Leanne D. (eclecticmusicmama) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 427 - Page:
Acts of Violets (Flower Shop Mysteries, No. 5)
Acts of Violets (Flower Shop Mysteries, No. 5)
Author: Kate Collins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/27/2014


Another funny installment in this series with plenty of action.


Against the Wild (Brodies of Alaska, Bk 1)
Against the Wild (Brodies of Alaska, Bk 1)
Author: Kat Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 7/11/2014


I agree that this book gets off to a slow start, but there is lots of action later, which results in "can't put it down reading."

Good series so far!


Against the Wind (Raines of Wind Canyon, Bk 1)
Against the Wind (Raines of Wind Canyon, Bk 1)
Author: Kat Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 7/1/2014


Enjoyable series romance!


All I Need Is You (Abridged) (Audio Cassette)
All I Need Is You (Abridged) (Audio Cassette)
Author: Johanna Lindsey, Sandra Burr (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/2/2013


Fun romance read by Sandra Burr.

3 hours on 2 Audio Cassettes


All Our Tomorrows
All Our Tomorrows
Author: Mary Lynn Baxter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/7/2013


I wish I had something good to say about this book, but I didn't like the story or characters.

As it was a first book, maybe the author improved, so I will try reading another of her later books.


All Things Hidden (Thorndike Press Large Print Christian Fiction)
Review Date: 1/23/2014


If you love historical Christian romance, you won't want to miss this book! Such an interesting part of our history about the colonization of Alaska...great characters and a quick read!

Highly recommended!


Anything Goes (Grace and Favor, Bk 1)
Anything Goes (Grace and Favor, Bk 1)
Author: Jill Churchill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 7/31/2014


I enjoyed the first book of this series and really liked the female lead character. Her brother seemed to need some fleshing out as a character, so we will see if that happens in the coming books, or if he is meant to be a side character, rather than a main character, as it appeared when the series began.

A quick, fun cozy!


An Appetite for Murder (Key West Food Critic Mysteries)
An Appetite for Murder (Key West Food Critic Mysteries)
Author: Lucy Burdette
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/3/2012


I loved it! Fun, fast read that had me chuckling out loud and ready to head to Key West tomorrow!

Suggest reading it on a full stomach though unless you're looking to gain weight as there's so much dialogue about food that it whets your appetite for more than this book!


An Apple for the Creature
An Apple for the Creature
Author: Toni L. P. Kelner (Editor), Charlaine Harris (Editor)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 12/3/2012


I've liked Rhys Bowen's series mysteries tremendously, but I hated the short story in this book.

Didn't read the others I was so disappointed in this book.


The Apple Orchard
The Apple Orchard
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/28/2013


This book was one of the ones that are so fabulous you wish they wouldn't end. I'm hoping there will be at least one more book to this story.

This is not just a family saga...there's history, mystery, romance, and plenty of suspense.

Please try to start it when you have plenty of time to read with no interruptions as it's important to take in who the characters are and keep them straight to follow the winding, weaving intricacies of the great plotting of this story.


Asking for Murder (Advice Column, Bk 3) (Large Print)
Asking for Murder (Advice Column, Bk 3) (Large Print)
Author: Roberta Isleib
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/24/2013


It's a shame the author seems to have discontinued this series in 2008 to concentrate on her series under the name Lucy Burdette.

All three books in this series were good mysteries with Books 1 and 3 being the strongest, but all being full of surprises at the end. Hope she decides to bring this series back!


Assault and Batter (Donut Shop, Bk 11)
Assault and Batter (Donut Shop, Bk 11)
Author: Jessica Beck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/4/2014


This has been a great series until this book. We all know most series that last any length of time will have their ups and downs, so I'm hoping this is just a dip in the road. However, the afterword in this book, merely signed "The Author," (who we all know is really Tim Myers), is not encouraging. It reads, "In addition, I've had quite a few folks say that they would like my donut books to be a bit shorter, more along the lines of my diner and ghost cat mysteries. Keeping that in mind, I've cut a few scenes in order to provide you all with a more compact novel that I trust you will enjoy."

Is this an author writing this? As book lovers' we all know that the mark of a really GOOD book is that we NEVER want it to end! His other books in this series were fast, fun reads that had real flow to them. Not so, this installment.

I also wonder how these "folks" let him know they thought his books were too long as neither Jessica Beck or Tim Myers' website have a way to contact the author or leave your thoughts.

I will read the next book, but if this series has gone downhill permanently, there are just too many great books out there just begging to to read to spend more money or credits on a series that just doesn't "cook" anymore.


At Home in Mitford [UNABRIDGED CD] (Audiobook (Book 1, The Mitford Series)
Review Date: 4/21/2014


The first book of the wonderful Mitford series, Unabridged on 16 CD's.

The narrator on this is John McDonough. He is a good narrator, but it does seem odd they didn't choose someone with a southern accent to narrate this book. I much prefer the author's voice, used in the abridged version, as her accent seems to fit the story much better. If an author has a good voice, they can tell their story like no other. I guess she didn't have time to record the unabridged version at that stage in the series though with the second book to write. That said, the abridged version is very short and leaves so many wonderful parts out, that it is much better to listen to this version, even with the accent that doesn't seem to fit.

Recorded Books, LLC, puts out some of the best audiobooks made, and this one is no exception. Very enjoyable. I just had listened to the one read by the author first and was surprised when the unabridged was not read by her.


Atkins Diabetes Revolution CD : The Groundbreaking Approach to Preventing and Controlling Diabetes
Review Date: 2/4/2012


I cannot understand the low review on PaperBackSwap on this CD audiobook. As a bookseller, I had so many positive comments on this title.


Atkins Diabetes Revolution : The Groundbreaking Approach to Preventing and Controlling Diabetes
Review Date: 2/4/2012


As a bookseller, I had so many positive comments from customers over the years on this title that I can't understand the other low ratings on PaperBackSwap.


Aunt Dimity and the Deep Blue Sea (Aunt Dimity, Bk 11)
Aunt Dimity and the Deep Blue Sea (Aunt Dimity, Bk 11)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 7/26/2012


Are there any bad Aunt Dimity books? If so, I haven't gotten there yet.

Wonderful twists and turns to a good plot and always the warmth and hope that Nancy Atherton is so good at weaving her tales around. I can be in the worst mood ever and 2 pages into an Aunt Dimity book, it has vanished. Thank you, Nancy Atherton...your books are much better for stress relief than any medication!


Aunt Dimity and the Duke (Aunt Dimity, Bk 2)
Aunt Dimity and the Duke (Aunt Dimity, Bk 2)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 7/16/2012


I love this whole series and can't wait for the next book!


Aunt Dimity and the Family Tree (Aunt Dimity, Bk 16)
Aunt Dimity and the Family Tree (Aunt Dimity, Bk 16)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 1/24/2015


Another great entry to this series with lots of twists and turns and surprises. You can't go wrong with reading Aunt Dimity!


Aunt Dimity and the Lost Prince (Thorndike Press Large Print Mystery Series)
Review Date: 2/26/2015


I've loved every Aunt Dimity book, but this is my least favorite of the series.

It's still a good book, but most of your favorite Finch characters are missing, as are Bill, William, and to a large extent, Rob and Will, as Lori and Bree go from one large estate to another searching for a lost prince.


Aunt Dimity and the Next of Kin (Aunt Dimity, Bk 10)
Aunt Dimity and the Next of Kin (Aunt Dimity, Bk 10)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 8/17/2012


Linda and Geri, I loved your reviews and echo your feelings about the whole Aunt Dimity series and this book.

I felt this title had an especially good message all conveyed lovingly through a warm, wonderful story as you find in all Aunt Dimity books. What a wonderful way to spend an afternoon or evening!


1 to 20 of 427 - Page: