Rachel K. (ra32) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
The 19th Wife
The 19th Wife
Author: David Ebershoff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 301
Review Date: 12/14/2010


While I was interested in the story, I wanted to like this book more than I actually did. I didn't feel very connected to the characters, especially Jordan. This lead me to not be that invested in the story. I would pick the book up and forget what had happened the chapter before, which is very unusual for me.


Bringing Down the House: The Inside Story of Six M.I.T. Students Who Took Vegas for Millions
Review Date: 8/10/2010
Helpful Score: 2


A quick and intense read about beating the odds at Vegas Blackjack.


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 683
Review Date: 10/25/2010


I've read the Shopaholic series and liked this one just as much.
I felt like Emma was similar to the main character of the Shopaholic series, Becky. The author writes lots of humorous inner dialogue for her main characters which makes them very relatable.
If you're looking for a light, feel good read this is great.


Crank (Crank, Bk 1)
Crank (Crank, Bk 1)
Author: Ellen Hopkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 254
Review Date: 10/16/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Lyrical book about a young girl's struggle with a drug addiction.
The images that the book evokes are powerful. I understood the characters conflicts between desire for the drug and desire for control over her life.
I absolutely will read the next book.


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2417
Review Date: 8/17/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I started this series because I have heard such good things about the TV show True Blood. I've read some various vampire books but not a huge fan.
I really struggled with this book. The characters felt really one-dimensional to me. I wasn't convinced of the whole Bill and Sookie romantic relationship because I didn't understand why it was so intense so quickly. I didn't really buy it.
But I thought that the world that the author built was interesting. So I'll read the next book to see what develops.


Fallen Skies
Fallen Skies
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/28/2010


Although I am a fan of her books, this was not my favorite Philippa Gregory novel. I felt that the plot dragged in many spots and overall I was left wanting more from the characters, especially Lily.


Going Bovine
Going Bovine
Author: Libba Bray
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 7/19/2010


I read mostly great reviews of this book before I picked it up. So I had high hopes that were only somewhat fulfilled by the time I finished.
The beginning of the book started out very slowly for me. It took me the first 40 or 50 pages to get used to the writing style, which I found a bit choppy and all over the place. But the chapters are short and the plot started to pick up.
I found the main character, Cameron, whiny and annoying in the beginning. And many of the supporting characters are not fully developed enough for me to really care about what happens to them. But as Cameron goes through his journey the experiences he has and the people he meets made him, for me, much more relatable and interesting. Also, I loved his travel companions with their extreme personalities.
So, although it wasn't one of my favorite books, if you're looking for a story that is quirky and entertaining, this would be a good choice.


I Am Number Four (Lorien Legacies, Bk 1)
I Am Number Four (Lorien Legacies, Bk 1)
Author: Pittacus Lore
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 8/26/2010


Decent book. It was up and down for my reactions as I read it. Most parts were ok, a few really good parts and a few that were too slow. But overall I think it was a good for a first book from the author and I will be reading more as it seems like it will be the first of a series.


I, Mona Lisa
I, Mona Lisa
Author: Jeanne Kalogridis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 7/26/2010
Helpful Score: 1


After I got past the confusion of the Italian names of people and places, I got sucked into a fascinating story of love and deception. By the middle of the book I was racing through the pages and I finished the last 200 pages in one sitting.
Highly recommended to anyone who enjoys historical fiction full of drama and love.


Insatiable
Insatiable
Author: Meg Cabot
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 7/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book was just ok for me. Overall I felt the book moved too slowly, especially in the beginning.
Luckily, I enjoyed the characters and their interactions. A few of the minor characters really had some good scenes, especially the neighbors. The book was pretty humorous and I felt like the author wasn't trying to take the subject of vampires too seriously.
Also, this book had a few twists to make it stand out from the other vampire novels that I've read. By the end of the book the action picked up and I read through the ending scenes quickly; wanting to know what would happen with all the characters. The author ties up the major plot points but does leave room for another book.


Shopaholic & Sister (Shopaholic, Bk 4)
Shopaholic & Sister (Shopaholic, Bk 4)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 461
Review Date: 8/6/2010


I have been reading this series in order, and I think this is my least favorite one so far. I didn't think that this book was as humorous as the first few. And I felt that too many of the plot points were too unbelievable. And I went into this book thinking it would be more about the traveling for the honeymoon and was disappointed when it ended so soon after the book started.
But, all in all, still a good series. I love the character of Becky.


Slammerkin
Slammerkin
Author: Emma Donoghue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 274
Review Date: 1/18/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This was an account about a young girl's life in the 1700's in London. Through a series of events she enters into a life of prostitution. This book is historical fiction from this girl's perspective although several of the events in the story actually happened.
I was hooked right from the start when I picked up this book. The main character, Mary, is difficult to like; but I always wanted to find out what was going to happen to her. There were several sections in the middle of the book that seemed flat to me, I kept wanting to race ahead to find out what was going to happen. But I stuck with it and didn't put the book down in the last 100 pages. By that point even though I still wasn't sure if I liked the main character, I wanted some sort of resolution.


Sloppy Firsts (Jessica Darling, Bk 1)
Sloppy Firsts (Jessica Darling, Bk 1)
Author: Megan McCafferty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 277
Review Date: 11/24/2010
Helpful Score: 1


High school angst from a loner cynic's perspective. Jessica Darling is witty and insightful. The book is constructed in a journal which was great because it gave the reader Jessica's reactions to all the events. I did find the letters that were mixed in to be distracting, but I think that's because I wasn't fully convinced that Hope was actually real.
But overall I loved the book and just ordered the rest of the series.


To Kill a Mockingbird
To Kill a Mockingbird
Author: Harper Lee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2960
Review Date: 10/4/2010


A timeless story of growing up and understanding the world around you


Will Grayson, Will Grayson
Will Grayson, Will Grayson
Author: John Green, David Levithan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 9/6/2010


I wasn't sure what to expect from this book, but I really enjoyed it.
Both Will Grayson and will grayson had such distinct voices that I quickly got sucked into the world and the characters. Although there was a few times in the very beginning that I was a little confused, that quickly went away.
I actually liked some of the supporting characters the best, like Tiny and Jane. They were really just awesome.
Overall I was invested in the story and the people and really was rooting for everyone throughout the book.


1 to 15 of 15