Jan R. (arizonarose) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
ALTHORP: THE STORY OF AN ENGLISH HOUSE
ALTHORP: THE STORY OF AN ENGLISH HOUSE
Author: Charles Spencer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/12/2014


Wonderful history of Althorp and the Spencer family. The author's approach made the family all seem to be very 'normal' or down-to-earth people. Some beautiful photos but as one who may never get over to Althorp, I was hungry for more!! It is a beautiful estate and the book was well-written.


The Daughter of Siena
The Daughter of Siena
Author: Marina Fiorato
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 12/29/2013


Ms. Fiorato draws the reader in from Page One. Her books are lessons in history, geography, cultures and anything else you want to throw in. Her extensive education and research pays off in every paragraph. If you've ever traveled to Italy or are just an arm chair traveler, you will enjoy this book. Her books will prompt curious readers to get online and do a bit more research on many subjects. This book won't disappoint!


Day After Night
Day After Night
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 5/20/2013
Helpful Score: 2


A story of courage, strength and loving friendships. Ms. Diamant gives us the gift of these four women in an intimate picture of life in a haunting era of time.


Dead in the Water (Stone Barrington, Bk 3)
Dead in the Water (Stone Barrington, Bk 3)
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 1/18/2013


Easy reading. No lulls here!


The Defector (Gabriel Allon, Bk 9)
The Defector (Gabriel Allon, Bk 9)
Author: Daniel Silva
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 7/6/2014


Once again, Silva has given us a can't-put-it-down thriller. Silva is a writer who knows history and can relate it clearly to current events. Suspenseful, thought-provoking,compelling,intriguing plots--what more could one say? After reading 12 of Silva's books, I still say he is one of best writers.


The Five-Forty-Five to Cannes
The Five-Forty-Five to Cannes
Author: Tess Uriza Holthe
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/7/2014


Ms. Holthe has an interesting writing style. The story was not what I expected but it did have many different twists.


Girl in Hyacinth Blue
Girl in Hyacinth Blue
Author: Susan Vreeland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 324
Review Date: 9/19/2013


Intriguing story told in a unique way. A series of stories, each a 'chapter' which tells the journey of a mysterious painting. I couldn't put it down.


Hot Mahogany (Stone Barrington, Bk 15)
Hot Mahogany (Stone Barrington, Bk 15)
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 1/18/2013


Woods is a great author! Easy to read story, lots of action, interesting characters.


The Journal of Helene Berr
The Journal of Helene Berr
Author: Helene Berr, David Bellos (Translator), Mariette Job
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/11/2014


What a talented, compassionate, and wise young woman! In her writing, she has given a great gift to the world. Perhaps the most telling comments for our society today come from Mr. Bellos' closing words: "It was just as impossible for Helene Berr to know what Auschwitz meant as it is impossible for us not to know. Her Journal is overshadowed by dramatic irony worthy of Sophocles. We should resist the temptation of wishing that the young woman had understood sooner and drawn the conclusions that, with the hindsight we cannot now disown, we think we would have reached in time. Smugness is not a useful reaction to this searing work. We should rather pause and ask: Are we sure we know what is going on before our eyes?"


Lost Empire (Fargo Adventures, Bk 2)
Lost Empire (Fargo Adventures, Bk 2)
Author: Clive Cussler, Grant Blackwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 1/6/2013


Interesting adventure off the coast of Africa. Quick easy reading meaning I didn't want to put it down. Lots of twists and turns.


The Mark of the Assassin (Michael Osbourne, Bk 1)
The Mark of the Assassin (Michael Osbourne, Bk 1)
Author: Daniel Silva
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 2/4/2012


Draws you in from Page One! Suspenseful and exciting. Silva is one of THE best authors if you enjoy espionage and/or political thrillers.


Mutant Message Down Under
Mutant Message Down Under
Author: Marlo Morgan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 1/6/2013


Even after 3 trips to Australia and a tiny bit of knowledge on the native people, I could not get into this book. After reading over half way through, I shelved it.


The Notebook
The Notebook
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1719
Review Date: 1/6/2013


Typical Nicholas Sparks writing. Just so-so story.


The Rain Before It Falls
The Rain Before It Falls
Author: Jonathan Coe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/6/2013


Interesting format for telling a story, traveling back and forth in time. A bit long for this tale.


The Rembrandt Affair (Gabriel Allon, Bk 10)
The Rembrandt Affair (Gabriel Allon, Bk 10)
Author: Daniel Silva
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 8/12/2014


Silva does it yet again!! Another GREAT espionage novel that I could NOT put down! Silva's research and attention to detail really pays off. Gabriel Allon gives Bond and all the other spymasters a true run for the money. Silva deftly uses current events and current political lines of thinking/negotiation with such skill. The action and suspense never lets up. Intriguing!


Spandau Phoenix (World War II, Bk 1)
Spandau Phoenix (World War II, Bk 1)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 7/29/2014


Spandau Phoenix is definitely action-packed and suspenseful with so many twists to an interesting plot. It held my attention in spite of the length: 700 pages. There should have been some serious editing because it is much too long! Can't believe I stuck with it but the story is intriguing. Iles needs to learn how to put a limit on the words/pages in a good story. His writing loses some of its power when the book is 700 - 800 pages reducing the reader to considerable skimming. Too bad when he is such a creative and imaginative writer.


Spanish Recognitions: The Road from the Past
Spanish Recognitions: The Road from the Past
Author: Mary Lee Settle
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/13/2014


Wonderful and unique travel book. Settle paints historical details that bring each plaza, cathedral, village, castle into vivid mental pictures. YOU ARE THERE!!! Her encounters with the people breathes such life into the Spanish people, both in the her time and centuries ago. This is the best book I have ever read on Spain. If I were a history or Spanish teacher, it would be required reading!


Spies of the Balkans (Night Soldiers, Bk 11) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 6/6/2014


A great historical spy novel. Reminds us of the heart-stopping tension so many people lived with on a daily basis for years. This is one of those "You-are-there!" novels. Well-written.


The Summer I Dared
The Summer I Dared
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/28/2011


This novel pulls you in from the very first page. Well written with interesting characters and thought-provoking story.


The Unlikely Spy
The Unlikely Spy
Author: Daniel Silva
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 2/4/2012


Spellbinding from beginning to end! Not to be missed. Silva knows how to weave a story...better than just 'telling' one.


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: