Jennifer B. (dragonqueen) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 81 - Page:
Animist
Animist
Author: Eve Forward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 12/29/2005
Helpful Score: 2


An entertaining light read. A sequel would be a good idea.


The Baker's Boy (Book of Words, Bk 1)
The Baker's Boy (Book of Words, Bk 1)
Author: J. V. Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 3/25/2006


Entertaining but I wished for more magic from the main character. The main characters were interesting enough to keep me reading though. And I'm glad I did. Overall this trilogy turned out to be a pretty good read.


Body Electric
Body Electric
Author: Susan Squires
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 12/12/2005
Helpful Score: 1


An entertaining book about a woman that falls for her own creation. Improbable but still a good read.


Beyond the Pale (Last Rune, Bk 1)
Beyond the Pale (Last Rune, Bk 1)
Author: Mark Anthony
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 9/21/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Great start to a series I look foward to reading.


Black Sun Rising (Coldfire Trilogy, Bk 1)
Black Sun Rising (Coldfire Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: C. S. Friedman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 3/22/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A delightful blend of sci-fi with fantasy. Characters are likable even the evil Hunter. All in all a good solid fantasy read.


The Bone Doll's Twin (Tamir Trilogy, Book 1)
The Bone Doll's Twin (Tamir Trilogy, Book 1)
Author: Lynn Flewelling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 2/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this story and can't wait to get the next book in the series.


A Breach in the Watershed (Watershed Trilogy, Bk 1)
A Breach in the Watershed (Watershed Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Douglas Niles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/3/2006


An interesting start to what could be a good series. I will have to pick up book 2 to see if it lives up to my expectations.


The Burrowers Beneath / The Transition of Titus Crow (Titus Crow, Vol 1)
Review Date: 3/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Story started out to be interesting and then just got more bizarre the further I read into it. Not near as good as his Necroscope series but worth a read if your a fan of Lumley.


Child of Saturn (Green Lion, Bk 1)
Child of Saturn (Green Lion, Bk 1)
Author: Teresa Edgerton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/21/2005


The Kingdom of Celydonn has been at peace for 50 years, since the great wizard Glastyn conquered the Wild Magic and drove its monsters underground. But Glastyn has disappeared and his apprentice Teleri is only a young girl, not experienced in sorcery. But even Teleri can see the crops are withering. And monsters stalk the forests, and corpses have washed ashore. Even more frightening is the aura of evil magic that surrounds Princess Diaspad. Teleri's magic is untested- but someone must act, or Celydonn will be full of blood and darkness.


Children of the Lion (Chronicles of the Cheysuli: Omnibus 3)
Children of the Lion (Chronicles of the Cheysuli: Omnibus 3)
Author: Jennifer Roberson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 12/3/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Fasinating fantasy series. Loved the Cheysuli for their shapechanging ability.


The Chimes of Yawrana (The Snowtear Wars, Book 1)
The Chimes of Yawrana (The Snowtear Wars, Book 1)
Author: Scot R. Stone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/7/2013


A decent enough fantasy. Well written, with interesting characters and motives. I will be reading the next two books in the series.


Crescent City Rhapsody (Nanotech, Bk 3)
Crescent City Rhapsody (Nanotech, Bk 3)
Author: Kathleen Ann Goonan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/22/2005


It begins with the Silence, born of mysterious, space-originated phenomena that render Earth's technologies useless- inspiring paranoia and alien invasion fears within secret government agencies. In a new world that nessity has transfigured Marie Laveau's hunger for vengence is giving way to something greater. For Destiny has named her savior of the outcasts, the oppressed, the crazies, the hunted and the Silence's mutant children, who all flock to her dream of a future that's sweet... and a safe haven called Crescent City.


Crown of Shadows (The Coldfire Trilogy, Bk 3)
Crown of Shadows (The Coldfire Trilogy, Bk 3)
Author: C. S. Friedman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 3/26/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Great trilogy. Fight evil with evil made for a entertaining story and very interesting characters. Highly recommend fantasy fans read this one.


Dark Emerald (Dark Jewels, Bk 2)
Dark Emerald (Dark Jewels, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 5/31/2006


Tara's life is shrouded in secrets. It sems no one can reveal the mysterious circumstances surrounding her birth. All she knows is that they are somehow entwined with a dark emerald- the jewel identifying the lost heir to Tower Twyll. Banished from Twyll by his brutal half brother, Rhys has carved out a new life as the Outlaw. But then he captures a raven-haired beauty who not only enflames his desire, but carries the jewel that threatens his quest for revenge. From the first, the infamous criminal stokes a passion seductive yet frightening in Tara. For if she is the true heir of Twyll, then she is the sworn enemy of the man who has captured her heart...


Dark Heart  (Dragon's Disciple Bk 1)
Dark Heart (Dragon's Disciple Bk 1)
Author: David Baldwin, Margaret Weis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/16/2006


Back cover:" Justinian, Lord Sterling, has lived for centuries, serving an ancient entity known only as the Dragon. Immortality is Justin's reward. But to keep it, he must keep killing. Lt. Sandra McCormick is a dedicated cop, a loner whose job is her refuge from a twisted past. But to keep it, she must stop the killing. Two loners, each stalking the other. Each destined to the other's savior-and downfall. For love, unexpected, unstoppable,draws them together. And love is the one vice the dragon will not allow... " I really liked this book but I can't find the sequel and I'm slowly going mad. lol This novel is a must read for those who love dragon fantasy. With a surprise ending, it will leave you wanting to get your claws on book 2.


A Darker Dream
A Darker Dream
Author: Amanda Ashley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 8/30/2005
Helpful Score: 1


A nice vampire romance.


Decipher
Decipher
Author: Stel Pavlou
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 5/14/2006
Helpful Score: 7


A very enjoyable book. While it has some scientific jargon (causing those who don't know much about geology and physics to reread a paragraph or two just to get an basic understanding)this book is one of the most entertaining I've read in a while. Of course, I may be biased because I've always loved the legend of Atlantis. I would recommend this book to any who like science and end of the world novels.


Dragons of Winter Night (Dragonlance Chronicles, Bk 2)
Dragons of Winter Night (Dragonlance Chronicles, Bk 2)
Author: Tracy Hickman, Margaret Weis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 12/24/2005
Helpful Score: 2


Wonderful series. Weis and Hickman make a great duo.


Dream Of Me
Dream Of Me
Author: Lisa Cach
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 12/7/2005


Strange concept for romance. I really liked this book and would like to see more about demons.


The Dwelling: A Novel
The Dwelling: A Novel
Author: Susie Moloney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 2/6/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A creepy story but without blood or gore. One of the better haunted house books.


1 to 20 of 81 - Page: