TrishF - Reviews

1 to 20 of 41 - Page:
The Bargain
The Bargain
Author: Julia Templeton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 8/16/2009


This book was a surprise - though an erotica - read much more like a typical romance novel with the requisite love scenes - though there was a little bit of out in the open groping witnessed by the heroine. Characters were fairly well developed, though a couple of the plot lines moved a little fast. An enjoyable story - First time I've read this author - would read another.


Beyond All Reason (Wide Open Spaces, Bk 1) (Silhouette Intimate Moments, No 536)
Review Date: 6/14/2008


The story is more about the relationship that develops between two individuals - he has a tortured past and is the strong silent type, She is sympathetic and working on being stronger herself. Nice secondary characters, makes you want to see if there are more in a series. Not quite a keeper but enjoyable.


Billionaire On Her Doorstep (Harlequin Romance, No 3959)
Billionaire On Her Doorstep (Harlequin Romance, No 3959)
Author: Ally Blake
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 9/10/2010


Surprisingly interesting for your basic harlequin romance. He's a nice hero with principles who really likes her despite her issues. Don't want to give away too much but they both are getting over past events and its interesting to see how the relationship develops.


Blood Born (Vampire, Bk 1)
Blood Born (Vampire, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Howard, Linda Jones
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 6/4/2010
Helpful Score: 3


As a fan of Linda Howard and JR Ward I found this to be a little of both. To be honest I started to listen to the CD version of the book then couldn't wait for the weekend to be over and more drive time and I bought the book.
I have to admit that I preferred it on CD so much better -- Read by Vanessa Hart (I plan on finding more of hers) it was excellent - perhaps its because I read so much, I tend to gloss over sections at times -- it lost something if you didn't listen (or read) to all of it. The CD conveyed their feelings more and made all the different plot changes more believable - As the first book in the series there was necessary detail about the vampires, warriors, and the worlds they lived in. However it made you long for more of relationship building between the two main characters Luca and Chloe. I did end up listening to the entire book on CD even after I finished the book and I'm glad I did. I'm looking forward to the next book in the series, which hopefully will be more character driven.


A Counterfeit Betrothal (Waite, Bk 2) (Signet Regency Romance)
A Counterfeit Betrothal (Waite, Bk 2) (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 5/5/2009


An interesting early Balogh that actually tells two stories in one. One is the main character, a daughter trying to get her estranged parents back together. The other, more meaningful one, is about the parents -- much more satisfying -- a more mature romance (?maybe since I'm getting older I could relate to people 37 and 41 versus a nineteen year old). Worth the read.


The Cowboy's Christmas Miracle (Cowboys of Cold Creek, Bk 4) (Silhouette Special Edition, No 1933)
Review Date: 11/23/2008


Cute story! I'm a sucker for stories where the guy is tough and urbane and then realizes something is missing from his life -- namely love and the chaos of kids. Worth a read.


Dangerous Secrets (Dangerous, Bk 2)
Dangerous Secrets (Dangerous, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Marie Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 7/26/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I liked this book even better than her Midnight series - She's getting better at fleshing out a story, yet still keeping it spicy. An I too love it when a stong man falls hard. Worth a credit and a read!


The Doctor's Surprise Family (Home to Firewood Island, Bk 3) (Silhouette Special Edition, No 1974)
Review Date: 5/30/2009


This book was a surprise itself - no pun intended with the title. Not a light romance by any means - A wounded veteran with PTSD, injuries inside and out, a widow, and a cute boy - but around 10 or so -- not little and cute -- family dynamics came into play and a very patient, healing heroine. I never read this author before - but I thoroughly enjoyed her - the story was much more than a simple category romance -- I hope others give it a try.


The Double Wager (Signet Regency Romance)
The Double Wager (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 5/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Loved this one --- I don't always like her older ones as much but this one was good -- Interesting hero who while silent, you could still tell was enamoured with the heroine -- Of course a cad is involved as well, a brothers and a sister. Quite interesting - I'd recommend.


Driven to Distraction (Romantic Traditions) (Silhouette Intimate Moments, No 704)
Review Date: 9/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Yet another book I liked by Judith Duncan despite the cheesey cover. The heroine definitely had a problem with engaging in a younger man romance -- Definitely one breakup too many but a good book worth a read.


Finding the Magic (Shifting Magic, Bk 2)
Finding the Magic (Shifting Magic, Bk 2)
Author: Cait Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 2/21/2009


Not bad for an EC title -- had a story line with shapeshifting. Didn't feel that all they were doing was jumping into bed. Perhaps not as hot as some but ok. Worth a read but I wouldn't go out and purchase.


Heart of Stone (Long, Tall Texans, Bk 32) (Silhouette Special Edition, No 1921)
Heart of Stone (Long, Tall Texans, Bk 32) (Silhouette Special Edition, No 1921)
Author: Diana Palmer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 8/31/2008
Helpful Score: 6


Yes the book is a typical Diana Palmer story but it does have some interesting twists and introduces some new characters that you know will have a story. What I found interesting is that for once the girl isn't orphaned but still has parents around -- not parent of the year candidates by any means - I think she's trying to flesh out the story lines a little -
Enjoyed it for what I expected -- Don't know if it really qualifies as a keeper - though they both had baggage - I wasn't totally in love with either character. I think their relationship wasn't as fully developed as some of her others, since more of the story focused on all she had gone through and was going through still - it was interesting and a little different, but I needed them to connect more and grab my attention for it to be a true keeper.


His Mistress's Secret  (Mistress to a Millionaire) (Harlequin Presents, No 2317)
His Mistress's Secret (Mistress to a Millionaire) (Harlequin Presents, No 2317)
Author: Alison Fraser
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/25/2009


Quite a surprise - the book's title doesn't do it justice - she is not even his mistress - not really - Interesting in that she has a hard edge due to a rough childhood (not always taking the right path), overcoming the odds, etc - but she doesn't end all nice and sweet - she is what she is - I liked it for something different. Not a 5 by any means - but not your typical rich guy overriding a shy sweet something.Worth a read.


If There Be Dragons (Pepper, Bk 2)
If There Be Dragons (Pepper, Bk 2)
Author: Kay Hooper
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 9/6/2008
Helpful Score: 10


This is a reprint of a 1984 Loveswept title she wrote. This was one of her early books and it shows - Really just a light romance with possible her first dabbling with paranormal. Nothing like her Bishop series (the Fear,Shadow,Evil) which are much more developed and engaging - she has improved so much over the years. Pretty much what Loveswepts were like back then -- light romance, not too many details with the sex scenes and a HEA - if you're in the mood for that its fine. Not a book you'll remember forever but ok.


The Immortal Hunter (Argeneau Vampires, Bk 11)
The Immortal Hunter (Argeneau Vampires, Bk 11)
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 469
Review Date: 4/11/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Her last couple of books in this series have been a little disappointing. Perhaps I read too many too close together -- but this one held my attention much better than the last two -- I actually am glad I stuck with the series for this one and I'm will be reading the next --- This story was more interesting than some, a little darker, though I did miss her more humorous moments - not as many but still a couple of characters I want to follow up on -- It is taking a JR Ward type of turn with more emphasis on the Rogue Hunter principle but it's added another dimension to her stories so it's not a bad thing.


In Too Deep (Arcane Society, Bk 10) (Looking Glass, Bk 1)
In Too Deep (Arcane Society, Bk 10) (Looking Glass, Bk 1)
Author: Jayne Ann Krentz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 4/24/2011


I too was a little disappointed in this book. Usually I keep her books and I was really looking forward to Fallon's story but I guess he just didn't fall hard enough or it just wasn't conveyed that they fell for each other enough. Also just wasn't high on the suspense meter, though there were some interesting moments.


Killer Secrets  (Tempting SEALs, Bk 5)
Killer Secrets (Tempting SEALs, Bk 5)
Author: Lora Leigh
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 370
Review Date: 9/6/2008
Helpful Score: 6


Not my favorite of the series -- as others have said, you don't quite connect with the characters as much as some of the others in her series. An ok read but not a MUST read as soon as possible. Liked Nathan's story so much better.


The Magical Christmas Cat: Stroke of Enticement / Christmas Bree / Sweet Dreams / Christmas Heat
Review Date: 11/4/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Really enjoyed the stories in this book. Pretty developed and satifying. The Nalini Singh story was interesting with a couple of poignant moments. Lora Leigh was a breed story with the heroine falling for the hero before any kissing!, Linda Winstead Jones had a fascinating paranormal story and Erin McCarthy followed up an earlier story about a witch who is one of three sisters -- another sister was in another anthology my least favorite but even that one wasn't that bad.


A Man Apart (Silhouette Desire, No 1640)
A Man Apart (Silhouette Desire, No 1640)
Author: Joan Hohl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 6/29/2009


I actually enjoyed this book - quick romance - two people not looking for committment who end up feeling more for each other in a rather short time -- They spend a concentrated amount of time together in the beginning which does make their feelings somewhat plausible - Worth a read if you want a nice little story.


Oath Of Seduction: Seducing Sharon
Oath Of Seduction: Seducing Sharon
Author: Marly Chance
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 1/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was my first book by this author. I gave it 4 though its probably closer to 3.5 stars on afterthought. Worth reading -- yes if you are in the mood for erotic science fiction. The customs of the other world are definitely chauvinistic in nature -- the guys do seem to get more of the breaks. But a good read - I did get the second book which was ok -- interesting to read as a continuation of the story line and I would read the third but not as good as the first book. Wouldn't pay full price but worth a credit or a swap.


1 to 20 of 41 - Page: