Kate C. (cozykat) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
An Amish Family Christmas: Heart of Christmas / A Plain Holiday (Love Inspired, No 884) (Larger Print)
Review Date: 1/14/2015


The stories were heartwaring, snapshots of a gentle people and left the reader feeling good. They were fun and though-provoking at the same time. I enjoyed them immensely.


An Angel for Emily
An Angel for Emily
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 256
Review Date: 5/28/2014


I usually like easy reads but this book frustrated me. The plot was improbable and disconnected. I actually wondered why anyone would even publish it. It has possibility, but the author disappointed. I tossed it; did not want to impose the frustration on any other reader.


Angel's Rest (Eternity Springs, Bk 1)
Angel's Rest (Eternity Springs, Bk 1)
Author: Emily March
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 9/24/2016


I loved this book because it espouses hope and victory in the face of real issues people face. It was so good I ordered all of the rest of the books in this series! This is a story that, like the Mitford series, brings you in to the little town in Colorado and makes you feel like you are sitting on the front porch with the characters. It's one of those books you can't quit reading but you really don't want to see end!


The Bookstore
The Bookstore
Author: Deborah Meyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 3/18/2019


A story that moves nicely along, this was an interesting story, although it went in a direction I was not expecting. The bookstore and its characters were fun to get to know, and the literary references lent credibility and interest. A good read.


Buried In a Bog (County Cork, Bk 1)
Buried In a Bog (County Cork, Bk 1)
Author: Sheila Connolly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 6/5/2017


A charming tale of Ireland and a mystery that keeps one guessing until the end. This was a fun and enjoyable read.


The Confessor (Audio CD) (Abridged)
The Confessor (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Daniel Silva, Arliss Howard (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/29/2014


A gripping tale of intrigue and Vatican insider political machinations, this tape kept me engrossed until the end, and provided an unexpected conclusion. I highly recommend it if you enjoy mystery and intrigue.


The Crystal Cavern (aka Hidden Motive)
The Crystal Cavern (aka Hidden Motive)
Author: Hannah Alexander
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/12/2012


A suspenseful adventure to the end, this is a good read. I felt the stay at the farmhouse was a bit overdone at the end, but all in all a fun and wholesome read.


The Dead Path
The Dead Path
Author: Stephen M. Irwin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/29/2011


I found this story a little too off the wall for my taste. I did skim to the end to see how it ended, but I would not recommend it.


Duma Key
Duma Key
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 458
Review Date: 7/7/2011


A gripping tale of suspense, the story started a little slowly but as it unfolded I was captured by the growing drama. The gradual revelation of dark, mystical forces at work in the protagonist and on the island drew me in until I could scarcely put the book down.


Eggs in Purgatory (Cackleberry Club, Bk 1)
Eggs in Purgatory (Cackleberry Club, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Childs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 7/27/2011


A delightful tale with a spunky protagonist and a surprising perpetrator that keeps one engaged in the unfolding mystery. The recipes that are described and included in the text and in the full in the back of the book add another enjoyable dimension to this book.


The Flanders Panel
The Flanders Panel
Author: Arturo Perez-Reverte, Margaret Jull Costa (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 7/11/2016


A charming mystery albeit a little heavy on the chess theme; I don't play the game and it was a little much, but still intriguing, with an ending I didn't forsee. I took it on a trip and it was a good way to occupy the time.


For the Least of These (Mystery and the Minister's Wife)
For the Least of These (Mystery and the Minister's Wife)
Author: Charlotte Carter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/13/2017


This was a delightful read, with enough meat in it to keep a reader guessing and wanting to know how it turned out. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good story. This series in well-written and satisfying.


Git-R-Done
Git-R-Done
Author: Larry the Cable Guy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 7/9/2016


It was a bit too much seeing the coarse jokes in print; maybe hearing a comedian comes across better. I didn't finish the book but I am a reader that likes positive, light-hearted, clean comedy and some of this crossed the line for me.


The Grimm Legacy (Grimm Legacy, Bk 1)
The Grimm Legacy (Grimm Legacy, Bk 1)
Author: Polly Shulman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/31/2013


A charming and engaging story that keeps the reader wondering what is around the next corner. I recommend this book for entertaining reading. A great way to walk into the fantasy world and be surprised by what is coming next!


House of Many Shadows
House of Many Shadows
Author: Barbara Michaels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 9/2/2011


This suspensefil tale of a traumatized young woman, an older house and the "ghosts" that haunt it is an engaging story with an interesting resolution. It unfolds at just the right pace, and draws the reader into the mystery, piquing the curiosity and leading the reader along to a satisfactory conclusion. It was entertaining and enjoyable.


The Illumination
The Illumination
Author: Jill Gregory, Karen Tintori
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/22/2014


Engaging story, lots of action, historical information - I could not put this one down. An excellent story in the Dan Brown mystery style.


Jewels of the Sun (Irish Trilogy, Bk 1)
Jewels of the Sun (Irish Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 987
Review Date: 3/26/2012


A charming story of the beauty of Ireland, the mythology and the people, this story made me feel I was right there in the glory of the little seaside town it takes place in, in the pub where the main characters meet and interact. It is definitely a feel-good read.


Lavender Morning (Edilean, Bk 1)
Lavender Morning (Edilean, Bk 1)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 235
Review Date: 1/8/2014


The prologue was so confusing I did not read the rest of the book. And I am typically a patient reader.


Lead a Horse to Murder (Reigning Cats & Dogs, Bk 3)
Lead a Horse to Murder (Reigning Cats & Dogs, Bk 3)
Author: Cynthia Baxter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 11/28/2011


A fun-to-read look into the world of polo and the rich, the book had a surprise ending, which I liked. A light read, but enjoyable.


The Lucifer Code (Thomas Lourds, Bk 2)
The Lucifer Code (Thomas Lourds, Bk 2)
Author: Charles Brokaw
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/13/2014


A fast-moving, engaging story with interesting historical background and surprising twists and turns. The descriptions are a bit graphic in places, but the story kept me reading.


1 to 20 of 29 - Page: