Tammy (CrystalRose) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
Absolute Fear (New Orleans, Bk 5)
Absolute Fear (New Orleans, Bk 5)
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 7/20/2007
Helpful Score: 7


This book was fantastic! Lisa Jackson does a great job of weaving her characters together in a way that is relevant to the story. The ending of this book was perfect. Concludes this novels story but,leaves alot of possibilities open for future novels.

If you are a fan of Lisa Jackson don't miss this one. If you have never read her before,give this one a try!


The Alibi Man (Elena Estes, Bk 2)
The Alibi Man (Elena Estes, Bk 2)
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 9/24/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This wasn't my favorite Tami Hoag novel but it was still a fun read. I did LOVE how smart assed the main character was. Her comebacks had me chuckling to myself a few times. Definately has some great mystery and suspense. Personally I just thought some of her earlier novels were better :)


All the Numbers
All the Numbers
Author: Judy Merrill Larsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 2/23/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I read this book over 2 days. I haven't stopped thinking about it since I finished it. This book is everything a novel should be. You not only connect with the characters,you FEEL what they are going through. The loss,grief,anger and healing are described in a way that is so utterly real and emotional you can't help but empathise. I think anyone that has ever lost someone special to them should read this book. Totally Amazing.


Beyond Reach (Grant County, Bk 6)
Beyond Reach (Grant County, Bk 6)
Author: Karin Slaughter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 8/14/2007
Helpful Score: 11


This book was just..WOW! Usual Slaughter with it's twists and turns throughout. A really well and great written plot and story. The ending to this one though just STUNNED me. My mouth literally dropped open. I'm not sure what it will mean for the future of the Grant County series. For anyone that's read the rest of the books in the series..prepare yourselves for the ending. Not at all how I expected it to end!


Bite Me!
Bite Me!
Author: Melissa Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 4/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I am so glad I was able to get an early copy of this book. The story is about AJ a young teenage vampire that basically wants to be normal. Have a boyfriend,go to school,spend time with her best friends. The normal teenage stuff.

The trouble starts when her mom gets married. The love of her life is now her stepbrother. It's an heartbreaking and uncomfortable situation for them both but AJ tries to deal with it the best she can. Until other strange and tragic things start happening around her and she is left wondering what the heck happened to her normal teenage vampire life?

The best thing about this book for me was the dialogue. AJ is full of whit that literally had me laughing out loud through most of the book. There is also a great supernatural mystery running through the story line as AJ tries to figure out what is going on around her. The characters are all likeable and you easily get drawn into their world.

Bottom line is this book is enjoyable for teens and adults alike. Definately 5 stars!


Blindsighted  (Grant County, Bk 1)
Blindsighted (Grant County, Bk 1)
Author: Karin Slaughter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 351
Review Date: 7/23/2007
Helpful Score: 20


I had never read this author before but got this book in a box of books trade because the story sounded interesting..It ended up being beyond interesting it was fantastic!

The story is suspensful and the main characters well developed. I felt like I could really connect to them and what was going on in the book. It's a definite must read for thriller fans.


Book of the Dead (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 15)
Book of the Dead (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 15)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 458
Review Date: 1/11/2008
Helpful Score: 11


I am so so disappionted in this book! Not at all Cornwells usual level of writing. The case they are working on seems to take a backburner to all the drama going on with Benton,Scarpetta and Marino. It reads more like a soap opera plot rather than a forensic thriller. The story itself is choppy and seems to bounce around so half the time it's really hard to follow exactly what is going on. Also the end is completely anti climatic. It just drops with a decidely loud THUD!

I really hope Cornwell does alot better in her next Scarpetta offering or I'm likely to stop following this series. Totally dissapointing.


The Bright Forever
The Bright Forever
Author: Lee Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 208
Review Date: 9/25/2007
Helpful Score: 16


This book was extremely touching for me. It really made me reflect on the "if only I had done or said this" moments we all have in our lives. The story is based on the disappearance of a 9 year old girl and it follows the actions and emotions of each of the characters involved in her disappearance. I loved the way it painted the pictures of these people. Even those responsible were not made out to be truly "evil" only misguided to a point that brough about a tragedy. This book is definately one of the best books I have read so far this year.


Companion Parrot Handbook
Companion Parrot Handbook
Author: Sally Blanchard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/16/2007
Helpful Score: 3


If you have parrots this book is a great asset. It talks about all aspects of parrot ownership from ways to keep them busy and stimulated to how to deal with behavior problems using positive reinforcement. I really love this book :)


Eight Days to Live (Eve Duncan, Bk 10)
Eight Days to Live (Eve Duncan, Bk 10)
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 6/13/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This is not about Eve Duncan. It's about her adopted daughter Jane. Eve has a few small scenes in the book but not enough to label it an "Eve Duncan" thriller. I'm generally pretty disappointed in this. I don't like Janes character that much and the story tends to be less then believable in most places. It also tended to drag for me in a lot of places. I'm going to try the next one and see if it's better but if it's not this may be one series I might end up giving up on.


Forgotten
Forgotten
Author: Mariah Stewart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 10/2/2008
Helpful Score: 4


I really enjoyed this book. Interesting plot and lots of twists and turns. A few of the twists I saw coming before they happened but the book still had plenty of suprises. Part of the story does involve some descriptions of child abuse,So I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone that can't handle that. I found the story to be very engrossing and I liked the way the main character seemed to evolve the deeper she got into the case. I give it a solid 4 stars and can't wait to see what Mariah Stewart will come out with next!


The Kitchen House
The Kitchen House
Author: Kathleen Grissom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 394
Review Date: 8/9/2010
Helpful Score: 1


All I have to say is WOW. When I won this book I wasn't sure what to expect. This is not my usual genre but I decided to give it a shot. The story was wonderful. The author paints the characters in a way that makes you care about them and the things that happen to them. The story being told from two different perspectives also helps to give you a full view of the situation. The only thing that kept this book from being 5 stars for me was the ending. I thought it was a bit abrupt for my liking. Overall though a wonderful piece of historical fiction! I would definitely recommend this to friends.


The Lake of Dead Languages
The Lake of Dead Languages
Author: Carol Goodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 175
Review Date: 9/12/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I enjoyed this book..However I felt the beginning of the book was slow and hard to get into for me. I felt like it was being drawn out with alot of filler to take up page space. Once the mysteries start coming to light and drawing together however the books seems to flow at a much better pace. I'd recommend this book to people who want something a little different than the average thriller. I will try other books by this author.


Last Known Victim (Stacy Killian, Bk 3)
Last Known Victim (Stacy Killian, Bk 3)
Author: Erica Spindler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 3/1/2008
Helpful Score: 6


I normally love Erica Spindlers books. This however was not one of my favorites. Parts of it were just dull and seemed to drag. The story itself was pretty interesting..once you got around all the filler. It felt like she had an idea for the story and then wasn't sure how to pan it out so she filled in alot of backstory that wasn't needed. Also I really couldn't connect to the main character Patty O'Shay at all. The last few chapters got interesting but..the ending was pretty anticlimatic. A decent read but not one of her best.


Last Seen Alive
Last Seen Alive
Author: Carlene Thompson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 1/12/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is the first book I've ever read by Carlene Thompson and it won't be my last! I loved this book. Wonderful mystery with a little bit of the supernatural at play. It really kept me guessing. Just when I thought I had it figured out the author would turn the story to make me suspect someone else. I absolutely LOVE books that keep me guessing. If you're looking for a good mystery to curl up with on a cold winter night I highly reccomend this one!


Live to Tell (D.D. Warren, Bk 4)
Live to Tell (D.D. Warren, Bk 4)
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 4/20/2010
Helpful Score: 3


This book was FANTASTIC! It brings back one of my favorite Lisa Gardner characters Detective D.D. Warren.

The book is told from 3 different points of view. Danielle is a pediatric psychiatric nurse. Victoria is the mother of an extremely disturbed child and both are involved in the case Detective D.D. Warren is working on.

I don't want to give away too much of the story but this book easily draws you in. Each character is so well developed and their stories so interesting you can't help but get drawn in by them. I found the look into pediatric psychiatry extremely fascinating. This book has enough twists and turns to keep you guessing. I did finally figure out who did it but it was very interesting to see WHY. I'd definitely recommend this book to Lisa Gardner fans and to anyone that wants a good keep you reading all night thriller!


Lost Lake
Lost Lake
Author: Phillip Margolin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 11/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book was the first book I've read by Philip Margolin and it was great! Great character development and enough twists and turns to keep you wondering if you really have it all figured out. The story moves fast and easily keeps you interested in the plot. You won't be sorry for trying this one!


Missing
Missing
Author: Sharon Sala
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 7/23/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I found this book to be quite suspenseful. I connected to the characters and thought the two main characters fit together very well. While there was some romance I found it did take a back burner to the other events going on through out the book. Overall a great book to curl up and relax with :)


The Missing (Darby McCormick, Bk 1)
The Missing (Darby McCormick, Bk 1)
Author: Chris Mooney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 6/18/2008
Helpful Score: 4


I was EXTREMELY impressed with this book. I'm usually pretty good at figuring out who the killer is and what's going on in these kinds of books but this one had a great twist at the end that left me shocked. I read it in a day simply because I just HAD to see how it was going to end. If you're looking for a thriller that will keep you guessing,I definately recommend this one!


Obsession (Alex Delaware, Bk 21)
Obsession (Alex Delaware, Bk 21)
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 9/17/2007
Helpful Score: 8


Well I have to say I agree with everyone else. This book was so so and not anywhere near as exciting as most of Kellermans earlier work. As always Milo and Alex make a great team but there didn't see to be any suspense in this novel at all. It was too easy to figure out and personally I had NO sympathy for the girl they were trying to help. She just came across as annoying for me. It was an interesting enough read but definately something I could easily put down. I hope Kellermans next novel will be better.


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: