otherwise, the story was intriguing enough to keep me reading until the end. It was a sad story, but had a satisfactory conclusion. Excellent book which I wholeheartedly recommend.


Always
Always
Author: Sarah Jio
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/11/2017


The author's description calls her newest book Always, "a gripping novel". It didn't "grip" me at all. It is a love story, not my usual genre. However, I enjoyed all Sarah Jio's previous books, therefore had to read it.

This is a fluffy soap opera, very predictable. I did relish the deep love between Ryan and Kailay, (I guess I'm a little romantic after all).

I must say I was not happy with the ending.


Always Watching
Always Watching
Author: Chevy Stevens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 7/19/2014


I read all Chevy Stevens books and, like Susan they tie me in knots and give me anxiety. This one being no different, but I really didn't like Nadine's character, the psychiatrist who was trying to solve her patients problems, and trying to solve her own at the same time, as her repressed memories kept coming to the surface. I certainly disliked her daughter Lisa, her brother who deserted her, her stepson, her mother, and of course the leader of a cult, Aaron.

Disliking all the characters in this book, I'm surprised I kept reading, but it showed me you don't have to like the characters to enjoy the book anyway. The ending when Nadine finds herself in a life or death situation, had my heart racing with anxiety and I almost bit my manicured nails!!


The Amber Keeper
The Amber Keeper
Author: Freda Lightfoot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/16/2015
Helpful Score: 1


This story takes place in England and Russia, weaving past and present flawlessly. Russian history is one of my fascinations and I enjoyed this book by a "new to me" author. I will definitely look to read more by this author.


Among the Wicked (Kate Burkholder, Bk 8)
Among the Wicked (Kate Burkholder, Bk 8)
Author: Linda Castillo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/23/2016


I really got to know Chief of Police Kate Burkholder after reading eight books about her and her long time lover Tomasetti. They live in Painter's Mill Ohio, a small community, half of which is Amish. Kate left the "plain life" at 18 and never looked back, though her family is still Amish.

The story progresses as Kate goes undercover as an Amish widow in upstate New York. No one will talk to "Englischer" police in this small Amish community that has problems with the Bishop and the murder of a young girl.

Kate makes some bad decisions, gets herself in trouble a few times, but of course, the book has a satisfactory ending.


And the Mountains Echoed
And the Mountains Echoed
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 11/7/2013
Helpful Score: 2


I loved the story of Saboor and his children, 11 year old Abdullah and 4 year old Pari. I was intrigued as they walked for days to reach Kabul, Saboor pulling Pari in a wagon when the little girl tired. The deep love between the brother and sister was touching and the heartbreak that befell them brought tears to my eyes. However, I was annoyed as Hosseini introduced different characters I felt was unnecessary instead of focusing on this one family. The story spanned a few generations and was quite confusing as it jumped from past to present. I wish he just stuck to the story of Abdullah, Pari, what happens to them and their families!

I was disappointed with this book, but the ending brought tears and a lump in my throat. It is certainly worth reading.


Ape House
Ape House
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 5/29/2011
Helpful Score: 3


After reading the mixed reviews about this book, I was reluctant to read it, but so glad I did. I found it intriguing and fastinating and read it in two days finding it hard to put it down until finished.

I may be in the minority, but liked it better than Water For Elephants, but that may be because I dislike the circus and adore the Great Apes.


The Art Forger
The Art Forger
Author: B. A. Shapiro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 12/1/2013
Helpful Score: 1


A book that intrigues me from page one doesn't happen very often and this one pulled me in immediately. I love a story that combines real people and true events like the 21 year old, $500 million dollar unsolved art theft from a Boston museum with a fictional storyline about Clare, a young talented artist struggling to make a name for herself. This is a "can't put it down" book and I loved it!


Badlands (Cassie Dewell, Bk 3)
Badlands (Cassie Dewell, Bk 3)
Author: C. J. Box
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/6/2016


I'm a big fan of this author and his Joe Pickett Series. I like his stand alone books also, and this one has Kyle, a Special Needs boy, witnessing a car deliberately forcing another car into a ravine killing the driver. Kyle finds a bag of cash and drugs and removes them from the scene and takes them home.

I really felt Kyle's pain, and was so angry when his mom made him ride his bike on a paper route in minus zero degree weather and without warm enough clothing and boots. He is the reason I kept reading this book.

It's a good story with lots happening, but you really should read the previous book, The Highway so you know the history of Cassie, the new Special Detective who just took over the new position. Needless to say, she has a lot on her plate, but thankfully, she becomes Kyle's savior.

Good book.


1 to 20 of 432 - Page: