dsunny21 - - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
America, You Sexy Bitch: A Love Letter to Freedom
America, You Sexy Bitch: A Love Letter to Freedom
Author: Meghan McCain, Michael Ian Black
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/24/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I really like Megan & Michael and wanted to enjoy this book but just couldn't.

Each chapter of Megan's started off, "If you know anything about me or my family..." YES, WE KNOW!!!!! I wish she would stop recycling the same tidbits that the media and what she herself spews each time she's in front of a camera or writing a book. You're a rebel, your vocal, you drink and smoke weed, your family is this and that...the book would of been a lot shorter if they took that stuff out but apparently that's all she has. I'm thinking Yakov IS in your future, sorry Meggy Mac!

I wish there was more Michael in his chapters but it was mostly him regurgitating Megan's word vomit and catering to her.

I also thought this book was supposed to be about how Americans think and feel across this country but yet, not very much (if any) on Americans opinion on America so much as it was just a book about what drinks I should have and what crappy tourist trap sights I should see if I ever go on a cross country trip :-/ Having read their previous books I already know what they think, I thought this was gonna provide insight on others! Silly me!


Dirty Sexy Politics
Dirty Sexy Politics
Author: Meghan Mccain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/24/2014


wow, how incredible bratty she makes her self sound in this book!! lmao...I think shes adorable and funny when I see her in interviews or as a co-host on The View but geez!! What stuck out to me is how much she talked about clothes, make up, hair, and Uggs in this book...not at all what I was expecting or hoping to read about...also the title bugged me as this book had nothing in regards to "Dirt/Dirty" "Sex/Sexy" or really even "Politics" in it...luckily it was a quick read...it wasn't so much that it was badly written but more that it misrepresented itself...if she were to give another try at a book, I might read it...of course, I wouldn't go so far as to purchase it though.


Dress Your Best : The Complete Guide to Finding the Style That's Right for Your Body
Review Date: 3/24/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Meh, nothing new in this book if you've watched at least one episode of their show. I was also disappointed that pretty much all the outfits were cloned across all the different model/body types...not too creative there.


Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, Bk 1)
Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, Bk 1)
Author: E L James
Book Type: Perfect Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 6/8/2012


I seriously don't understand the popularity of this book...the girl (Anastasia) was sooo annoying and it really was her character alone that made this book unbearable. This is what happens when you mess around with an inexperienced "girl", you get drama, whining, hypocrisy, and nagging. She's demanding so much in a relationship that's barely a week/month long?? Makes me not think very highly of a man who would put up with that kind of nonsense.

The interesting part was the history of Christian Grey which was only available in bits and pieces of which I had to tolerate Ana's whining to get at it...and there's two more books??? oh geez!

The sexual aspects of the book has me wondering how no one has even HEARD of this (dom/sub) before?!? People, you need to get out and read more...or even watch some cable tv! The sexual relations in the book really can't be whats driving sales is it? puh-lease!!! I've read juicier stories in a cheesy harlequin novel.

While I would really like to know what will happen in the other two books and if they delve into Christian's history or really in into anything but Ana's whining but I have serious hesitations in purchasing the next two books...maybe if someone lends them to me I will read them.


Gunn's Golden Rules: Life's Little Lessons for Making It Work
Gunn's Golden Rules: Life's Little Lessons for Making It Work
Author: Tim Gunn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 3/24/2014


The title, "Gunn's Golden Rules" gives the impression that each chapter will have a rule and than go on to explain said "rule" but really all Tim seems to do is just ramble. I almost stopped reading in the first chapter because he was all over the place!! But like a trooper, I carried on...it helped being able to hear his voice as I read and it had a few funny, interesting stories. I'm sure in the book Tim said, "if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all" so I will end my review here.


I Am Ozzy
I Am Ozzy
Author: Ozzy Osbourne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 3/24/2014


I've had this book sitting on my shelf for over a year and I'm glad I finally made an effort to read it. Actually one of the best celebrity autobiographies I've read. It was like Ozzy was telling me his life story...but I can actually understand him! (I love when celebrity books are written so well that you can hear their own words as opposed to someone writing it for/as them) I could of done without all the animal abuse stories though :-(


The Kid
The Kid
Author: Sapphire
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/24/2014


This book was horrible! Maybe I'm to blame for having high expectations after reading Push. I didn't even want to finish this book but I can't do that, I must continue reading!! I'm not sure if we're supposed to feel for Abdul or hate him. I hated him, such a terrible human being/character. His mother died at age 9 and I feel that while that's young to lose a mother, it's still old enough that he should of had better character/morals/manners etc. instilled in him by that age. But right off the bat he comes across as bratty, smart-mouthed, evil, violent and just repulsive. This book is just ramblings of his crazy mind, and don't even get me started on the last section of the book. WTF?? I can't even recommend this book to read for reading's sake. I'd rather just forget that I wasted a few days reading this and move on. If Sapphire comes out with another book I might be a little more hesitant to read after this escapade.


The Last Dive: A Father and Son's Fatal Descent into the Ocean's Depths
Review Date: 3/24/2014


What a disappointment! The actual story about the father/son last dive is collectively only about two chapters worth. The rest of the book is just filler. Some of it is educational. You learn about diving, its techniques, verbiage and history. But the author has a problem with repeating some parts over and over and OVER again! It got really annoying. He also took a slight detour and told about his diving accident (which took up more than the actual story of the father/son's last dive). I was really hoping this would be an exciting read but it got to the point where I didn't even care how the last dive happened.


Tim Gunn: A Guide to Quality, Taste and Style
Tim Gunn: A Guide to Quality, Taste and Style
Author: Tim Gunn, Kate Moloney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/24/2014


You will pretty much enjoy this book if you like to read books with Tim Gunn's voice and overall Tim Gunn'ness overshadowing everything.

Not so much a "Guide" book which is understandable since you need to write a book that will help the "masses" so his advice was pretty much generic and something that you can read in any fashion-ish magazine which has a section titled "5-10 basic things you need in your closet" that will never go out of style.

Also if you are reading this to acquire fashion knowledge (which means you have none) you will need a fashion dictionary and google to look up any terms you don't know or the people he listed as "fashion mentors" because most likely you will have no clue who they are...as most of them are not with the living or have "dumb-downed" fashion lines at your local Kohls, Walmart, etc.

If Tim Gunn writes a third book...or even has one out already...I might not be so quick to pick it up...as much as I enjoy watching him, his writing style is just as starched as his shirts...lol, I made a fashion joke!


uncharted terriTORI
uncharted terriTORI
Author: Tori Spelling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 3/24/2014


Granted she doesnt write literary masterpieces, i did "liked" her first two books but this one was by far the worst of the three...the whole book was just complaint after complaint. "ohh, my health!!" Well eat something!!! "Paparazzi" get over it already!!...the ex-wife, her mom, her fears, 90210, too much work/not enough work, being the "best" mom, I'm like everyone else but I'm "tori spelling"...ugh!!!! Just naggy and a complainer...will prolly not read another book by her in the future.


1 to 10 of 10