Leah G. (LeahG) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 268 - Page:
10 Lb. Penalty
10 Lb. Penalty
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 7/25/2011


I love Dick Francis books and this one was one of the best that I think I've read. A lot of people say to me, "Oh, he writes about horses, doesn't he?", as though it were not a subject they find interesting. Believe me, it doesn't matter whether you're interested in horses or not. I'm not really interested in horses at all. However, all of his books that I've read involve horse racing in some way, although sometimes it is only a small connection. His characters are very real and he makes you care about what happens to them, and there is always a great deal of suspense in his stories, and they're all hard to put down.


11 Harrowhouse
11 Harrowhouse
Author: Gerald A. Browne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/27/2007


This was a great story. This is the second book I've read by this author, and the first one prompted me to read this one. I wasn't disappointed and was sad to see it end.
Leah G.


44 Scotland Street (44 Scotland Street, Bk 1)
44 Scotland Street (44 Scotland Street, Bk 1)
Author: Alexander McCall Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 202
Review Date: 1/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This story was okay, but not nearly as good in my opinion as his series about Precious Ramwotse, although it did get more interesting as it progressed. There are a lot of characters to keep track of and very few of any worth. That's my opinion, anyway.


Accidental Happiness
Accidental Happiness
Author: Jean Reynolds Page
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 2/5/2015


Excellent read.


The Accidental Tourist
The Accidental Tourist
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/23/2014


The Accidental Tourist kept me captivated from beginning to end. I love the way the author describes each character, their thoughts and differences and quirks, which there are plenty of. Plus it has a very satisfactory ending.


Ahab's Wife: Or, The Star-Gazer
Review Date: 12/7/2006


This falls into the category of one of the better books that I've read, and I've been reading at least one book constantly for the last 57 years.


The Alchemist: A Fable About Following Your Dream
Review Date: 5/18/2008


This was a sweet little story, about a boy who is pure of heart who finds his way through life in order to reach his destiny. Very enjoyable reading.


All He Ever Wanted
All He Ever Wanted
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 12/17/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This was a story unlike any I've ever read. The "hero" of the story is not necessarily a likeable person, yet I was compelled to keep reading this intriguing account of the life of a man obsessed with a woman who didn't love him.
Leah G.


An Ocean Apart
An Ocean Apart
Author: Robin Pilcher
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 2/18/2013


I thought the author spent too much time describing things that are just fillers, like brushing his teeth before going to bed etc.


An Unfinished Life
An Unfinished Life
Author: Mark Spragg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 12/23/2011


I didn't care for the way it was written -- in present tense -- so stopped reading it. I like books that related a story that has already happened.


And Then You Die (Aurelio Zen, Bk 8)
And Then You Die (Aurelio Zen, Bk 8)
Author: Michael Dibdin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/17/2011


I became intersted in the Aurelio Zen series when I saw it on Masterpiece Mystery. I liked this character and decided to read some of the books about him. This was as enjoyable as the TV series.


Animal Farm
Animal Farm
Author: George Orwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/29/2016


An interesting satire on the way people are controlled by governments and others who want power, with human traits exhibited by animals.


Any Bitter Thing
Any Bitter Thing
Author: Monica Wood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 10/7/2016


I enjoyed every minute of this book. The characters are wonderfully described, so that I felt I knew each one of them personally. It is definitely a bittersweet tale, but one that was hard for me to put down.


At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 2/2/2008


When I first started reading this book, I was a little bit skeptical about whether I would like it or not, but it soon began to grow on me, as I became more familiar with the characters. Well before the end, I began to love it, and now I can't wait to read the next book in the series.


Back to the Bedroom (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Back to the Bedroom (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Janet Evanovich, C. J. Critt (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 11/7/2010


Good story. I enjoyed it.


Bailey's Cafe
Bailey's Cafe
Author: Gloria Naylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 6/10/2017


This was a fascinating book. I found it unique and refreshing in its method of exploring characters other than those I expected and I was never bored.


Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Author: Dai Sijie, Ina Rilke (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 682
Review Date: 12/5/2006


I loved this little book. This story took me to a place and time I'm not likely to explore in real life and I enjoyed it thoroughly.
Leah G.


Beach Music
Beach Music
Author: Pat Conroy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 307
Review Date: 3/3/2016


This story is well written and moves along quickly and gives one a good perspective of South Carolina and Rome. There is a lot of back and forth teasing and bickering between the family members and some friends, at least in the beginning.


Before You Know Kindness
Before You Know Kindness
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 7/2/2011


All I can say is that it started off with a bang.


Best Kept Secret (Clifton Chronicles, Bk 3)
Best Kept Secret (Clifton Chronicles, Bk 3)
Author: Jeffrey Archer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 3/30/2017


I avoided all books by Jeffrey Archer for years. Don't ask me why. I thought they were something else. He is a brilliant author and so far I've read six of his books. I couldn't put them down and now I sort of savor them for when I need a really good book to read. Best Kept Secret is Book 3 of the Clifton Chronicles, a great family saga that has kept me on the edge of my chair.


1 to 20 of 268 - Page: