Reviews - Debra R. (MediumDebbi)

1 to 20 of 93 - Page:
110 Stories: New York Writes After September 11
110 Stories: New York Writes After September 11
Author: Ulrich Baer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/31/2008


"It took me a long time to get into and back to this book, kinda hard to read for the emotions involved. There is a vast variety of writers involved, some you would never think about, from people in the neighboorhood whose door was blasted by the explosion, a block away, to artists who had studios on the 92nd floor!
The thing that struck me most about the selections was what was expressed about "here today,gone tommorow" effect, how wierd it was that the towers fell within 2 hours in the same day! Phenonemal Book!"


The 158-Pound Marriage
The 158-Pound Marriage
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 6/13/2011


"This is one of Irving's early novels and of course it comes complete with all the Irving elements:Eurofunk,wrestlers,the fatal air but no bears. A winning tale about menage a quatro swingers,physical endurance and existentialism all wrapped together in 244 pages-or so."


A. D. 62: Pompeii
A. D. 62: Pompeii
Author: Rebecca East
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/4/2011


"It sounded like a great premise, but I just could not get into this,competent writing and all."


All New People
All New People
Author: Anne Lamott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 8/29/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I loved this book! LaMott has an easy sort of candor that moves the story along at smooth pace. The characters and the way she introduces them reminds me very much of Grace Paley's characters, they have good common horse sense, but are faulty and humorous as well."


An Egg on Three Sticks
An Egg on Three Sticks
Author: Jackie Fischer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 3/2/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Well written book for young adults.I found that it was a little too heavy on the YA vernacular (ie: wierdamundo) and this got on my nerves and I lost interest."


At Weddings and Wakes
At Weddings and Wakes
Author: Alice Mcdermott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/13/2007


"I started this because I read Charming Billy and really enjoyed it. This one just didn't grab me. It seemed very stilted and choppy."


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/11/2008


"I have to agree with about half of all the readers reviews (on this site anyhow)and half of my friends, This book was ridiculously obscure to the average reader. I tried several times myself and it is about the least approachable books I have ever picked up. And I have read and enjoyed several of McEwans books,they usually have very interesting plots and are hard to put down, so really it surprises me. I especially liked "The Cement Garden".
I read a vast variety of books and I consider myself a disciplined reader,it's almost an insult!"


Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter
Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter
Author: Mario Vargas Llosa
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/25/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is a raucous,hilarious sendup of eccentric family dynamics and the hysterics of the radioworld in Latin America! A real fun adventure in reading! Loved it!"


B is for Burglar (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 2)
B is for Burglar (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 2)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 450
Review Date: 6/18/2007


"In what seems like a quick case, Kinsey Millhone begins to track down a missing person. Red Herrings start popping up everywhere and the end is great big surprise!
This is my first Sue Grafton book and I am hooked! There a great sense of pacing and convincing scenarios in this series and I mean to keep going through the whole alphabet! Great summer reading!"


Before I Go To Sleep: A Novel
Before I Go To Sleep: A Novel
Author: S. J. Watson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 9/9/2013
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"The main character, Christine, has recurrent amnesia after an accident that happened many years ago, although as the story progresses, questions are raised as to what really happened to her. At times the amnesia part became tiresome but this drives home the point that it is also tiresome for the character and people in her world. The author built tensions throughout and this is well done. This story touches on questions of identity and quality of life besides being a good thriller."


The Best American Short Stories 1999
The Best American Short Stories 1999
Author: Katrina Kenison (Editor), Amy Tan (Editor)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/29/2013


"This is an extra copy that I bought because I forgot I had a copy already. Amy Tan is one of my fave authors so I am guessing that she selected some great stories!!"


A Blessing over Ashes : The Remarkable Odyssey of My Unlikely Brother
Review Date: 8/3/2009


"This is a well written book and initially an interesting premise however it was not much of a page turner for me. I tried several times to get "into it" but my interest was still pretty intermittant."


Blue Smoke
Blue Smoke
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 664
Review Date: 6/26/2007


"I started reading this but it is not my bag. I didn't think it was terrible but just not connecting."


Bread Givers
Bread Givers
Author: Anzia Yezierska
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 9/23/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Fantastic, exuberant story about how one little Jewish girl beat the matchmaking system and got the education she dreamed of. This is one of the best books about the issues inherent in marriage and life I have ever read yet. Very touching and real!"


The Burn Journals
The Burn Journals
Author: Brent Runyon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 12/27/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A very well written account of one persons experience of a self destructive act. In this book Runyon reveiws his adolescent angst and regret in a very real way and it is powerful, near the middle it becomes repetitive and I regret that I lost interest. But then I am, admittedly, easily distratcted once it gets redundant."


Call It Sleep
Call It Sleep
Author: Henry Roth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/29/2007


"I loved this book, it is so much more than it's description on the back. This is the definitive immigrant story, it's educational with its empathy for it's characters and its poetry! If you ever wanted to know about the evolution of accents and language, as I did, this the book for you. just deciphering the street vernacular is a real kick!"


Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Atkinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 507
Review Date: 6/7/2007
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I heard great things about this book but it just did not grab me. Hopefully someone will enjoy it."


The Changeling Sea (Firebird)
The Changeling Sea (Firebird)
Author: Patricia A. McKillip
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 4/2/2014


"This is a sweet lyrical little fantasy and I am glad to have discovered it! Not only does it have all the great elements of fanatsy, sea dragons,kings, bittersweet romance but the writing is infused with a cozy sensibility that is interestingly reassuring! Really enjoyed this and will seek out her other stories!"


Child 44
Child 44
Author: Tom Rob Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/8/2013


"An excellent historical fiction thriller! Smith did his homework to convey a terroristic state as Stalinist Russia was from the 30's to the 50's when Stalin died. The story follows Leo from his position of State Security to near defector to catch a serial killer that the State will not admit exists. The hoops inside of hoops that Leo must jump through even to investigate the crimes would be incredible and highly frustrating to any modern-day CSI investigator in this country. This one really puts the reader in the story and through the paces, I enjoyed it and would definetly read Smith again!!"


Choosing Civility : The Twenty-five Rules of Considerate Conduct
Choosing Civility : The Twenty-five Rules of Considerate Conduct
Author: P. M. Forni
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/17/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A freind at work recommended this one. A good guide if you're lost in the effort to get along with people but I wasn't bowled over by it."


1 to 20 of 93 - Page: